R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-11-2011, 04:19 AM   #766
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,076
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Why do you need a longer front belt??

regards Roy

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1101 View Post
hi there
whats the number of teeth on each belt.
I need to find some slightly longer for the front belt from (I have some from other brand of cars)
522 cant be right ??
http://racerlog.com/wiki/Touring_Car_Belts
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)

Last edited by Pro10noob; 11-11-2011 at 04:32 AM.
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 04:32 AM   #767
Tech Champion
 
cannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A total distraction
Posts: 7,266
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1101 View Post
hi there
whats the number of teeth on each belt.
I need to find some slightly longer for the front belt from (I have some from other brand of cars)
522 cant be right ??
http://racerlog.com/wiki/Touring_Car_Belts
Why dont you simply count the number of teeth on each of your belts. Surely not that lazy

QUICK TIP ... divide by 3 and you have the answer
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com ........... new website
cannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 04:40 AM   #768
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NZ
Posts: 674
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pro10noob View Post
Why do you need a longer front belt??

regards Roy
Front belt is far too tight. Was hoping to use a spare belt off my other cars.
I know, use smaller pullies. It bought the pullies when I bought the car, but didnt know I need all the other hop-up parts to run smaller pullies. garrh

Ok, looks like no other car uses belts this long
1101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 04:46 AM   #769
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,076
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

What other options besides the alloy spurgear holder?
It's cheap and eliminates wobble in the spur also and you don't need to open the spur holes to fit the plastic pulley adaptors.

regards Roy

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1101 View Post
Front belt is far too tight. Was hoping to use a spare belt off my other cars.
I know, use smaller pullies. It bought the pullies when I bought the car, but didnt know I need all the other hop-up parts to run smaller pullies. garrh
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 04:54 AM   #770
Tech Champion
 
cannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A total distraction
Posts: 7,266
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1101 View Post
Front belt is far too tight. Was hoping to use a spare belt off my other cars.
I know, use smaller pullies. It bought the pullies when I bought the car, but didnt know I need all the other hop-up parts to run smaller pullies. garrh

Ok, looks like no other car uses belts this long
Get the Sakura Zero belt for the real Sakura (Part no SAK-11) It is far softer and is far looser

The Zero S belt is a far lower quality
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com ........... new website
cannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 06:13 AM   #771
Tech Elite
 
orcadigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 2,145
Trader Rating: 61 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cannon View Post
Get the Sakura Zero belt for the real Sakura (Part no SAK-11) It is far softer and is far looser

The Zero S belt is a far lower quality
What is the part number for the Zero S belt? All I see is the one option SAK-11. I would be surprised if the company made a belt for the kits, but only sold the other belt separate. I am just surmising though.
__________________
Desoto Racing * Serpent America * Boca Bearings

"I was doing fine until about mid-corner when I ran out of talent."
orcadigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 11:58 AM   #772
Tech Addict
 
FauxMako's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 523
Default

According to the manuals both the Zero and the Zero S use the same belts. SAK-11 on the front and SAK-12 on the rear. Since they share the same drive train, that makes sense.

You do need to get the alum spur gear holder to use any of the optional pullies. The plastic spur gear holder has the 20T pully permanently attached.
__________________
Mike

3 3Racing Sakura Zeros: Mustang Boss VTA // Lexus LFA USGT // MazdaSpeed 6 TC
Mini M03 & M05
Life is better with a soundtrack
FauxMako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 02:38 PM   #773
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NZ
Posts: 674
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cannon View Post
Get the Sakura Zero belt for the real Sakura (Part no SAK-11) It is far softer and is far looser

The Zero S belt is a far lower quality
I have one of these (bought for spares)
the Sak11 is differnet, its Bando brand. Markings on it are different as well. I'll give it a try.
I'll get that metal spur holder as well then. Zero-s kit part has a wobble, as mentioned above.
1101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 04:11 PM   #774
Tech Champion
 
cannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A total distraction
Posts: 7,266
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1101 View Post
I have one of these (bought for spares)
the Sak11 is differnet, its Bando brand. Markings on it are different as well. I'll give it a try.
I'll get that metal spur holder as well then. Zero-s kit part has a wobble, as mentioned above.
The bando belts are far higher quality and will stretch a little bit after a few uses. Unlike the full black belt that comes with the S
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com ........... new website
cannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 04:13 PM   #775
Tech Champion
 
cannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A total distraction
Posts: 7,266
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by orcadigital View Post
What is the part number for the Zero S belt? All I see is the one option SAK-11. I would be surprised if the company made a belt for the kits, but only sold the other belt separate. I am just surmising though.
The S is a cheap kit so gets a cheap belt The option part is afr better quality
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com ........... new website
cannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 04:30 PM   #776
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NZ
Posts: 674
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cannon View Post
The S is a cheap kit so gets a cheap belt The option part is afr better quality
No excuse for a kit belt that is basicly UNUSABLE by being too short
Leaves the kit almost unusable as is.
3racing could have easily put in a belt 2 or 3 teeth longer

Aprt from that one thing, would be the perfect kit for 1st RC car.
1101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 04:51 PM   #777
Tech Champion
 
cannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A total distraction
Posts: 7,266
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1101 View Post
No excuse for a kit belt that is basicly UNUSABLE by being too short
Leaves the kit almost unusable as is.
3racing could have easily put in a belt 2 or 3 teeth longer

Aprt from that one thing, would be the perfect kit for 1st RC car.
They do work .. they just take far longer to stretch. I know a lot of guys using the standard belt ... it just took longer to wear in
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com ........... new website
cannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 04:56 PM   #778
Tech Master
 
texastc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forney Texas
Posts: 1,360
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I never had an issue with the belt. Using stock pulleys and everything, just adjusted adjusters on the diff and was good. Of course its my first TC and I wouldn't have known any better anyway. Regardless, after 6 months I'm sure its stretched by now.
__________________
Exotek F1 Ultra
Exotek F1R
CRC Gen-X 10 LE
Kyosho Plazma F1
TC does RC
texastc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 05:00 PM   #779
Tech Fanatic
 
mingnon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sutherland Shire
Posts: 962
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Run two of these, one for the young fella to bash/crash and learn and one for indoor i use
standard belts on both, never had any issues, plenty of adjustment available to make sure they arent to tight
__________________
---------------------------SMA The Home of GREAT Racing------------------------------
mingnon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 05:14 PM   #780
Tech Master
 
pejota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 1,018
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone know if 3racing offers anything other than a 4 degree hub? I thought i saw a 2 and 6 degree hub as option parts.
pejota is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sakura Zero - New Touring Car! InZane Electric On-Road 1355 02-14-2014 05:14 PM
New to the RC scene...need some help! Jmoney12 Rookie Zone 13 06-15-2010 10:21 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:01 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0