R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-11-2011, 02:10 PM   #511
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 9
Default

do I need a different top deck with the v2 of the vertical motormount?
I also think about the alu steering set, is it worth it?

And I want the titanium turnbuckles because the stock ones aren't really adjustable. The turnbuckle tool slides over the notch...

ANything else while i'm shopping?

Tnx!
Marc_olly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 02:19 PM   #512
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,072
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

From what i know is that if you have the "old" type of vertical motormount and the topdeck that is used with that,you can use the "new" vertical motormount without changing the topdeck.
The ally steeringset will eliminate flex in the steering system.
Other parts hmmmmmmmmmmm...
Spool perhaps?
Alu shocks?
Do you have the alu spurgear adaptor?

regards Roy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc_olly View Post
do I need a different top deck with the v2 of the vertical motormount?
I also think about the alu steering set, is it worth it?

And I want the titanium turnbuckles because the stock ones aren't really adjustable. The turnbuckle tool slides over the notch...

ANything else while i'm shopping?

Tnx!
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 02:31 PM   #513
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 9
Default

everything is stock, except the cvd's in the rear, these are the same as the front. I hate dogbones for some reason.

I want a vertical motor mount, for obvious reasons.
no other optional parts yet, but I might as well order them all at once.

I don't quite understand the part about the motormount.

If I order v2, does that fit with the standard topdeck that came with the zero S?
Marc_olly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 02:59 PM   #514
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,072
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

You need a new topdeck that goes with the vertical motormount.
If the rest of the car is stock then my advice is order the alloy spurgear adaptor with 19 teeth pulleys.
It will free up your drive train,eliminates spurgear wobble and looks bling bling
The rest is up to you on what parts you want more.
I know some one who broke the track record in the 17.5 class with a almost stock car at the second event he drove the car

regards Roy


Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc_olly View Post
If I order v2, does that fit with the standard topdeck that came with the zero S?
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 03:42 PM   #515
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 9
Default

Ok, top deck and motor mount it is then, along with the alu spurgear holders.
Where do you shop, because there are no pics at the bm tuning site, so i have to make an educated guess on some of the parts...

Thanks a lot, you've been a great help!
Marc_olly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 03:59 PM   #516
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,072
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Check link http://os.3racing.hk/products_list.p...y=113&x=38&y=4
There you wil find the part numbers.
Then on the our famous site fleebay
Or to one of the local HK shops.
If you want to shop nearby then use www.lmi-racing.com

regards Roy
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 08:15 PM   #517
Tech Master
 
texastc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forney Texas
Posts: 1,360
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I kept the stock top deck with the vert motor mount, minor dremel work is all that was needed. Also kept the stock 20tooth pulley. And I'm having no issues. All I changed was spur gear, went to a 100 tooth 64p spur, with a 47 pinion. And now that the car is set up, I am very happy with it.
__________________
Exotek F1 Ultra
Exotek F1R
CRC Gen-X 10 LE
Kyosho Plazma F1
TC does RC
texastc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 08:28 PM   #518
Tech Apprentice
 
VIP_SPEC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 54
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by texastc View Post
I kept the stock top deck with the vert motor mount, minor dremel work is all that was needed. Also kept the stock 20tooth pulley. And I'm having no issues. All I changed was spur gear, went to a 100 tooth 64p spur, with a 47 pinion. And now that the car is set up, I am very happy with it.
Is it a lot smoother with the 64p
VIP_SPEC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 09:47 PM   #519
Tech Master
 
texastc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forney Texas
Posts: 1,360
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VIP_SPEC View Post
Is it a lot smoother with the 64p

I never ran it with 48 pitch. I would assume a bit smoother but cant really say. Went with 64 because I had pinions,
__________________
Exotek F1 Ultra
Exotek F1R
CRC Gen-X 10 LE
Kyosho Plazma F1
TC does RC
texastc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 12:41 AM   #520
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,072
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

64DP is indeed smoother but when running outdoor on a dusty track or if there is any debre on the track you ruin your spurs very fast

regards Roy
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 02:08 PM   #521
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 9
Default

first test run tonight!
my spur touches the rear-diff...

I'm gonna try adding a shim on one site, but the 72 spur would be slightly smaller so this will also eliminate this problem i guess...

time to start shopping online :-)
Marc_olly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 01:34 AM   #522
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hobart
Posts: 21
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Ride Height???

Can anyone tell me what track clearance to chassis you are getting on your sakura s?
Finished my build and it sits fairly low-only about 2-3mm clearance.
Everything built exact to the manual.
jetski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 01:48 AM   #523
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,072
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Use the spacers provided by the kit to get more ground clearance or buy a set of alloy shocks from the Sakura Zero so you have a treathed shock body and can wind the spring up.
Perhaps your downstops are screwed in to much?
Use the setup board to check that or pull the car up and see if the suspension arms drop a bit.

regards Roy


Quote:
Originally Posted by jetski View Post
Can anyone tell me what track clearance to chassis you are getting on your sakura s?
Finished my build and it sits fairly low-only about 2-3mm clearance.
Everything built exact to the manual.
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 01:22 AM   #524
Tech Master
 
texastc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forney Texas
Posts: 1,360
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jetski View Post
Can anyone tell me what track clearance to chassis you are getting on your sakura s?
Finished my build and it sits fairly low-only about 2-3mm clearance.
Everything built exact to the manual.
mine sat low also. Did what Pro10noob suggested. good to go.
__________________
Exotek F1 Ultra
Exotek F1R
CRC Gen-X 10 LE
Kyosho Plazma F1
TC does RC
texastc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 02:17 AM   #525
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 9
Default

I run my sakura S on asphalt and the rear breaks out in tight corners.
I have no problems with the front, it is like driving on rails, it's just the rear.

My car is completely stock, still waiting for some parts.
Does anyone have suggestions as where to start?

Or even better, is there thread that explains all the setup options and their effects, or problems versus possible solutions?

Have searched but no luck yet...

Thanks!
Marc_olly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sakura Zero - New Touring Car! InZane Electric On-Road 1355 02-14-2014 05:14 PM
New to the RC scene...need some help! Jmoney12 Rookie Zone 13 06-15-2010 10:21 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:42 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0