R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-05-2011, 09:05 PM   #496
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hobart
Posts: 21
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

After some advice if anyone can help?

In the process of finishing off my build and I have hit a small issue, when using the vertical motor mount you end up swapping the belts around the other way versus using the stock mount,that is you end up with the large belt on the battery side of the car-here is the issue, the belt now runs where the battery mounts need to go.
Has anyone had this issue and if so what fix did you use?
jetski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 10:48 PM   #497
Tech Adept
 
zipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jetski View Post
After some advice if anyone can help?

In the process of finishing off my build and I have hit a small issue, when using the vertical motor mount you end up swapping the belts around the other way versus using the stock mount,that is you end up with the large belt on the battery side of the car-here is the issue, the belt now runs where the battery mounts need to go.
Has anyone had this issue and if so what fix did you use?
Yes you need to swap the belts, as well as cut off the part of the battery mount up the point where the screws thread.
If you're using back the original frp top deck, you have to modify it slightly as well to get the motor mount to fit
zipp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 11:10 PM   #498
Tech Regular
 
Firefox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ks.
Posts: 303
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Just what is the advantage of the vertical motor mount ?
__________________
Tamiya M05, Associated SC10.
Firefox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 11:31 PM   #499
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hobart
Posts: 21
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zipp View Post
Yes you need to swap the belts, as well as cut off the part of the battery mount up the point where the screws thread.
If you're using back the original frp top deck, you have to modify it slightly as well to get the motor mount to fit
I thought as much, thanks for the confirmation before I started cutting!
jetski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 02:36 AM   #500
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hobart
Posts: 21
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Firefox View Post
Just what is the advantage of the vertical motor mount ?
Makes it easier to access the pinion gear and adjust the motor setting as you only need to adjust one screw, not two, to get the gear mesh right. It is ok with the stock 80 tooth spur as the holes are large enough but can be an issue with aftermarket spurs that done have holes that are large enough
jetski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 02:00 AM   #501
Tech Elite
 
spring71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 3,697
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Smile

New items are arrived from 3racing, Integy and Speed Passion.

Click Here to see the part store for Sakura

Click Here to see the new arrivals.

Click Here to see the re-stocked items.

For more information, please visit www.tqrcracing.com

Thanks.
__________________
TQ RC RACING
Indoor RC Race Track & Hobby Shop in Chino, CA
Online Shop
http://www.tqrcracing.com
tq@tqrcracing.com
spring71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 01:12 PM   #502
Tech Master
 
texastc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forney Texas
Posts: 1,360
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

need some advice on set up.

Im running my Zero S in VTA. Med grip carpet. USing stock oils in diff and the shocks. rear shocks are middle hole in tower, front shocks Ive placed on inner holes. 2* camber. I need more turn in, car swings way wide in turns. Ive had running a spool in the front recommended, but Im new to Touring. Whats a spool? What are some other adjustments I can make to get more steering?
__________________
Exotek F1 Ultra
Exotek F1R
CRC Gen-X 10 LE
Kyosho Plazma F1
TC does RC
texastc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 01:38 PM   #503
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,763
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

A spool is a front drive option which locks the two wheels together so they are always moving at the same speed. I have the front gear diff with the std oil in my car and I can traction roll if I am not careful.

1. I am saucing the whole front tire
2. make sure you are getting full throw from your radio. Set your end points to allow the steering knuckle to almost touch the c-hub.
3. Stand your front shocks up to the middle hole on the tower

I'll be at Mike's all day Thursday if you wanna swing by.
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 02:02 PM   #504
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 859
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewdoherty View Post
A spool is a front drive option which locks the two wheels together so they are always moving at the same speed. I have the front gear diff with the std oil in my car and I can traction roll if I am not careful.

1. I am saucing the whole front tire
2. make sure you are getting full throw from your radio. Set your end points to allow the steering knuckle to almost touch the c-hub.
3. Stand your front shocks up to the middle hole on the tower

I'll be at Mike's all day Thursday if you wanna swing by.
What is the difference between a spool & a one-way???
Or are they the same???
hobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 02:04 PM   #505
Tech Master
 
texastc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forney Texas
Posts: 1,360
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Whole front tire huh? I was just doin inner. Thanks awd, ill try that Saturday. Dumas is who mentioned spool. I know that DW was running a one way early on and took it out. Another thing which may have caused an issue is that I had a lot of front fluid leakage. I've refilled and fixed that. But can't try it out on carpet til Saturday before heat 1. Never stop learning.
__________________
Exotek F1 Ultra
Exotek F1R
CRC Gen-X 10 LE
Kyosho Plazma F1
TC does RC
texastc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 02:27 PM   #506
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,763
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

I think you will like the gear diff better. A spool might be a tenth or two faster outright, and then only when grip is up more and you would have to stay on top of it the whole race. The front gear diff will be easier to drive for you in my opinion and will give you a faster race result. If you were only saucing the inside, you might just try going to 2/3 sauce for the first Q, and then bump it up for Rd 2 if necessary.

A one way allows the front wheels to freewheel off power, but they are locked together like a spool once power is applied again. If it were me I would try a million other set up changes before I tried to make a one-way work. Every time I have run one it has felt like there was a steering demon in the car trying to take over control.
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 03:15 PM   #507
Tech Master
 
texastc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forney Texas
Posts: 1,360
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I knew you were running stock fluids I pretty much copied your set up. But I couldn't turn, I bet the diff just leaked dry and was the culprit. I was pretty disappointed.
__________________
Exotek F1 Ultra
Exotek F1R
CRC Gen-X 10 LE
Kyosho Plazma F1
TC does RC
texastc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 04:28 PM   #508
Tech Master
 
GasGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tween a Rock & a Hard Place in Pa.
Posts: 1,259
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I would keep the gear diff in-- it is the best of both worlds -acts like a diff off power and a spool on power.
__________________
F! Metal Militia,VTA NATION--Team SloMoFo
losi 8t,mbx5t,rc8
rc8,Kyosho rb5,SCR
ft4 MT wallet
cyclone;xxx-s;x-rayT2;crc gen xl;bmi 12rrl
GasGod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 09:01 PM   #509
Tech Adept
 
zipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 167
Default

Agreed, keep the gear diff.
Like you said your problem was not enough turn in, a spool would only make it worst.
The one way on the other hand would have a load of turn in, but only good if your track layout doesn't require braking
zipp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 07:55 PM   #510
Tech Adept
 
2nd Time Around's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Easton,PA
Posts: 214
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default got mine together

Quote:
Originally Posted by GasGod View Post
I would keep the gear diff in-- it is the best of both worlds -acts like a diff off power and a spool on power.
need to get one. get 2 or 3 of us and maybe the shop will stock parts
2nd Time Around is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sakura Zero - New Touring Car! InZane Electric On-Road 1355 02-14-2014 05:14 PM
New to the RC scene...need some help! Jmoney12 Rookie Zone 13 06-15-2010 10:21 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:16 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0