R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-20-2010, 04:26 PM   #226
Tech Master
 
old-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,090
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pro10noob View Post
Why don't you use the new Xenon gears??

regards Roy
I had tried this new Xenon spurs. They don't fit very well on the Sakura Zero and Photon. The problem is that at the part where the adaptor mounts is thinner then any regular spur gears. This results the spur gear "floats" in the adaptor and wobbles.

Not sure if it is any different on the Sakura S.
old-man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 09:28 PM   #227
Tech Master
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,618
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Hmmmzzzzzz ok.
I thought that the alloy gear adaptor of the Sakura had thinner centring pins then the Photon.
I know i had to "adjust" my Photon gear adaptor because it would float as you say and would wobble.
I used the Sakura Zero gear adaptors on my Photon also and didn't had any problems with the Xenon gears

regards Roy


Quote:
Originally Posted by old-man View Post
I had tried this new Xenon spurs. They don't fit very well on the Sakura Zero and Photon. The problem is that at the part where the adaptor mounts is thinner then any regular spur gears. This results the spur gear "floats" in the adaptor and wobbles.

Not sure if it is any different on the Sakura S.
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] P235-CS '12 Pro10,P235-SE Pro10,Asso B44
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 03:57 PM   #228
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,937
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

has anyone experienced wobbling spur gears and centre pulleys?

Nope haven't run the car, still building it. Yes the assembly was shimmed.

What's up? COuld it be a manufacturing defect?
__________________
With Warmest Regards, +673 811 3036 or +6016 437 0057
# Team Powers # Team Associated & Reedy # Team Losi # Max Power # Caster Racing #
# BOSS Engines # Speedmind # Hobbywing # Team Xray #ABC # Louise Racing #
cheapskate.brok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 04:28 PM   #229
Tech Initiate
 
unsane_chimera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 45
Default

I've just finished building my Sakura s last night, I have the hard carbon fiber chassis and I'm a bit puzzled as to what to do to hold the battery in. For the moment I'm just using double sided tape to hold it down and it seems very secure but it becomes a problem when I want to change the pinion or anything that requires the battery to be taken off. I have looked on rcmart and the 3racing website and I can't find either a bracket set or the Velcro straps from the up-model Sakura. Am I blind or is there something else I could do? I'm a tad weary of drilling into the carbon fiber so I would prefer an alternative.

Has anyone else noticed this and found a solution?
__________________
In the past few hours I have learnt these very important things; firstly, read the instructions, secondly, READ THE INSTRUCTIONS!! And check the back of the piece of paper if there are more instructions, thirdly, double check what you have done, then check it again and READ THE INSTRUCTIONS!!!
unsane_chimera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 04:30 PM   #230
Tech Initiate
 
unsane_chimera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 45
Default

Also with the stock motor mount etc, what size pinions can I fit? Would 30-34T 48pitch fit?
__________________
In the past few hours I have learnt these very important things; firstly, read the instructions, secondly, READ THE INSTRUCTIONS!! And check the back of the piece of paper if there are more instructions, thirdly, double check what you have done, then check it again and READ THE INSTRUCTIONS!!!
unsane_chimera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 04:39 PM   #231
Tech Fanatic
 
SchuMi2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 951
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by unsane_chimera View Post
I've just finished building my Sakura s last night, I have the hard carbon fiber chassis and I'm a bit puzzled as to what to do to hold the battery in. For the moment I'm just using double sided tape to hold it down and it seems very secure but it becomes a problem when I want to change the pinion or anything that requires the battery to be taken off. I have looked on rcmart and the 3racing website and I can't find either a bracket set or the Velcro straps from the up-model Sakura. Am I blind or is there something else I could do? I'm a tad weary of drilling into the carbon fiber so I would prefer an alternative.

Has anyone else noticed this and found a solution?
Just use battery tape...
SchuMi2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 04:41 PM   #232
Tech Fanatic
 
SchuMi2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 951
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by unsane_chimera View Post
Also with the stock motor mount etc, what size pinions can I fit? Would 30-34T 48pitch fit?
I have had a 38/69T combo on the Sakura with out any dramas. I guess it depends on spur size.
SchuMi2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 04:52 PM   #233
Tech Initiate
 
unsane_chimera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 45
Default

Thanks guys. It will be a stock spur so should be ok.
__________________
In the past few hours I have learnt these very important things; firstly, read the instructions, secondly, READ THE INSTRUCTIONS!! And check the back of the piece of paper if there are more instructions, thirdly, double check what you have done, then check it again and READ THE INSTRUCTIONS!!!
unsane_chimera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 09:05 PM   #234
Tech Adept
 
OverGeared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Riyadh, K.S.A.
Posts: 142
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by unsane_chimera View Post
Also with the stock motor mount etc, what size pinions can I fit? Would 30-34T 48pitch fit?
The guys here might be able to help if you could tell us what motor you are planning to run the car with.... (how many turns or how much kV / spec or modified)...
OverGeared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 09:18 PM   #235
Tech Adept
 
OverGeared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Riyadh, K.S.A.
Posts: 142
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by unsane_chimera View Post
I've just finished building my Sakura s last night, I have the hard carbon fiber chassis and I'm a bit puzzled as to what to do to hold the battery in. For the moment I'm just using double sided tape to hold it down and it seems very secure but it becomes a problem when I want to change the pinion or anything that requires the battery to be taken off. I have looked on rcmart and the 3racing website and I can't find either a bracket set or the Velcro straps from the up-model Sakura. Am I blind or is there something else I could do? I'm a tad weary of drilling into the carbon fiber so I would prefer an alternative.

Has anyone else noticed this and found a solution?
http://www.rcmart.com/catalog/rc-tap...?cPath=421_461

... or any equivalent brand. I am using the Tamiya and Muchmore brands (but is currently out-of-stock with RC Mart). Should be 2cm wide maximum.
OverGeared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 10:36 AM   #236
Tech Initiate
 
unsane_chimera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OverGeared View Post
The guys here might be able to help if you could tell us what motor you are planning to run the car with.... (how many turns or how much kV / spec or modified)...
Oh I was just asking what I could fit not what I should. I'm going to be using a 17.5T brushless, so I was aiming for about a 34t pinion but I wondered if it would fit or not as there looks to be limited space in that part of the car.
__________________
In the past few hours I have learnt these very important things; firstly, read the instructions, secondly, READ THE INSTRUCTIONS!! And check the back of the piece of paper if there are more instructions, thirdly, double check what you have done, then check it again and READ THE INSTRUCTIONS!!!
unsane_chimera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 10:38 AM   #237
Tech Initiate
 
unsane_chimera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OverGeared View Post
http://www.rcmart.com/catalog/rc-tap...?cPath=421_461

... or any equivalent brand. I am using the Tamiya and Muchmore brands (but is currently out-of-stock with RC Mart). Should be 2cm wide maximum.
Thanks, I'll use that stuff for now then.
__________________
In the past few hours I have learnt these very important things; firstly, read the instructions, secondly, READ THE INSTRUCTIONS!! And check the back of the piece of paper if there are more instructions, thirdly, double check what you have done, then check it again and READ THE INSTRUCTIONS!!!
unsane_chimera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 05:28 PM   #238
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Land Down under
Posts: 75
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Im building mine up now and I was wondering about the diff oil.
I see some guys have put 2000 stock weight in the rear and 500 in the front.
Well wouldn't you want it the other way around? so the front is a more similar action to a spool and the rear is like a smooth ball diff with no slip.
Thoughts?
__________________
Eat more possum!
Lees52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 05:33 PM   #239
Tech Elite
 
squarehead's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ankeny, Iowa
Posts: 4,211
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to squarehead Send a message via AIM to squarehead Send a message via MSN to squarehead Send a message via Yahoo to squarehead Send a message via Skype™ to squarehead
Default

You are correct. I have 3000 in my front, with 1000 in the rear (Associated).
__________________
Everything depends.
Nothing is always.
Everything is sometimes.
squarehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 05:49 PM   #240
Tech Fanatic
 
glide 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cebu City, Philippines
Posts: 757
Default

Can someone please confirm - if i change to the vertical motor mount option (http://www.rc-mushroom.com/product_i...ducts_id=21480), will i need to change the topdeck also or would the stock do?
Also, can someone explain why there are 2 different lengths Universal Shafts for this kit? any advantages/disadvantages using either lengths?
Thanks in advance.

Last edited by glide 1; 12-22-2010 at 09:16 PM.
glide 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sakura Zero - New Touring Car! InZane Electric On-Road 1355 02-14-2014 04:14 PM
New to the RC scene...need some help! Jmoney12 Rookie Zone 13 06-15-2010 09:21 AM


All times are GMT -8. It is currently 06:56 PM.



SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0