R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-07-2012, 02:05 AM   #1966
Tech Adept
 
BCZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 103
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveM View Post
Which part number from Spec-R did you use?
Steve, I'm using the 3racing ones designed for the X1

3racing part no. SAK-X27 SSK driveshaft
__________________
Stock: XRay T3 '12, F1: Tamiya F104v2, Buggy: Tamiya TRF201, SCT: AE SC10 4x4 FT, Radio: Airtronics MT-4
BCZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 02:47 AM   #1967
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glarke View Post
Actually probably a better question is - Is it possible to get a FDR of 4.0 or lower and a free drive train with just the kit parts (and new spur/pinion)?
Mine is 3.33 as of now. Heheheh. And yes it's possible.
issuzark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 03:59 AM   #1968
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 314
Default

My servo keeps centering in a new spot every time causing the car not to go straight. Car or electronics issue?
d.k.vmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 04:11 AM   #1969
Tech Addict
 
wollow86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Hobart
Posts: 707
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by d.k.vmatt View Post
My servo keeps centering in a new spot every time causing the car not to go straight. Car or electronics issue?
It's probably the servo saver. Are you running the kit one? If so get a kimbrough. Will solve it for you.
__________________
Supporting Aussie hobby shops:
- www.MRJRacing.com.au - - www.feralbatteries.com.au - - www.actionrc.com.au -
wollow86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 04:26 AM   #1970
Tech Champion
 
SteveM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 5,642
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BCZero View Post
Steve, I'm using the 3racing ones designed for the X1

3racing part no. SAK-X27 SSK driveshaft
Perfect...thanks.
SteveM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 04:34 AM   #1971
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 314
Default

I'm running a hd 3 racing one
d.k.vmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 04:46 AM   #1972
Tech Addict
 
wollow86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Hobart
Posts: 707
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by d.k.vmatt View Post
I'm running a hd 3 racing one
Not sure about the HD part.. but 3Racing savers are terrible. Have been on every 3R car I've owned. It's most likely the issue. Get a kimbrough, not expensive (should be less then $10 shipped).
__________________
Supporting Aussie hobby shops:
- www.MRJRacing.com.au - - www.feralbatteries.com.au - - www.actionrc.com.au -
wollow86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 05:02 AM   #1973
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 314
Default

got a link. i need it by next weekend haha
d.k.vmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 06:37 AM   #1974
Tech Addict
 
wollow86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Hobart
Posts: 707
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by d.k.vmatt View Post
got a link. i need it by next weekend haha
I usually just use ebay
__________________
Supporting Aussie hobby shops:
- www.MRJRacing.com.au - - www.feralbatteries.com.au - - www.actionrc.com.au -
wollow86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 09:16 AM   #1975
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 25
Default

Guys, does increasing the gear ratio make the car harder to even push from a stationary position? That's what happened to my car. I'm running a 40t pinion to a 70t spur.

Also, causing my FDR to be now 3.33

Will it actually make the car harder to push from stationary?
issuzark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 04:13 PM   #1976
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 161
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by issuzark View Post
Guys, does increasing the gear ratio make the car harder to even push from a stationary position? That's what happened to my car. I'm running a 40t pinion to a 70t spur.

Also, causing my FDR to be now 3.33

Will it actually make the car harder to push from stationary?
If I understand right yes it will with the motor installed. The lower FDR will mean to push the car a fixed distance you are rotating the motor more revolutions = more work done
Glarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 08:16 PM   #1977
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 25
Default

Oh all right! Thanks! Was quite worried about it.
issuzark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 02:09 AM   #1978
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 161
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glarke View Post
If I understand right yes it will with the motor installed. The lower FDR will mean to push the car a fixed distance you are rotating the motor more revolutions = more work done
Sorry Ive got that back to front. Fewer revolutions which means you are taking away mechanical advantage (moving closer to a 1:1 ratio) which has the same end result. Harder to push
Glarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 03:51 AM   #1979
Tech Elite
 
ta04evah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,521
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wollow86 View Post
Not sure about the HD part.. but 3Racing savers are terrible. Have been on every 3R car I've owned. It's most likely the issue. Get a kimbrough, not expensive (should be less then $10 shipped).
The Hi torque Tamiya ones work well too, the 3rd spring is tricky to get on but it's worth the effort.

Cheers
Rob.
__________________
BSR BT-4 / Turnigy / Hobbywing / Savox / Trackstar
Serpent Eyrx2 & ARC R10, Hybrid / Orca /Hobbywing /Savox / ProAmps
Castle Hill Raceway https://www.facebook.com/groups/121817254587521/
ta04evah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 04:20 AM   #1980
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 161
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

What width are the stock wheels?
Glarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sakura Zero - New Touring Car! InZane Electric On-Road 1355 02-14-2014 05:14 PM
New to the RC scene...need some help! Jmoney12 Rookie Zone 13 06-15-2010 10:21 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:00 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0