R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric On-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road-2/)
-   -   Looking into WGT, need some advice (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road/441104-looking-into-wgt-need-some-advice.html)

SloRacer1080 10-06-2010 10:31 PM

Looking into WGT, need some advice

I've been looking around at touring cars to do some carpet racing this winter, but they are pretty pricey. I'm now leaning towards getting a car for WGT since the tracks I would be going to both run 1/10 WGT. I like the idea because it's cheaper than a tc, and I've had an RC12L3 before, so I am familiar with pan car chassis'.

I am interested in the CRC X10. I've compared it to the Xray and the AE offerings, and I like the CRC the most overall. BMI Copperhead 10 is now on the list

Looking for some pointers basically. I am just starting out in the onroad area of rc, and really want something to race this winter. Am I heading in the right direction, or is WGT going to just frustrate the hell outta me, being a noob to onroad and all.

Again main reason I'm leaning towards WGT is that it is cheaper to start in than tc. TC would be like a $400 chassis, vs $250 for the CRC. That other $150 could be used towards motor/esc/lipos.

I am also not against maybe trying F1 either. That would have an even cheaper initial lay-out.

InspGadgt 10-06-2010 11:14 PM

I love WGT and have a blast running it every time. The CRC is a great car, especially with the new chassis...but I gotta put a plug in for my favorite the BMI :) Currently available with the standard pan car front suspension but soon will be available with their new double wishbone front suspension which is great!

303slowdown 10-07-2010 06:42 AM

Wgt is an awsome class and easy to work on and as long as you check your ride hight and tweak sometimes your car will be great. I would look for a used gen x10 and get the new Manutech Rug Runner conversion chassis and you would be all set.