R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-06-2010, 05:56 PM   #1
Tech Regular
M3Armand's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 263
Exclamation Why do some Lipos have 3 wires vs. 4 wires balancing plug?

I searched and couldn't find the answer to this. I have a 2s Lipo Thunder Power that has 4 balancing wires while a Turnigy 2s has three balancing wires. Other Lipos I've seen also has 3.

It makes sense to have three since they represent the front, middle and back ends of 2 batteries connected in series. So what about 4? I don't get it... Can someone explain?

As always, thanks in advance...
M3Armand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 05:45 AM   #2
Tech Elite
Skiddins's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,483

On the Thunder Power the 4th wire isn't connected to anything (I think it's the pinkish colour wire)

I presume it's a throwback to their flight packs which use more cells.

Xray T4'16, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2016
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RD Disco
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 10:09 AM   #3
Tech Adept
ThunderPowerRC's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 100

To allow us to use the same balance pig tail on both 2S and 3S they have 4 wires. The Orange wire in the 2S is not used, it is on the 3S.
ThunderPowerRC is offline   Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:31 AM.

Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0