R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-20-2012, 01:57 PM   #1366
Tech Regular
 
aquito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Oceanside CA
Posts: 264
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SNR Graphite View Post
If you going to run 2s and want to get the same speed I would go with Tekin Pro 4 4600kv and RX8.
Is there any Tacon motor I could buy instead? I have had several Tacon on my 1/10 scales...and I would be using a HobbyKing 120a esc
aquito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 01:58 PM   #1367
Tech Regular
 
aquito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Oceanside CA
Posts: 264
Default

Hey guys which one of this servos would be ok to run on a gtp2e?

HXT

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...HXT_Servo.html

HobbyKing

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ing_Servo.html
aquito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 03:34 PM   #1368
Tech Regular
 
aquito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Oceanside CA
Posts: 264
Default

Ok so I took the plunge, I ordered my GTP2E from tower hobbies with the $30 discount coupon came out to $179.99 out the door with free shipping, now please help me out to choose what servo and motor I need. I wil be using 2 5000 2s gens ace in parallel untill I can get a single 4s and I will be installing my HobbyKing 120esc that is good for 4s..

What cheap servo can I use? My previous posts show the 2 options that I was thinking on, getting a HTX servo or a HobbyKing servo

Now for motor. What do I guys think of this one?

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ehouse%5F.html

Would that be fast enough with the 2 packs of 2S that I own and the stock pinion? Or should I just go with this one??

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ehouse%5F.html

Has anyone had any previous experience with this motors or servos?
aquito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 06:00 PM   #1369
Tech Regular
 
rcwck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ohio USA
Posts: 478
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

You'll need a series wiring set up not parallel and I've seen a couple guys running the Trackstar 2560 motor with success. Pinion size around 21t. Do yourself a favor and get good steering servo. Savox has a powerful servo for around $80. Some have used the BlueBirds from HK with success.

Quote:
Originally Posted by aquito View Post
Ok so I took the plunge, I ordered my GTP2E from tower hobbies with the $30 discount coupon came out to $179.99 out the door with free shipping, now please help me out to choose what servo and motor I need. I wil be using 2 5000 2s gens ace in parallel untill I can get a single 4s and I will be installing my HobbyKing 120esc that is good for 4s..

What cheap servo can I use? My previous posts show the 2 options that I was thinking on, getting a HTX servo or a HobbyKing servo

Now for motor. What do I guys think of this one?

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ehouse%5F.html

Would that be fast enough with the 2 packs of 2S that I own and the stock pinion? Or should I just go with this one??

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ehouse%5F.html

Has anyone had any previous experience with this motors or servos?

Last edited by rcwck; 04-22-2012 at 04:04 AM.
rcwck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 08:16 PM   #1370
Tech Regular
 
aquito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Oceanside CA
Posts: 264
Default

When searching for pinion gears, any pinion gear that states 5mm shaft, Mod1 would fit?
aquito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 08:20 PM   #1371
Tech Regular
 
rcwck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ohio USA
Posts: 478
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Yup, Mod1 5mm bore

Quote:
Originally Posted by aquito View Post
When searching for pinion gears, any pinion gear that states 5mm shaft, Mod1 would fit?
rcwck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 12:17 AM   #1372
Tech Adept
 
SCStephens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Council Bluffs, IA
Posts: 216
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

do any of you guys know if the 30010 gear case has a suitable upgrade part? I broke one on a moderate non crashing 2ft landing... any strengthening would be welcome.
__________________
Traxxas Rustler converted to "Slice" SCT
Traxxas Slash
Ofna LX-2e
Tamiya M-03m Toyota Matrix. (Fiat 500 RIP)
Ofna jl10e Vta
SCStephens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 12:41 PM   #1373
Tech Master
 
jag88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,075
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Does any of the SnR graphite parts for the GTP2e fit the DM-One-Spec-E ?
Thanks.
jag88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 10:15 PM   #1374
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 33
Default OFNA Ultra GTP2e - New Build

Just finished this build and wanted to share it with my fellow GTP'ers.









RCFlyerGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 06:39 PM   #1375
Tech Addict
 
SNR Graphite's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: So Cal
Posts: 586
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCFlyerGuy View Post
Just finished this build and wanted to share it with my fellow GTP'ers.









Good choice in ESC and Motor. Nice
__________________
www.snrgraphite.com
SNR Graphite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 06:41 PM   #1376
Tech Master
 
Monteman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 1,279
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

So simple its sexy, love the color combo.
__________________
Cameron - Edmonton Canada

** Every time see someone use their first post to necro-bump a 4 year old thread all I can think is "at least they used the search function" **
Monteman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 11:10 PM   #1377
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 273
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Well, not a good day for me. I was running my car around the local parking lot with my son and had a problem. Now, my son is 18 months old and loves RC cars. So with him around I was not going to do anything crazy and just running around 1/4 throttle. Now I have the castle system in the car and run it on 6s and even when doing full speed runs the temps are good. Top speed hit on it is 78.8mph with no body, if the body is on it goes flying, I have the nissan body and stock body. Today I was running the stock body. I had been running it for about 5 minutes when about 3 feet from me the esc blew... Flames and all..My first priority was to get the car away from my son so I kicked it about 10ft away. I was then able to get to it and get the body off and the esc was toast.. All wires coming out of it were now disconnected. The mounting points for the wires on the esc had melted out of place. I disconnected the batter and even after doing this the ESC kept fizzing, smoking and popping. So time to call castle on monday and see what can be done. If nothing I will switch to tekin and try out their product.
Robert
__________________
MCD Rally X4 27.2 full mod, Nutech Beetle 30.5 full mod, Tamiya Hilux, RC10T, RC10
wyattroa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 12:56 AM   #1378
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: toulouse/france
Posts: 505
Default

Hello from France,

here's my new motor and new batteries...

The Leopard 4074 - 2.150 kV - sensored - 2.500 W
(before HobbyWing 4068 - 2.250kV - sensored - 1.250 W)



Hobby Center (Kypom) 4S / 6.500mAh / 70C
(before GensAce 4S / 5.000mAh / 40C)



It's Awesome!!!
Usually, I run a 20t pinion but, with this new combination, for the same top speed, I run a 18t pinion.

Temperature on the engine and the battery is much lower and the runtime is now around 10 minutes (7 minute before) !!!
romuald31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 10:03 PM   #1379
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 273
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Question, how is everyone keeping their car on the ground. I am only able to do top speed runs with the body off currently. when I try with the body on the car just goes flying once over 70mph. I have the stock body and the nissan calsonic body.
Robert
__________________
MCD Rally X4 27.2 full mod, Nutech Beetle 30.5 full mod, Tamiya Hilux, RC10T, RC10
wyattroa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 05:58 AM   #1380
Tech Addict
 
phildoggg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: N.C.
Posts: 646
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wyattroa View Post
Question, how is everyone keeping their car on the ground. I am only able to do top speed runs with the body off currently. when I try with the body on the car just goes flying once over 70mph. I have the stock body and the nissan calsonic body.
Robert
Are you running with the rear wing installed? If so take it off. Its not needed and creates too much downforce for speed runs.
phildoggg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:20 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0