R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-16-2011, 02:01 PM   #1411
Tech Elite
 
seaball's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,303
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to seaball
Default

nice. that's quick work.
__________________
*** The Gate II - Home of Mike Wise ***
seaball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 02:33 PM   #1412
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,198
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seaball View Post
nice. that's quick work.
1F comes in just under 48mm pin to pin I think (haven't got one to hand), and the 1E is the next one down at about 47mm. Hope that helps... I know 3Racing do some

BTW Seaball, that avatar is waaaaaaaay too creepy!
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 03:01 PM   #1413
Tech Elite
 
seaball's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,303
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to seaball
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TryHard View Post
BTW Seaball, that avatar is waaaaaaaay too creepy!
i can't disagree with that.

say, would you tell me the screw spacing of these blocks (c-c)? i figure i'm going to be hacking my chassus up, but it wouldn't hurt to know ahead of time by how much.

thanks again for the quick answers, gents. every now and again i forget to hate this forum.
__________________
*** The Gate II - Home of Mike Wise ***
seaball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 03:15 PM   #1414
Tech Master
 
mickrcarver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Marietta Ohio
Posts: 1,458
Trader Rating: 98 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seaball View Post
i can't disagree with that.

say, would you tell me the screw spacing of these blocks (c-c)? i figure i'm going to be hacking my chassus up, but it wouldn't hurt to know ahead of time by how much.

thanks again for the quick answers, gents. every now and again i forget to hate this forum.
right around 28.5mm
__________________
www.ovrccc.com
www.speedybillsrc.com
mickrcarver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 04:47 PM   #1415
Tech Elite
 
Vicko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,021
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

seaball the Teacher may have extra toe block for the Pink car
__________________
- ? -
Vicko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 05:10 PM   #1416
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 300
Default Where does everyone put their weights/leads to meets min regs?

Pics would be nice...

Seems like not too much place to put weights.....little bit on each corner, perhaps in the center of the chassis between electronics and batt? Do people stack the weights? It's looking like I have to add 90grams of weight!!!..Help!!!
mhavlena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 11:33 PM   #1417
Tech Adept
 
kedal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Nice, France
Posts: 156
Default

90gr is a lot !

What lipo and speedo do you use ?
If you want to add weight on the lipo's side, try to move the lipo more outside, it's works very well to have a good balance.
__________________
TRF201 - Tekin RS Pro - PRT HS 10.5T
F103 - Hobbywing 1S - Hobbywing 13.5T
rctouch.over-blog.com
kedal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 04:19 AM   #1418
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: santa monica / manchester
Posts: 1,207
Default

where can I get some chassis balance pins to balance my 417? I see it has holes on the chassis for them.
__________________
http://www.theRcRacer.com/

TRF419, TBEvo6, TT02, VDF, TRF501x, TRF201, TRF101, Mi5, X-Ray T4-13, BD7 2014, A700 Evo, WR-02G
Qatmix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 07:44 AM   #1419
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 318
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Qatmix View Post
where can I get some chassis balance pins to balance my 417? I see it has holes on the chassis for them.
hudy make them
Smartypants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 08:04 AM   #1420
Tech Master
 
crabboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,991
Trader Rating: 57 (98%+)
Default

There is another way of balancing the chassis instead of using balance pins, if you look at the front and rear shock towers you will see a small nick on the under side of both towers almost in the middle of the shock mounts, you use two small allen drivers one each end in the small nicks and lift the chassis, it will fall towards the heavy side.
Hope it make sence have a look at the towers and im sure you will get the idea.

Rhys


Quote:
Originally Posted by Qatmix View Post
where can I get some chassis balance pins to balance my 417? I see it has holes on the chassis for them.
__________________
Rhys Marshall.
crabboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 08:08 AM   #1421
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: santa monica / manchester
Posts: 1,207
Default

cheers guys

I never noticed the little nicks on the shock towers!
__________________
http://www.theRcRacer.com/

TRF419, TBEvo6, TT02, VDF, TRF501x, TRF201, TRF101, Mi5, X-Ray T4-13, BD7 2014, A700 Evo, WR-02G
Qatmix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 08:28 AM   #1422
Tech Elite
 
2-Bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Or buy yourself a set of these Scales....

Perfect for the job. My 417 with it's electrics & lipo are well matched (as I assume most will be too) and only needed to throw some weights down the center of the chassis to get it up to legal....
__________________
Yokomo * G Force * Sanwa * SMC * ProSpec
2-Bad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 09:43 AM   #1423
Tech Adept
 
kedal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Nice, France
Posts: 156
Default

I noticed this nicks, but wonderring what it was for !
Thanks for the tips !
__________________
TRF201 - Tekin RS Pro - PRT HS 10.5T
F103 - Hobbywing 1S - Hobbywing 13.5T
rctouch.over-blog.com
kedal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 05:34 PM   #1424
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Default

scales can be affected by droop and/or preload settings. the shock tower method is best.
the greek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 07:29 PM   #1425
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kedal View Post
90gr is a lot !

What lipo and speedo do you use ?
If you want to add weight on the lipo's side, try to move the lipo more outside, it's works very well to have a good balance.
lipo = protek 5000 mah
speedo = Tekin RS pro
Rx = Spektrum SR3001 (good thing i'm not using the SR3500)
big fan on motor

With body + clips + tires... = 1350g.

Allowed weight = 1440g.

I need to find place for 90g worth of weight. Going to be messy
mhavlena is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Saudi Arabia RC Club grizzle Manila Racers 6558 01-06-2017 09:50 AM
Tamiya TRF415 JDM_DOHC_SiR Electric On-Road 21094 03-10-2016 12:02 PM
Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X academygaz Electric On-Road 10619 01-01-2015 04:36 PM
Tamiya TA05 IFS rcforum Electric On-Road 1132 12-18-2014 06:19 AM
"Ask" Jilles Groskamp Tamiya 416 & 417, Team Orion Motors JGH Electric On-Road 1996 05-27-2014 07:28 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:08 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0