R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-20-2011, 08:32 AM   #781
Tech Elite
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,634
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
Oh yeah, same here. 44mm steel for front gear diff. 46 for front spool.

Kody, you running the extra long links like Jilles? Change his birds setup much? I guess I'll start with it in ABQ. I'll be surprised if I traction roll with Solaris.
Yeah my set up is very close. Played with ball stud height a little and oils. Car was on. edge if I juiced to long. Car is stuck with Sweep QTS32's and has great corner speed. Forward bite is insane!
Kody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 06:00 PM   #782
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,251
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Morning from thailand all...

So quick observations from meeting up with Jilles, Marc and co yesterday, and as I'm late for breakfast, quick summary..

No front gear diff - back to the spool, just seems to work better at the moment
Straight front arms - 1C/1C, more into, less out of the corners
Long links - full length
Shocks - pretty standard it seems, even going to lower oil to combat traction roll (yes, traction roll on asphalt, with 36 rated tyres... wtf !)

Will try post some more laters.. although also running a blog style thing here http://www.thard.co.uk/viewforum.php?f=64

Ed
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 07:39 PM   #783
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mongville
Posts: 6,978
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TryHard View Post
Morning from thailand all...

So quick observations from meeting up with Jilles, Marc and co yesterday, and as I'm late for breakfast, quick summary..

No front gear diff - back to the spool, just seems to work better at the moment
Straight front arms - 1C/1C, more into, less out of the corners
Long links - full length
Shocks - pretty standard it seems, even going to lower oil to combat traction roll (yes, traction roll on asphalt, with 36 rated tyres... wtf !)

Will try post some more laters.. although also running a blog style thing here http://www.thard.co.uk/viewforum.php?f=64

Ed
Dont forget to go introduce yourself to the Ozzie boys. Guaranteed for a good laugh. As well as a couple of Tammy guys too.
__________________
12th Scale - The premier class (if you can make runtime)
Besercoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 10:21 PM   #784
Tech Elite
 
jonest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Johor, Malaysia
Posts: 3,135
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TryHard View Post
Morning from thailand all...

So quick observations from meeting up with Jilles, Marc and co yesterday, and as I'm late for breakfast, quick summary..

No front gear diff - back to the spool, just seems to work better at the moment
Straight front arms - 1C/1C, more into, less out of the corners
Long links - full length
Shocks - pretty standard it seems, even going to lower oil to combat traction roll (yes, traction roll on asphalt, with 36 rated tyres... wtf !)

Will try post some more laters.. although also running a blog style thing here http://www.thard.co.uk/viewforum.php?f=64

Ed
Ed,

hears that the MM tires aren't lasting. Are we allowed to purchase additional sets for the qualifying runs?

Thanks.
jonest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 12:47 AM   #785
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 629
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone used the center one way? Is it worth getting?
cvccsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 09:47 AM   #786
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,251
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonest View Post
Ed,

hears that the MM tires aren't lasting. Are we allowed to purchase additional sets for the qualifying runs?

Thanks.
It's not that they are not lasting (12 runs + seems to be easily achievable), just they change so much during a run. Super edgey to start with, then lapse into understeer after a few mins. Not much that can be done but try and get the car as well set for the end of the run, then hold on tight at the start!
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 10:26 AM   #787
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,251
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Besercoe View Post
Dont forget to go introduce yourself to the Ozzie boys. Guaranteed for a good laugh. As well as a couple of Tammy guys too.
Have done so already, they've been kind enough to let me stash my gear in their room, which is handy. Will certainly be hooking up for a beer at some point, but tonight circumstance precluded that (bloody barriers!).
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 11:15 AM   #788
Tech Elite
 
jonest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Johor, Malaysia
Posts: 3,135
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TryHard View Post
It's not that they are not lasting (12 runs + seems to be easily achievable), just they change so much during a run. Super edgey to start with, then lapse into understeer after a few mins. Not much that can be done but try and get the car as well set for the end of the run, then hold on tight at the start!
That could be tricky....
jonest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 01:11 PM   #789
Tech Master
 
John.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The Track
Posts: 1,290
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyclone speed View Post
Hello, i just noticed i bent a suspension shaft ( the 46mm titanium coated shaft that goes through the wishbone ) ... is it possible to use the one from my HB cyclone ?
The HB's Cyclone TC uses 45mm suspension shafts vs. Tamiya's 46mm. Having said I'm sure you could get away with it till you get the Tamiya replacement part.

Unfortunately, Tamiya USA along with US and HK based online stores are all out of stock. You can also use the Evo IV suspension shafts (TAM54093), same dimensions minus the Ti coating.
__________________
- Middle River Hobbies - The Track -

Last edited by John.C; 02-23-2011 at 07:47 AM.
John.C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 04:02 PM   #790
Tech Addict
 
cyclone speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 621
Default

, thanks, i just got those from rc market without the titanium coating, but does the Ti coating makes a noticeable difference, it's not as if the whole shaft was made of titanium O.O, otherwise it wouldnt bend lol ...

Also, I was playing with my car on my setup board, and when i accelerate and then steer, i get a " chatering " noise, where does that come from ? I heard it's also on other chassis, but whats the problem ?
Thanks
__________________
-TRF417 | Speedpassion GT2.0 LPF | LRP x12 13.5| 40 mhz FM Micro receiver |
T2M diamond servo | Mazda 6
Novak GTB, LRP TC Spec, Demon lipo's

And remember, dont forget to brake ;)
cyclone speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 07:13 PM   #791
Tech Champion
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,465
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyclone speed View Post
, thanks, i just got those from rc market without the titanium coating, but does the Ti coating makes a noticeable difference, it's not as if the whole shaft was made of titanium O.O, otherwise it wouldnt bend lol ...

Also, I was playing with my car on my setup board, and when i accelerate and then steer, i get a " chatering " noise, where does that come from ? I heard it's also on other chassis, but whats the problem ?
Thanks
It is the cvd's binding a little bit. This is why some others use double jointed shafts, but a lot of the double jointed shafts have durability issues. I wouldnt worry about it too much, it doesnt seem to bother the team drivers Otherwise you would see them change to a dcj if they thought it was a big issue
__________________
Mike Gee

Awesomatix USA/Pyscho Cells Racing/LRP/Sweep Racing/RSD/Middle River Hobbies/Johns Mobile Raceway/TQ Wire/Avid
geeunit1014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 11:23 PM   #792
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 562
Default

ECS-driveshafts (double-jointed) are pretty comon on the Xray, but that is mainly because Xray normal driveshafts are "bad" / give alot of wheel-chatter, and because Xray made some very good ECS-driveshafts, that are durable.

Unfortunately they are too long for the Tamiya, as Xray only makes 50mm and 52mm driveshafts.
__________________
Niklas Hansen
Team TCHobby / Team Upgrade-RC
Tamiya TRF417 / Speed Passion GT2.0 / Speed Passion V3 motors.
Nilks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 11:33 PM   #793
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 562
Default

I have some questions.

I race an Xray at the moment, so I am used to driving an immortal tank. I am thinking about switching to Tamiya, but I know that it isn't as durable as the Xray.

So my question is: Is there any way to make it more durable, without losing performance? I've heard about the split-blocks. Do they help? Are they worth the money?
__________________
Niklas Hansen
Team TCHobby / Team Upgrade-RC
Tamiya TRF417 / Speed Passion GT2.0 / Speed Passion V3 motors.
Nilks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 11:38 PM   #794
Tech Elite
 
A Ilievski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: A.C.T (Australia)
Posts: 2,636
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nilks View Post
I have some questions.

I race an Xray at the moment, so I am used to driving an immortal tank. I am thinking about switching to Tamiya, but I know that it isn't as durable as the Xray.

So my question is: Is there any way to make it more durable, without losing performance? I've heard about the split-blocks. Do they help? Are they worth the money?
Dont crash
__________________
Alex Ilievski
*AWESOMATIX * R1 WURKS * PLAIG BEARINGS*
A Ilievski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 11:41 PM   #795
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 126
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nilks View Post
I have some questions.

I race an Xray at the moment, so I am used to driving an immortal tank. I am thinking about switching to Tamiya, but I know that it isn't as durable as the Xray.

So my question is: Is there any way to make it more durable, without losing performance? I've heard about the split-blocks. Do they help? Are they worth the money?
the split blocks are much more durable than the single piece blocks and you get basically 2 different blocks for less than how much 2 blocks would normally cost you.
platypus_s13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Saudi Arabia RC Club grizzle Manila Racers 6558 01-06-2017 08:50 AM
Tamiya TRF415 JDM_DOHC_SiR Electric On-Road 21094 03-10-2016 11:02 AM
Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X academygaz Electric On-Road 10619 01-01-2015 03:36 PM
Tamiya TA05 IFS rcforum Electric On-Road 1132 12-18-2014 05:19 AM
"Ask" Jilles Groskamp Tamiya 416 & 417, Team Orion Motors JGH Electric On-Road 1996 05-27-2014 06:28 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:53 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net