R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-10-2011, 04:44 AM   #1411
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Barnsley UK
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slicendice View Post
hello new to touring cars I have just started playin around with my tc6 and wanted to implement Keven Herbert Timezone setup that i found on petit rc


I have a couple questions about the setup That I was wondering if anybody could help me with

1.Is the rear toe +3 degree in total does that mean +1.5degree on each rear wheel?
When the set-up sheet states 3 degrees of rear toe, you should run 3 degrees of toe on each wheel, 3 degrees is 2.5mm shim at the RWD arm mount on both sides, with 0mm at the FWD arm mount.

2. The rear camber link position used in the setup is 1A but when in that position the links do not adjust short enough to get the camber the setup calls for Do you need shorter links to use these positions?
When i built my car i noticed that the links where to long to run the 1-6 positions on the shock tower i removed 2-3mm worth of thread from both sides of the link which was a suitable solution, the links are still long enough to run the 7 positions front and rear. The TC5 links are the best solution but shortening them is also a option if you dont have any TC5 links.

3.The setup calls for "silver" ball studs do these studs have longer threads or is the neck of the ball stud itself longer
The silver ball studs are 0.75mm taller than the black balls on the pillar between the threads and the ball itself, in a quick fix situation you can also run the black ball and a 1mm shim as Buckaroo stated.

4.last in the setup it calls for arm mount shims in millimeters but the manual says they represent different degrees. Is it a typo on the setup sheet or should i measure the shims and go with what the setup says ?
Which arm mount shims that are used in this setup

With the TC5/6 1* of toe is equal to 0.8mm, to get 3 degrees of toe you will need to run either 2.5mm of aluminium shims(3 degrees is equal to 2.4mm but we run 2.5 on our cars to acheive 3 degrees) or you can run a big and a small plastic arm mount shim that comes with the kit

ADDED thought maybe i am confusing arm mount shims with FWD or RWD mount shims or are they the same thing?
The way i see the FWD and RWD arm mount shims are that the FWD arm mount is always in front of the wishbone and the RWD arm mount is behind the wishbone

What are the RWD and FWD mount shims?
The FWD and RWD arm mount shims are spacers that go between the bulkhead and the arm mounts and through changing these for different sizes you can adjust your toe and track width of your car
HTH
__________________
Ben Putt
CML - Associated - Reedy - Novak - Fastrax

Last edited by Ben Putt; 01-10-2011 at 05:07 AM.
Ben Putt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 05:14 AM   #1412
Tech Apprentice
 
jeppesen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 76
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thilo-alexander View Post
i like to know what rollcenter 0B front and rear/springs front silver - rear green/oil front 40 - rear 30/piston #3 all round the DHI Stock winner runs on
the carpet during the weekend

also i am excited of christens low traction carpet setup


Who is that?
__________________
Large scale racing with RS5 Touring car, Sanwa, Savx, Modelsport engines and Shell V-Power

1/10th Racing with RGT R2, Hobbywing, Gens-Ace and Absima.
jeppesen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 06:08 AM   #1413
Tech Master
 
wtcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,243
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Christer Andersson



The guy on the right.
wtcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 10:38 AM   #1414
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lyon - France
Posts: 60
Default

The phones numbers of the girls ?
kerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 11:10 AM   #1415
Tech Adept
 
rendcool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sunshine state
Posts: 199
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wtcc View Post
Christer Andersson



The guy on the right.
do all of them on number 3 ??
I saw the number on the cup ...
__________________
Itami o shitte ..
rendcool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 01:40 PM   #1416
Tech Addict
 
mugenize1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 529
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rendcool View Post
do all of them on number 3 ??
I saw the number on the cup ...
Wow you have a point there
mugenize1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 01:45 PM   #1417
Tech Master
 
Buckaroo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,503
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Got my new bulkhead from Associated today. 3 day turn around! Car is all together, just waiting on my Tekin!

Quote:
Originally Posted by thilo-alexander View Post
but one thing to notice:
what shells are u us guys useing on your tcs.
in europe we are mostly useing the

Protoform Mazda Speed6 or LTC-R
HB Mazda MPS

and for this shells, the front Body Stand is way to short
(have to put about 4mm unter it)
Yeah, noted that today. My LTC-R fit fine, no issues, but my MazdaSpeed 6 would not. Had to put 4mm spacers, like you said, to get the post tall enough. Strange!
__________________
Tom Keith

Tekin & Sweep, thanks for all that you do for you know who!

Associated/T.O.P./Mugen/Fantom/Spektrum/Savox
Buckaroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 05:09 PM   #1418
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,276
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buckaroo View Post
Yeah, noted that today. My LTC-R fit fine, no issues, but my MazdaSpeed 6 would not. Had to put 4mm spacers, like you said, to get the post tall enough. Strange!
The speed 6 mounts ok on my car, it sits on the very top hole. be sure to measure for height, if you drop the front too much you have to sacrifice wing height to stay legal.

That being said, the LTC-R is better all around for me though so it doesn't really matter.
__________________
Support those that support us

http://ActivRC.com http://TeamPowersUSA.net http://TeamAssociated.com
Brian Bosley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 06:41 PM   #1419
Tech Elite
 
Timbulb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,051
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

My mazda 6 fit fine as well.
Timbulb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 07:51 PM   #1420
Tech Regular
 
twk-b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: calgary
Posts: 379
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to twk-b
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Bosley View Post
That being said, the LTC-R is better all around for me though so it doesn't really matter.
I generally found the LTC-R really loose in the back with my TC5R, but with the TC6 and the KH setup it really locked down the whole car...

-b
twk-b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 12:02 AM   #1421
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 774
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hi!

What will go wrong when I put protoform mazda 6? (not speed6),
I left my bodies and they come back to me after event that I want drive.

What can go wrong ?
__________________
Michal Abramowicz
http://abram.eu.org/gear_tc6.php
My setups there -> http://www.rc-setups.com
TC6!, TC5R, 12L4, 12R5.1, 10L2, 10R5, RC8T_CE_EL custom F1 chassis
http://www.wgtshop.com/
M.Abramowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 09:53 AM   #1422
AE-Reedy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 779
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M.Abramowicz View Post
Hi!

What will go wrong when I put protoform mazda 6? (not speed6),
I left my bodies and they come back to me after event that I want drive.

What can go wrong ?
Older Mazda 6 body does not have as much steering as Speed 6 body.
It will work in a pinch, you might have to adjust the car a little.
Sean Cochran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 01:35 PM   #1423
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 774
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean Cochran View Post
Older Mazda 6 body does not have as much steering as Speed 6 body.
It will work in a pinch, you might have to adjust the car a little.
Ok, thanks!

m.
__________________
Michal Abramowicz
http://abram.eu.org/gear_tc6.php
My setups there -> http://www.rc-setups.com
TC6!, TC5R, 12L4, 12R5.1, 10L2, 10R5, RC8T_CE_EL custom F1 chassis
http://www.wgtshop.com/
M.Abramowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 05:25 PM   #1424
Tech Master
 
Buckaroo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,503
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Bosley View Post
The speed 6 mounts ok on my car, it sits on the very top hole. be sure to measure for height, if you drop the front too much you have to sacrifice wing height to stay legal.

That being said, the LTC-R is better all around for me though so it doesn't really matter.
Gotcha. Mine seems to fit, but VERY tight, with the top hole when trimmed for proper height and ROAR body gauged. I have found that the part number 4535 body posts, used in the front of the TC6, are tall enough to solve any TC body mount problem, going all the way back to the Stratus 2.0!
__________________
Tom Keith

Tekin & Sweep, thanks for all that you do for you know who!

Associated/T.O.P./Mugen/Fantom/Spektrum/Savox
Buckaroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 04:35 AM   #1425
Tech Master
 
TJames987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,105
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Default stock setup

has anyone tried the box stock setup? I and going to club race sat on very high traction aspualt, hopefully it is close to working

Is there an other setup that would give the car good rotation in turns on this type of track?
TJames987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
THE TRACK RACEWAY Apex Mid Atlantic RC Racing 28970 09-28-2017 07:28 AM
Team Associated TC5 RCknight Electric On-Road 13254 05-12-2017 07:58 AM
Team Associated TC6 KostaG Electric On-Road 8 07-04-2010 11:42 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:04 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net