R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-28-2010, 05:17 AM   #1216
Tech Elite
 
Timbulb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,050
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

My batteries don't seem to fit well in my TC6. I've tried a few different brands of different sizes and I've tried every configuration of the braces, but they still slide forwards and backwards and side to side. Any tips on how to keep my batteries from sliding around even when taped in?
Timbulb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 06:02 AM   #1217
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 301
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M.Abramowicz View Post
Hi!


Probably it was described somewhere but what spacer is need for same
effect.

In some setups is for example:
- 2mm spacer with sliver outer ball on hub...

Which spacer I should put for same effect if I use black ball ?



Regards!
m


edit:

probably 0.5-0.7mm silver is higher then black one ...

It is very close to 1mm. That is what I use.
__________________
TEAM ASSOCIATED==REEDY==LRP==FACTORY TEAM==COMPETITION ELECTRONICS==JACO RACING TIRES==SPEKTRUM==DYNAMITE== PROTOFORM==KIMBROUGH==REILLY PAINT WORKS==Sxt
walterhenderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 06:05 AM   #1218
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 301
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timbulb View Post
My batteries don't seem to fit well in my TC6. I've tried a few different brands of different sizes and I've tried every configuration of the braces, but they still slide forwards and backwards and side to side. Any tips on how to keep my batteries from sliding around even when taped in?
Using the Reedy packs, I used dbl. sided tape to attach a piece of lexan to the front of the pack and that stoped all movement. That makes it a snug fit.
__________________
TEAM ASSOCIATED==REEDY==LRP==FACTORY TEAM==COMPETITION ELECTRONICS==JACO RACING TIRES==SPEKTRUM==DYNAMITE== PROTOFORM==KIMBROUGH==REILLY PAINT WORKS==Sxt
walterhenderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 08:06 AM   #1219
Tech Master
 
i1justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Richland, WA
Posts: 1,143
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

come on bulkheads, be available for sale soon please!

Quote:
Originally Posted by walterhenderson View Post
It is very close to 1mm. That is what I use.
Soon all that mm under the ballstud means less thread in the plastic which is why the silver was used so you get extra height without changing the amount of thread into the hub making it a bit tougher, but good to know 1mm will work in a pinch with no silver studs available....
Also as a note dont use the offroad .030" silver ball studs, they do not have same thread as the metric silver/black and they will back out on you
__________________
Justin Wilde
AE - Reedy - JConcepts - Airtronics
Irony- Racing Nitro requires more Batteries than Racing Electric.
www.NCTracing.com
i1justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 11:32 AM   #1220
Tech Regular
 
damage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Weinerpig
Posts: 282
Default Losi LCD style drive shafts

I'm in the process of testing / tuning my TC6. Great car so far, but I have a question regarding the amount of chatter coming from the front end when turning.

I'm not running the set screws in the front drive shafts to free them up as much as possible. However, I still see and feel a lot of chatter from the shafts when turning still.

How come Associated isn't making a double jointed style drive shaft for this car. Doesn't seem it would be too tough to get one to market and I'm sure a lot of racers would scoop them up.
__________________
http://tinyurl.com/Wiocr

Tamiya Hornet, Airtronics XL2P, Novak 4, 1200 SC Stage III batteries,
Navcom 10 peak, 12 volt lead acid power source
damage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 12:13 PM   #1221
Tech Champion
 
touringdriver's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: RICKY RACERVILLE
Posts: 5,202
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

the double jointed front axles made a world and all difference in my 009 xray. very smoooooth!
__________________
Proudly Sponsored by: Mr. Crash Racing, RickyRacer lidz & Ebay..
Rock Chalk Jayhawks
2014 Subway Cup & Dee and Mees On-road Race Schedule:
http://www.rctech.net/forum/kansas-m...l#post11891510
touringdriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 12:24 PM   #1222
Tech Master
 
Big Features's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Currituck, North Carolina
Posts: 1,879
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

+1
__________________
Mike Kling
Team Associated REEDY Powered
JConcepts TXD Skin Graphix
Big Features is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 01:17 PM   #1223
Tech Master
 
jag88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,075
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by damage View Post
I'm in the process of testing / tuning my TC6. Great car so far, but I have a question regarding the amount of chatter coming from the front end when turning.

I'm not running the set screws in the front drive shafts to free them up as much as possible. However, I still see and feel a lot of chatter from the shafts when turning still.

How come Associated isn't making a double jointed style drive shaft for this car. Doesn't seem it would be too tough to get one to market and I'm sure a lot of racers would scoop them up.

I saw one of the team drivers running Hot Bodies DCJ's with a spool. I know you would have to swap out the bearings to make it fit. Not sure if any extra shimming is needed.
jag88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 04:18 PM   #1224
Tech Addict
 
mugenize1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 529
Default

Anyone with a TC5 and a TC6 can tell me if the turnbuckle are the same size
I know that the TC5 is.
1 1/4 front camber
1 3/8 rear camber
1 5/8 steering
is this the same with the TC6 any info would help.
Thanks,Guys
mugenize1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 04:49 PM   #1225
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 145
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Battery straps

Hi Timbulb, i used two velcro straps with the plastic loop on one of them. I sewed a loop at each end to slide tightly over the carbon fiber stays. The strap with the plastic loop on the end finishes about a third the way along the battery, then from the other end the velcro that is longer is threaded through the plastic loop and pulled back on its self (not too tightly because of tweak). The velcro seems to take up the slop between the battery and the stayin my case with no movement.
Hope this makes sense, and helps.
Anthony.
Handbrake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 05:03 PM   #1226
Tech Addict
 
mugenize1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 529
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Handbrake View Post
Hi Timbulb, i used two velcro straps with the plastic loop on one of them. I sewed a loop at each end to slide tightly over the carbon fiber stays. The strap with the plastic loop on the end finishes about a third the way along the battery, then from the other end the velcro that is longer is threaded through the plastic loop and pulled back on its self (not too tightly because of tweak). The velcro seems to take up the slop between the battery and the stayin my case with no movement.
Hope this makes sense, and helps.
Anthony.
Can you post a pic to see what it should look like
mugenize1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 07:15 PM   #1227
Tech Elite
 
Timbulb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,050
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I shoe-gooed a piece of high density foam underneath the belt between the motor mount and the battery, and it holds holds really well now.
Timbulb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 07:43 PM   #1228
Tech Regular
 
jhock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 462
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Top racing makes a nice velcro piece, thats what i use
Attached Thumbnails
Team Associated TC6 Thread-dsc02122.jpg  
__________________
Team Driver Schumacher USA
SVR
SX3
Tekin
KO Propo
jhock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 08:04 PM   #1229
Tech Adept
 
hnasdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 121
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Just wondering, how come you dont just use velcro on the battery and chassis to hold the battery on? Too heavy? dirty? not enough to hold in a crash? A couple 4" pieces of velcro would certianly give you plenty of adjustment?
__________________
If you wreck in the same spot twice, your going too fast.
Tell a man his pinion he races today, teach a man about final drive ratio and he will stop making posts about them on forum's
Sketchy Racing (SC10,B44,10L5 Oval,TC6)
hnasdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 08:58 PM   #1230
Tech Elite
 
Timbulb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,050
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I use tape, but all my batteries were smaller than the space between the braces, by about a 1/4 inch. But like I said, I have the problem licked with a little shoe-goo and foam. Now tape works just fine.
Timbulb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
THE TRACK RACEWAY Apex Mid Atlantic RC Racing 28961 07-11-2017 01:29 PM
Team Associated TC5 RCknight Electric On-Road 13254 05-12-2017 07:58 AM
Team Associated TC6 KostaG Electric On-Road 8 07-04-2010 11:42 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:01 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net