R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-09-2014, 09:08 PM   #9961
Tech Addict
 
rc car guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 647
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teknorookie View Post
So this is what my final looks like. Appreciate any comments before I put it on the track.

http://www.rctech.net/forum/members/...rvo-mount.html

On a side note, my Only concern is that the belt seems to rub against the mount. Any ideas on a fix/correction?


http://www.rctech.net/forum/members/...rvo-mount.html
swap the spool shims to the left see if that works
rc car guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 09:39 PM   #9962
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Central Cali
Posts: 73
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YoDog View Post
Looks good! That one is one of the very first mounts I made. Although the belt touches the block, there is no tension on it so I found that it caused no problems. Keep in mind that the way you have the turnbuckle attached, there is no longer a servo saver function because you are attached directly to the steering crank. You may want to install a servo saver on the servo. I made replacement saver cams but it may be awhile till I can have more made.
The latest mounts have more offset to give the belt more clearance and the top plate is smaller with a bump to act as a battery stay.

Thanks! Can't wait to try another one from your next batch.
__________________
Enjoying this rc hobby while I can!

Last edited by teknorookie; 02-09-2014 at 09:40 PM. Reason: Description
teknorookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 09:40 PM   #9963
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Central Cali
Posts: 73
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc car guy View Post
swap the spool shims to the left see if that works

Will do. Thanks.
__________________
Enjoying this rc hobby while I can!
teknorookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 08:52 AM   #9964
Tech Regular
 
RussF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Salt Lake City Utah
Posts: 427
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robertsmalibu View Post
Can anyone give me a good starting setup for 25.5 vta. My friend just bought a tc6 and this is his first time racing one. Thanks for the help.
I've always used the box stock setup for my VTA TC6 and TC6.1 and adjust from there. If you are on carpet a bit stiffer springs and oil can help but on asphalt lighter may be better. Then adjust little things from there, like camber, toe, etc. I found that a gear diff up front helped me roll corners better. Make sure the drive train is free and smooth. For bodies I have used and liked both the HPI 70 Boss Mustang and the Mcallister Firebird.
__________________
SaltLakeMini-Z.com, HowFastAreYou.com
RussF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 07:00 PM   #9965
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Sammamish, WA
Posts: 185
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Building a 6.1 worlds kit (total newb). Maybe I'm reading too much into it, but there are 12 pistons included for the shocks and they are stamped with 1,2 and 3 in groups of 4. Now, in the instructions, it has a "#2" in the build directions, but doesn't say anything specific.

Wondering if I should use the set of 4 #2s for the shocks or the 1s or 3s or is there any difference in the pistons at all. And what a the extras for?

Thanks for your help.

JB
boylrmakr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 07:07 PM   #9966
Tech Addict
 
rc car guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 647
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boylrmakr View Post
Building a 6.1 worlds kit (total newb). Maybe I'm reading too much into it, but there are 12 pistons included for the shocks and they are stamped with 1,2 and 3 in groups of 4. Now, in the instructions, it has a "#2" in the build directions, but doesn't say anything specific.

Wondering if I should use the set of 4 #2s for the shocks or the 1s or 3s or is there any difference in the pistons at all. And what a the extras for?

Thanks for your help.

JB
Use the number two that's what it calls for the larger the number the larger the hole you can measure them with calipers the extras are for tuning
rc car guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 07:12 PM   #9967
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Sammamish, WA
Posts: 185
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Smile

Thanks for the clarification Car Guy
boylrmakr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2014, 06:24 PM   #9968
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 1,454
Trader Rating: 83 (100%+)
Default

Can you guys help me out on a good place to start with a D3 13.5T motor for gearing on a tc6.1 with gear diffs front and rear? Running asphalt.
bigbeej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 09:32 PM   #9969
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Sammamish, WA
Posts: 185
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Problem with tc6.1 worlds ride height

Hi guys,

I have the above car (just built) and I cannot adjust the rear ride height high enough (to 5mm) If I remove the shocks, then there is plenty of ride height.

I have the shocks mounted in the lowest hole of the shock tower and it's still not good enough. In fact, it looks like I need another 1/8 of an inch. The front ride height is adjusted to 5mm and works fine, just can't figure out the rear issue.

I could unscrew the eyelet that screws to the bottom of the shock shaft and probably get the needed height, but 1/8" of threads is a lot.

Any ideas.

Thanks,

JB
boylrmakr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 02:52 AM   #9970
Tech Master
 
wtcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,225
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Not easy to spot the problem right away...
Did you build it like the manual recommends or did you use other parts?
Is your shock length around 62mm all around? Maybe there is false manufactured rod?
__________________
/// CAUTION: Rogue robot \\\
wtcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 05:11 AM   #9971
Tech Addict
 
rc car guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 647
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boylrmakr View Post
Hi guys,

I have the above car (just built) and I cannot adjust the rear ride height high enough (to 5mm) If I remove the shocks, then there is plenty of ride height.

I have the shocks mounted in the lowest hole of the shock tower and it's still not good enough. In fact, it looks like I need another 1/8 of an inch. The front ride height is adjusted to 5mm and works fine, just can't figure out the rear issue.

I could unscrew the eyelet that screws to the bottom of the shock shaft and probably get the needed height, but 1/8" of threads is a lot.

Any ideas.

Thanks,

JB
Another problem could be your springs are your running he stock ones? I also suggest making sure you do what the guy above posted
rc car guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 11:06 AM   #9972
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Sammamish, WA
Posts: 185
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wtcc View Post
Not easy to spot the problem right away...
Did you build it like the manual recommends or did you use other parts?
Is your shock length around 62mm all around? Maybe there is false manufactured rod?
Yes, the shocks are built the way that the kit manual recommends. All the shocks are around the 62mm and the rods were all the same length when I put them together. The shocks and springs are stock with the kit and look normal to me. What seems strange is that I can get the ride height correct on the front, but not the back. I could reverse the shock tower and that would give a lower hole, but then the spur gear would hit the tower. Baffled here.

Thanks for your help.

JB
boylrmakr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 11:10 AM   #9973
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 1,488
Trader Rating: 25 (96%+)
Default

did you try backing out the droop screws?
billdelong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 11:34 AM   #9974
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Sammamish, WA
Posts: 185
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by billdelong View Post
did you try backing out the droop screws?
Yes, the droop screws are fully backed out and not a factor.
boylrmakr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 11:46 AM   #9975
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 1,488
Trader Rating: 25 (96%+)
Default

how about posting a pic, should be easier for folks to see what you're doing with the setup.

Are you going pro-squat instead of anti-squat on the rear?
billdelong is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
THE TRACK RACEWAY Apex Mid Atlantic RC Racing 28964 09-01-2017 06:44 AM
Team Associated TC5 RCknight Electric On-Road 13254 05-12-2017 07:58 AM
Team Associated TC6 KostaG Electric On-Road 8 07-04-2010 11:42 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:25 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net