R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-07-2013, 02:29 PM   #9511
Tech Fanatic
 
nsgland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 799
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YoDog View Post
You may possibly be too narrow as well. Use the offset arm mounts or have about 2mm spacing if using the standard mounts.
Running offsets now. Thinking about switching from the spool to a gear diff. Wondering which way to go, Associated gear diff or a Spec-R. Any suggestions? Also I have some 500K diff fluid in my box. Would that be heavy enough?
__________________
NSG Racing
Tamiya TA05 V2
Futaba,Tekin,Savox,LRP,Exotek,Sorex,Alpha
CapeFearRaceway.com
nsgland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 02:48 PM   #9512
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 359
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

AE or Spec-R gear diff is similar in quality; AE is JUST SLIGHTLY better built. Some of the older Spec-R units have issues where the outdrives are too tight for the AE blades, but they can be filed down to fix that.

To be honest though, if you're thinking of changing to gear diff in an effort to reduce chatter, it may be counter-productive. As Rick pointed out, the chatter does not really affect the car under load and when the suspension is settled.

Changing from front spool to gear diff will also alter the handling characteristics (maybe what you're looking for, depending on where you run). Generally, gear diff in the front will give you more steering, but less power out of the turns. Spool yields the opposite results, so tune accordingly.

If the symptom you're describing with the CVA is more severe than just chatter, they may need to be rebuilt?

To help you make a more informed decision, it's also worth mentioning a new gear diff is almost the same cost as a set of DCJs.
silencery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 04:01 PM   #9513
Tech Master
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lompoc, Ca.
Posts: 1,603
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nsgland View Post
Running offsets now. Thinking about switching from the spool to a gear diff. Wondering which way to go, Associated gear diff or a Spec-R. Any suggestions? Also I have some 500K diff fluid in my box. Would that be heavy enough?
The AE diff is better than the Spec-r but I prefer the AE TC6 slipper spool.
500k will be ok but most use 1M to1.5M or silicone ear plugs.
__________________
R-Factor RC Products
AE- TC6.1WC, TC6.2, RSD6, B5M
CRC- GenX10 WGT & Pro10 Prototype, WTF1, Xti 1/12
R-Factor RC- TC4-R, P8 PanCar
Not as Fast as I want to be but too old to Whine about it... 8-)
YoDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 01:22 PM   #9514
Tech Initiate
 
alonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 42
Default

I'm new to TC's and have seen posts about "floating" your heaviest components. I've read posts about attaching the servo without using the mounts. Is that a viable method? I see that GRID makes a floating servo mount. This may be a silly question, but are there ways to float the motor mount?

Thanks,
Zo
alonzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 02:15 PM   #9515
Tech Master
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lompoc, Ca.
Posts: 1,603
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alonzo View Post
I'm new to TC's and have seen posts about "floating" your heaviest components. I've read posts about attaching the servo without using the mounts. Is that a viable method? I see that GRID makes a floating servo mount. This may be a silly question, but are there ways to float the motor mount?

Thanks,
Zo
The primary reason for "floating" is to have as many mounting points near the center line of the chassis. In the TC6.1, the motor mount is already quite close to the center line. The problem that "floating" solves is components that are mounted transversely can greatly influence the lateral flex of the chassis plate. So moving their mounting point closer to the center line will reduce their effects on the chassis. That's the theory anyway...
__________________
R-Factor RC Products
AE- TC6.1WC, TC6.2, RSD6, B5M
CRC- GenX10 WGT & Pro10 Prototype, WTF1, Xti 1/12
R-Factor RC- TC4-R, P8 PanCar
Not as Fast as I want to be but too old to Whine about it... 8-)
YoDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 06:38 PM   #9516
Tech Elite
 
Graham11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,010
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Hello guys,
Just bought a TC6.1 FT worlds, want to put a scale realistic body, do the Tamiya bodies fit?
__________________
Hot Bodies Racing - Team Pro-Line - Maxy's Fuel - LRP - Trinity
Hobby Hut - Trains N Lanes - Mushroom Bowl - LCRC
Graham11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 07:19 PM   #9517
Tech Regular
 
fresnojay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Clovis CA
Posts: 299
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

As long as the body is not an ifs body it will fit fine. I have a Tamiya R34 Skyline that is set to run at see point on my worlds car.

Jason
__________________
Tamiya TB-02, Tamiya M-05 V2 Pro, Tamiya TA-05, Tamiya F103,
fresnojay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 07:47 PM   #9518
Tech Master
 
vivo quevas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central, Ca.
Posts: 1,032
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

YoDog is moving and I wanted to say we are going to miss you you are a real racer and those guy's are so important to have racing with you. It has been a pleasure to race with you and hope to race with you in the future!Yodog your my Dog boy!
Quote:
Originally Posted by YoDog View Post
The primary reason for "floating" is to have as many mounting points near the center line of the chassis. In the TC6.1, the motor mount is already quite close to the center line. The problem that "floating" solves is components that are mounted transversely can greatly influence the lateral flex of the chassis plate. So moving their mounting point closer to the center line will reduce their effects on the chassis. That's the theory anyway...
__________________
Tamiya/Exotek EXO6 USGT, Tamiya TB03 GT3, Exotek FR1V2
Roche Rapid 1/12, XRay Speed Merchant WGT
http://localrcracing.freeforums.org/
HobbyTown Fresno, Ca. McAllister Racing, Visa/MasterCard's
"Take an early lead and extend it".(Fast Eddie Janis)
vivo quevas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 10:14 PM   #9519
Tech Fanatic
 
nsgland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 799
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Never mind
__________________
NSG Racing
Tamiya TA05 V2
Futaba,Tekin,Savox,LRP,Exotek,Sorex,Alpha
CapeFearRaceway.com

Last edited by nsgland; 08-14-2013 at 09:04 PM.
nsgland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2013, 08:48 AM   #9520
Tech Elite
 
Graham11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,010
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fresnojay View Post
As long as the body is not an ifs body it will fit fine. I have a Tamiya R34 Skyline that is set to run at see point on my worlds car.

Jason
Thanks! Any idea if I need to run a certain offset for Tamiya body? I was thinking no offset?
__________________
Hot Bodies Racing - Team Pro-Line - Maxy's Fuel - LRP - Trinity
Hobby Hut - Trains N Lanes - Mushroom Bowl - LCRC
Graham11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2013, 09:47 AM   #9521
Tech Master
 
vivo quevas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central, Ca.
Posts: 1,032
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham11 View Post
Thanks! Any idea if I need to run a certain offset for Tamiya body? I was thinking no offset?
190mm body needs no offset. Also if you buy RSD low profile shock mounts you can run any Tamiya scale bodies. I recomend tamiya or HPI Acura NSX it is the best handling GT body. The Honda HSV is a great body too!
__________________
Tamiya/Exotek EXO6 USGT, Tamiya TB03 GT3, Exotek FR1V2
Roche Rapid 1/12, XRay Speed Merchant WGT
http://localrcracing.freeforums.org/
HobbyTown Fresno, Ca. McAllister Racing, Visa/MasterCard's
"Take an early lead and extend it".(Fast Eddie Janis)
vivo quevas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2013, 09:58 AM   #9522
Tech Elite
 
Graham11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,010
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vivo quevas View Post
190mm body needs no offset. Also if you buy RSD low profile shock mounts you can run any Tamiya scale bodies. I recomend tamiya or HPI Acura NSX it is the best handling GT body. The Honda HSV is a great body too!
Hey I am new to on road and just playing around, ordering the Tamiya BMW M3 2009 GT2, i need different shock mounts to use this body? A previous post told me Tamiya body would fit.
__________________
Hot Bodies Racing - Team Pro-Line - Maxy's Fuel - LRP - Trinity
Hobby Hut - Trains N Lanes - Mushroom Bowl - LCRC
Graham11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2013, 10:30 AM   #9523
Tech Master
 
vivo quevas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central, Ca.
Posts: 1,032
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham11 View Post
Hey I am new to on road and just playing around, ordering the Tamiya BMW M3 2009 GT2, i need different shock mounts to use this body? A previous post told me Tamiya body would fit.
Yes that body will work it is at a touring car. No you can use stock setup for the shocks. I love gt racing I try to convert as many nubies I try to turn them on to gt racing.
__________________
Tamiya/Exotek EXO6 USGT, Tamiya TB03 GT3, Exotek FR1V2
Roche Rapid 1/12, XRay Speed Merchant WGT
http://localrcracing.freeforums.org/
HobbyTown Fresno, Ca. McAllister Racing, Visa/MasterCard's
"Take an early lead and extend it".(Fast Eddie Janis)
vivo quevas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2013, 10:49 AM   #9524
Tech Elite
 
Graham11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,010
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vivo quevas View Post
Yes that body will work it is at a touring car. No you can use stock setup for the shocks. I love gt racing I try to convert as many nubies I try to turn them on to gt racing.
Thanks man, thats awesome news. Yea I love the scale looks and realism of the class. i dont know if we have any racing near me in Philadelphia. I race off road short course (love the realistic truck look) and also eBuggy. This is my first on road car and from Ive read its one of the best and I love building so I had to get a kit, I cant believe how hard it is to find kits anymore. Thanks so much for the advice, I got HPI wheels and tires to go with the Tamiya body, get the kit tomorrow, very excited.
__________________
Hot Bodies Racing - Team Pro-Line - Maxy's Fuel - LRP - Trinity
Hobby Hut - Trains N Lanes - Mushroom Bowl - LCRC
Graham11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2013, 10:54 AM   #9525
Tech Elite
 
Graham11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,010
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vivo quevas View Post
Yes that body will work it is at a touring car. No you can use stock setup for the shocks. I love gt racing I try to convert as many nubies I try to turn them on to gt racing.
I got these tires, HPI 26mm Low Profile Super Radial Tire (Super Compound) I plan to just initially just whip her around the neighborhood streets and parking lots, are these good for that ? I didnt know if "drift" tires would mean zero traction or if they allow you to drive normal and do a nice power slide when you choose?
__________________
Hot Bodies Racing - Team Pro-Line - Maxy's Fuel - LRP - Trinity
Hobby Hut - Trains N Lanes - Mushroom Bowl - LCRC
Graham11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Associated TC5 RCknight Electric On-Road 13249 01-14-2017 07:34 AM
THE TRACK RACEWAY Apex Mid Atlantic RC Racing 28937 01-14-2017 07:26 AM
Team Associated TC6 KostaG Electric On-Road 8 07-04-2010 12:42 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:51 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0