R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-12-2013, 01:04 PM   #9166
Tech Master
 
J_Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,069
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone had an issue with the chassis tweaked?
I have mine setup so it will coast (off throttle) strait, but as soon as I get on the throttle it goes to the right.
With my weight bias it perfect from left to right, I went to setup my ride height and I also noticed the Left front shock and the Right rear shock needed more spring preload to give me equal ride height. So that leads me to believe something isn't aligning up.

I've checked shock length and they are even as well.

Has there been any parts that aren't machined incorrectly out of anyone's kit?
The first pictures is showing I used two screws to attach the top plate, and the second picture shows how the holes are out of alignment for all four holes.
Attached Thumbnails
Team Associated TC6 Thread-img_20130512_130110_360.jpg   Team Associated TC6 Thread-img_20130512_130034_317.jpg  
J_Bone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 01:16 PM   #9167
Tech Addict
 
Team Grid RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 631
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Try moving bottom screws an area at a time to see what made your tweak. ie. servo mounts, motor mount. Anything can cause it. Is your chassis perfectly flat?

You should also float your servo and lipo, because under throttle, the chassis will flex and you need to allow for that natural flex.
__________________
www.GridRC.com
Team Grid RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 01:28 PM   #9168
Tech Master
 
J_Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,069
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Team Grid RC View Post
Try moving bottom screws an area at a time to see what made your tweak. ie. servo mounts, motor mount. Anything can cause it. Is your chassis perfectly flat?

You should also float your servo and lipo, because under throttle, the chassis will flex and you need to allow for that natural flex.
I float my battery with a thin strip of servo tape on the front and rear of the battery. The servo, I'm using the stock blue servo mounts, but I do have a small gap (piece of paper will just fit) between servo and chassis. Is there something I'm missing on the servo?
J_Bone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 02:15 PM   #9169
Tech Regular
 
blwaz23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 271
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by waswadener View Post
For the money, the following are hard to beat:
--- Turnigy 1251TG low profile servo: Costs $27 new plus shipping. Digital, coreless, metal gear, dual ball bearing and fast. Works as well as my similar (but five times more expensive) Futaba servos.
---HobbyWing Justock ESC: Costs $52 new plus shipping. Work perfectly, are adjustable. Both ROAR and USVTA legal. Are as fast as any other ESC on the market (e.g. the Tekins I used to run). The only reason to consider "more" ESC than a Justock is if one wanted to run a very low turn Mod motor or run boost.

Bill S.
I heard of the HobbyWing and I am going to purchase it and I will lok into the Turingy servo. Thank you.
blwaz23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 02:42 PM   #9170
Tech Addict
 
Team Grid RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 631
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J_Bone View Post
I float my battery with a thin strip of servo tape on the front and rear of the battery. The servo, I'm using the stock blue servo mounts, but I do have a small gap (piece of paper will just fit) between servo and chassis. Is there something I'm missing on the servo?
Proper location of the tape for the Lipo will float it, but using in on the front and rear will float the Lipo but not allow the chassis to flex. The Lipo to keep all of its weight on the chassis at all times preventing it from flexing.

The front and rear tape should be half the width of the Lipo, and the center strip to be the full width to support the Lipo and the flexing is at the front and back of the Lipo.

Team GRID Touring Car Performance Upgrades and Tools

The two servo mounts will prevent the area underneath the servo from flexing naturally as well. Either get a floating servo mount or remove one of the mounts and use black servo tape under the servo so it will allow the chassis below it to flex.
__________________
www.GridRC.com
Team Grid RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 02:49 PM   #9171
Tech Addict
 
95lscoupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Pennsyltucky
Posts: 634
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J_Bone View Post
Has anyone had an issue with the chassis tweaked?
I have mine setup so it will coast (off throttle) strait, but as soon as I get on the throttle it goes to the right.
With my weight bias it perfect from left to right, I went to setup my ride height and I also noticed the Left front shock and the Right rear shock needed more spring preload to give me equal ride height. So that leads me to believe something isn't aligning up.

I've checked shock length and they are even as well.

Has there been any parts that aren't machined incorrectly out of anyone's kit?
The first pictures is showing I used two screws to attach the top plate, and the second picture shows how the holes are out of alignment for all four holes.

Loosen up all of the screws for the bulk heads give the chassis a few twists with a bit of force but not a super man twist and tighten the bulkhead screws up in a criss cross patten.


Then to remove tweak take your wheels off and put the car chassis flat on your setup board and loosen up all of your top deck screws and have somebody push down on the shock towers while you tighten your top deck screws in a criss cross pattern. Ive had my 6.1 tweak many times and stray under throttle and this has cured it every time.
__________________
Matthew Abey

Awesomatix USA/Speedzone USA
LRP/Futaba/Middle River Russian Mafia
Awesomatixusa.com/Speedzoneusa.com
95lscoupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 04:27 PM   #9172
Tech Regular
 
blwaz23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 271
Default

Does anyone run a HobbyWing just stock?
blwaz23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 05:14 PM   #9173
Tech Master
 
vivo quevas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central, Ca.
Posts: 1,148
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blwaz23 View Post
Does anyone run a HobbyWing just stock?
I race a HW just stock in my 17.5 car. I like it a lot it is smooth easy to program. I recomend it all the time many racers but they are reluctant too use it because it modest price they think it can't be that good of esc compared to the more sexy models out there. Our LHS started selling them at my insistance but they haven't sold that many yet. I have a LRP SXX V2 I would rather run the JUSTSTOCK esc.
__________________
Awesomatix A800 USGT, Awesomatix 800 VTA, , Tamiya Euro Truck, CRC WTF1

http://localrcracing.freeforums.org/
HobbyTown Fresno, Ca. McAllister Racing, Visa/MasterCard's
vivo quevas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 05:28 PM   #9174
Tech Regular
 
blwaz23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 271
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vivo quevas View Post
I race a HW just stock in my 17.5 car. I like it a lot it is smooth easy to program. I recomend it all the time many racers but they are reluctant too use it because it modest price they think it can't be that good of esc compared to the more sexy models out there. Our LHS started selling them at my insistance but they haven't sold that many yet. I have a LRP SXX V2 I would rather run the JUSTSTOCK esc.
Thanks
blwaz23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 05:29 PM   #9175
Tech Regular
 
blwaz23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 271
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vivo quevas View Post
I race a HW just stock in my 17.5 car. I like it a lot it is smooth easy to program. I recomend it all the time many racers but they are reluctant too use it because it modest price they think it can't be that good of esc compared to the more sexy models out there. Our LHS started selling them at my insistance but they haven't sold that many yet. I have a LRP SXX V2 I would rather run the JUSTSTOCK esc.
Also if you dont mind me asking what kind of servo do you use?
blwaz23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 05:31 PM   #9176
Tech Elite
 
CristianTabush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,805
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I agree, the HW Justock is a fantastic ESC. I actually have one in one of my blinky TC6's and sometimes I feel like I may like it more than my V3's for blinky racing.

They have great punch and awesome brakes.
__________________
REFLEX RACING/ RSD/ GIZMO RACING USA/ HOBBYWING/ AXON/ QTEQ/ TEAM PRIME
CristianTabush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 09:22 PM   #9177
Tech Master
 
vivo quevas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central, Ca.
Posts: 1,148
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blwaz23 View Post
Also if you dont mind me asking what kind of servo do you use?
I use a Savox 1252 with spectrum Dx3r radio 3100 receiver
__________________
Awesomatix A800 USGT, Awesomatix 800 VTA, , Tamiya Euro Truck, CRC WTF1

http://localrcracing.freeforums.org/
HobbyTown Fresno, Ca. McAllister Racing, Visa/MasterCard's
vivo quevas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 01:38 AM   #9178
Tech Fanatic
 
Typeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Fresno,Ca
Posts: 781
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Which Reflex Racing RSD pistons should I run on a medium traction track?
Typeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 06:12 AM   #9179
Tech Master
 
vivo quevas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central, Ca.
Posts: 1,148
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Typeone View Post
Which Reflex Racing RSD pistons should I run on a medium traction track?
I use the 3 hole 1.1 mm. I like the RSD bladders! I would like to try the 4 hole pistons soon!
__________________
Awesomatix A800 USGT, Awesomatix 800 VTA, , Tamiya Euro Truck, CRC WTF1

http://localrcracing.freeforums.org/
HobbyTown Fresno, Ca. McAllister Racing, Visa/MasterCard's
vivo quevas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 09:15 AM   #9180
Tech Fanatic
 
Typeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Fresno,Ca
Posts: 781
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Yeah I ordered the bladders and o-rings from them I just didn't know if I should run the stock pistons or run a 3 hole thanks ill have to order them. How do the pistons feel? Also this question is for Cristian Tabush at Reflex or if anybody knows where I can get there RSD suspension lock blocks. I see that there in the tuning kit but not sold separately and what's the advantage vs stock suspension blocks. Thanks.
Typeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
THE TRACK RACEWAY Apex Mid Atlantic RC Racing 28964 09-01-2017 06:44 AM
Team Associated TC5 RCknight Electric On-Road 13254 05-12-2017 07:58 AM
Team Associated TC6 KostaG Electric On-Road 8 07-04-2010 11:42 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:56 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net