R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-11-2013, 06:53 PM   #8926
Tech Adept
 
LEM C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Seatown
Posts: 217
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChadB. View Post
I had some disappointment this last weekend with my 6.1 WE. Every single run that I did, I always came back in with at least one busted blade. I used up about every single blade I had in my box and wasn't sure if I was going to get through the entire weekend, then I would need to replace the outdrives on the spool because they would torn up as well. Does anyone else have these same problems I have? I have not had these issues with other older cars that I had which why I have some concerns.
Stock no problem. In mod you'll go thru those blades and outdrives every run. Go with the AE slipper spool.
__________________
RC Cars-Lipos-ESC-Brushless Motors-Surface Radio-Carpet Track-Asphalt Track
LEM C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 06:59 PM   #8927
Tech Master
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lompoc, Ca.
Posts: 1,659
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shan74 View Post
hi
having my 6.1 camberlink position v3 front and back has very little thread in the ballcups ,as it the longest setting for the camberlinks .is there a upgrade camberlink (longer)available .i heard someone at the track say that you can use the tc6 camberlinks as they are a bit longer .any help appreciated .
shan
Just measure the tie rod and order a longer set. Associated makes many different lengths and they are labeled as such. I bought like 3 different lengths to accommodate different setup scenarios.
YoDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 07:01 PM   #8928
Tech Master
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lompoc, Ca.
Posts: 1,659
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LEM C View Post
Stock no problem. You'll go thru those blades and outdrives every run. Go with the AE slipper spool.
I can honestly say that I have never, ever broken a blade on either of my TC6.1 cars. is it possible that you are running the car too narrow? This can bind the drive shafts thus causing premature failure.
YoDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 07:12 PM   #8929
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YoDog View Post
I can honestly say that I have never, ever broken a blade on either of my TC6.1 cars. is it possible that you are running the car too narrow? This can bind the drive shafts thus causing premature failure.
I have never broken a blade either. Maybe a bad setup?
Night is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 08:05 PM   #8930
Tech Elite
 
CristianTabush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,817
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Chad, have you tried our outdrives? They don't go through blades as much because the blade is not captured inside the outdrive like the stock units. We are out of stock until the end of the month, but they are much better than the stock units. Plus they last a very long time.
__________________
REFLEX RACING/ RSD/ GIZMO RACING USA/ HOBBYWING/ AXON/ QTEQ/ TEAM PRIME
CristianTabush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 08:06 PM   #8931
Tech Elite
 
CristianTabush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,817
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

The blades break when you run with tracks with hard barriers, especially carpet tracks. This is not uncommon.
__________________
REFLEX RACING/ RSD/ GIZMO RACING USA/ HOBBYWING/ AXON/ QTEQ/ TEAM PRIME
CristianTabush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 08:09 PM   #8932
Tech Elite
 
gearhead_22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Philly
Posts: 2,544
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to gearhead_22
Default

tc6 and jeff cuff @ horsham rc
+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.
__________________
serpent 977WC-novarossi-748TQ
serpent S120 LTR-S411 4X-F110 fs2
serpent America/Ashford Hobby/skyrocket racing
Juwan Hunter http://rccarworld.com/............ serpent.com
Track director at RCCW.
gearhead_22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 08:12 PM   #8933
Tech Master
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lompoc, Ca.
Posts: 1,659
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CristianTabush View Post
The blades break when you run with tracks with hard barriers, especially carpet tracks. This is not uncommon.
Cristian, did you get my email about your short ball studs?
Is there a better way to reach you? Phone maybe?

Thanks
YoDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 08:17 PM   #8934
Tech Elite
 
CristianTabush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,817
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

So sorry Rick, yes I did. Just getting ready to go on a family trip and totally dropped the ball. I'll set you up with something in a bit.
__________________
REFLEX RACING/ RSD/ GIZMO RACING USA/ HOBBYWING/ AXON/ QTEQ/ TEAM PRIME
CristianTabush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 08:29 PM   #8935
Tech Master
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lompoc, Ca.
Posts: 1,659
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CristianTabush View Post
So sorry Rick, yes I did. Just getting ready to go on a family trip and totally dropped the ball. I'll set you up with something in a bit.
Ok cool,
Have a great trip!

Are you going to Denver next month?
YoDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 08:32 PM   #8936
Tech Master
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lompoc, Ca.
Posts: 1,659
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

The first batch of servo saver cams are heading to the anodizer!
I got the fixturing figured out so I will be able to make more without much delay.
I'm a happy camper now!
The aluminum cam only weighs about 1 gram more than the plastic part. Just in case you were wondering.

Look! still got all my fingers
Attached Thumbnails
Team Associated TC6 Thread-20130311_202402-comp.jpg   Team Associated TC6 Thread-20130311_202421-comp.jpg   Team Associated TC6 Thread-20130311_202611-comp.jpg  

Last edited by YoDog; 03-11-2013 at 08:53 PM.
YoDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 09:00 PM   #8937
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YoDog View Post
The first batch of servo saver cams are heading to the anodizer!
I got the fixturing figured out so I will be able to make more without much delay.
I'm a happy camper now!
The aluminum cam only weighs about 1 gram more than the plastic part. Just in case you were wondering.

Look! still got all my fingers
Ready to place an order for one of these! After a few wrecks over the weekend it already cost me a servo... any idea on price yet?
bmannokc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 09:11 PM   #8938
Tech Master
 
ChadB.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Hillsboro,OR
Posts: 1,307
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LEM C View Post
Stock no problem. In mod you'll go thru those blades and outdrives every run. Go with the AE slipper spool.
I was running Mod at our Regional race on Carpet. There were a few tight sections where I kept tapping the boards, but never broke a major part like an arm and such. I have had the slipper spool when I had the TC5 and never liked it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Night View Post
I have never broken a blade either. Maybe a bad setup?
I currently have the offset blocks on the front plus 1 mill shims too. The axles up front shouldn't be touching at all to cause any binding.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CristianTabush View Post
Chad, have you tried our outdrives? They don't go through blades as much because the blade is not captured inside the outdrive like the stock units. We are out of stock until the end of the month, but they are much better than the stock units. Plus they last a very long time.
Hey Christian, no I haven't tried your outdrives, but it sounds like I need too. I wouldn't be surprised if that cured it, your products are always top notch. I will have to buy them when get them in stock.
__________________
Chad Burdick
*Mugen Seiki*Flashpoint Racing Products*9th Annual Timezone Grand Prix July 13th-16th 2017*Unique Air Design*TimezoneRacing*RoseCityScaleRacers* Daves RC Track
ChadB. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 11:22 PM   #8939
Tech Master
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lompoc, Ca.
Posts: 1,659
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmannokc View Post
Ready to place an order for one of these! After a few wrecks over the weekend it already cost me a servo... any idea on price yet?
Stop hittin stuff...lol

Joking aside, the cams will be $13 each shipped but only $10 when purchased with the V2 servo mount. That would be $30 shipped total. I am working on getting some low profile ball studs to include but for now, you will have to use the stock low profile ball and grind off about 2mm of thread. This is to give clearance between the cam and the top deck.
Stay tuned for some new upgrades I have in the works. Once the prototypes have been tested, I'll spill the beans.
YoDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 04:03 AM   #8940
Tech Initiate
 
20967's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Novara (Italy)
Posts: 38
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by geeunit1014 View Post
Aluminum/titanium screws can cut ~20g. Make sure your wires (power wires & servo wires) are as short as possible, this can be 10-20g if your wires are long. Make sure you have a light weight body, in protoform bodies the LW versions are about 20g lighter, and your car drives better too
Quote:
Originally Posted by jha07 View Post
My TC6.1 is under the 1380 gram roar limit. I had to add 14g to get it over 1380g. I'm running a light weight body and a tekin rs pro. Everything else on my car is pretty normal. I even have a heatsink and 2 fans.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CristianTabush View Post
The TC6.1 is a heavy car. A lot of it has to do with the construction of the A Arms and suspension blocks. It will be very hard to get it down to 1350, but aside from the Screws and body, 13AWG wire is more than enough for your 13.5 motor and will drop some grams.

We sell aluminum Ball ends for the TC6 which are lighter than what AE offers and can add up to 5-10G of weight savings too.

Lastly, I remove the upper plastic bumper brace on my cars and use a CF brace from Tamiya or some washers to hold the Foam bumper in place. While this puts the front end of the chassis at a bit of a risk, it does shave about 8G.



All in all I have gotten my RSD6 to about 1355-1360G Ready to Race with a 4.5 Motor (heavier than stock). It's not easy, but it's doable.

Thks at all, I'm working to reduce the weight with your tips.
20967 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
THE TRACK RACEWAY Apex Mid Atlantic RC Racing 28975 10-20-2017 10:40 AM
Team Associated TC5 RCknight Electric On-Road 13254 05-12-2017 07:58 AM
Team Associated TC6 KostaG Electric On-Road 8 07-04-2010 11:42 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:25 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net