R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-05-2013, 06:04 PM   #8881
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 382
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YoDog View Post
Hey Guys, just following up... How's the servo mounts working out for those of you who bought them from me? Any questions or suggestions?

I will have the V2 model coming very soon! I will post pics as soon as the blocks are tapped.
mine hasn't arrived yet, but like everything shipped to New Zealand, takes 10 days if you are lucky

ed
Edwin Pibal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 06:13 PM   #8882
Tech Master
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lompoc, Ca.
Posts: 1,659
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edwin Pibal View Post
mine hasn't arrived yet, but like everything shipped to New Zealand, takes 10 days if you are lucky

ed
Sorry to hear that Ed.
Hopefully it arrives soon.
YoDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 06:29 PM   #8883
Tech Master
 
vivo quevas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central, Ca.
Posts: 1,149
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edwin Pibal View Post
mine hasn't arrived yet, but like everything shipped to New Zealand, takes 10 days if you are lucky

ed
I have one they work great it is a straight forward install. remove old servo mount you will need to use one of those mounts on your new mount. Remove the top plate., unscrew the screw that holds the ackerman mount together and replace the screw with a ball. Then you just install your servo to the mount using one of the stock mounts attach it to the carbon fiber plate> Set the steering rod center your servo saver on your servo and your set. Make sure you install a quality servo saver on your servo. The stock servo saver will not work to protect your servo anymore!
E/W servo mount will give you a more direct feel in your steering.
Good luck enjoy!
__________________
Awesomatix A800 USGT, Awesomatix 800 VTA, , Tamiya Euro Truck, CRC WTF1

http://localrcracing.freeforums.org/
HobbyTown Fresno, Ca. McAllister Racing, Visa/MasterCard's
vivo quevas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 08:58 PM   #8884
Tech Master
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lompoc, Ca.
Posts: 1,659
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vivo quevas View Post
I have one they work great it is a straight forward install. remove old servo mount you will need to use one of those mounts on your new mount. Remove the top plate., unscrew the screw that holds the ackerman mount together and replace the screw with a ball. Then you just install your servo to the mount using one of the stock mounts attach it to the carbon fiber plate> Set the steering rod center your servo saver on your servo and your set. Make sure you install a quality servo saver on your servo. The stock servo saver will not work to protect your servo anymore!
E/W servo mount will give you a more direct feel in your steering.
Good luck enjoy!
Thanks Brian... I should also point out that there is plenty of wiggle room to get the servo in just the right spot within the mount. The servo saver is something I forgot to mention since I wasn't using one myself. Now you have forced my hand on something new I have been working on. Here are some pics if the V2 mount (yet to be anodized).
Notice the carbon part hangs over the block. The new plate incorporates a battery stay built in which is high in the chassis, keeping the battery from touching both the belt and the steering assembly. I would suggest moving the stock battery stay to the rear-most mounting location so that you will have even support. These will be available in 20.5mm and 21mm heights to accommodate wider servos.
Ok, now for something I have been working on to solve the "disabled servo saver" situation when linking directly to the Ackerman location.
I still need to figure out how to make these in a high enough volume to justify a reasonable price. This will replace the stock servo saver cam and moves the ball stud 90 degrees as to be in line with the new servo orientation.
Attached Thumbnails
Team Associated TC6 Thread-20130305_195705-comp.jpg   Team Associated TC6 Thread-20130305_200258-comp.jpg   Team Associated TC6 Thread-20130305_200358-comp.jpg   Team Associated TC6 Thread-20130305_202118-comp.jpg   Team Associated TC6 Thread-20130305_202526-comp.jpg  

YoDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 11:15 PM   #8885
Tech Master
 
wtcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,225
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YoDog View Post
Ok, now for something I have been working on to solve the "disabled servo saver" situation when linking directly to the Ackerman location.
I still need to figure out how to make these in a high enough volume to justify a reasonable price. This will replace the stock servo saver cam and moves the ball stud 90 degrees as to be in line with the new servo orientation.
I am in for two of those!
__________________
/// CAUTION: Rogue robot \\\
wtcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 12:24 AM   #8886
Tech Regular
 
Crashmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincs, England
Posts: 363
Default

Hi guys,

Ran my TC6.1 for the first time at the weekend and have to say drove really well!

One of the things I've noticed is alot of play in the suspension hubs and one of the guys at the track suggested people tend to run TC6 hubs to reduce the play.

Do any of you guys do this and in which case can you run the TC6.1 steering hubs in the TC6 caster blocks?

THanks for the help
Dan
Crashmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 01:19 AM   #8887
Tech Master
 
trigger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,036
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

delete
trigger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 01:47 AM   #8888
Tech Adept
 
SlideMasteR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 173
Default

yes the TC6 hubs will fit but only if you still running the stock kit CVD's, the hubs will reduce the slop but you can also fit a grub screw in the bottom of the TC6.1 C hub's, that will in turn remove the play between the pin & hub inserts, greatly reducing the slop
__________________
Xray T4 15' - Hobbywing V3.1 ESC - Reedy Modified Motors - Thunder Power Batteries - Protoform - Much More
SlideMasteR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 02:01 AM   #8889
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 382
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YoDog View Post
Sorry to hear that Ed.
Hopefully it arrives soon.
it will 8)

i have no probelms with the wait, its what happends when you are on the ass of the world 8)

the v2 looks pretty dang good dude!

ed
Edwin Pibal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 04:38 AM   #8890
Tech Initiate
 
20967's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Novara (Italy)
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YoDog View Post
Thanks Brian... I should also point out that there is plenty of wiggle room to get the servo in just the right spot within the mount. The servo saver is something I forgot to mention since I wasn't using one myself. Now you have forced my hand on something new I have been working on. Here are some pics if the V2 mount (yet to be anodized).
Notice the carbon part hangs over the block. The new plate incorporates a battery stay built in which is high in the chassis, keeping the battery from touching both the belt and the steering assembly. I would suggest moving the stock battery stay to the rear-most mounting location so that you will have even support. These will be available in 20.5mm and 21mm heights to accommodate wider servos.
Ok, now for something I have been working on to solve the "disabled servo saver" situation when linking directly to the Ackerman location.
I still need to figure out how to make these in a high enough volume to justify a reasonable price. This will replace the stock servo saver cam and moves the ball stud 90 degrees as to be in line with the new servo orientation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by wtcc View Post
I am in for two of those!

If for the servo mount is not necessary to drill the chassis me too for 1/2 pieces.
Enrico
20967 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 04:58 AM   #8891
Tech Initiate
 
20967's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Novara (Italy)
Posts: 38
Default

I have e new question about the droop regarding TC6.1 WC my new car.
I use actually the old TC6 and for measure the droop nothing problem for me. In the TC 6.1 and in WC front and rear arms are bigger respect TC6. I am not sure about the correct position to mesure the droop in the new arms readind this to pag. 27 " The standard settings of 6mm front and 5mm rear will work best in most cases. Droop is measured just underneath the outer hinge pin as shown in the photos to the right."
In the foto the measure is under the arm but not under the hinge pin........
Can help me?
Enrico
20967 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 07:56 AM   #8892
Tech Master
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lompoc, Ca.
Posts: 1,659
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Enrico, my servo mount is a direct fit for all TC6 based chassis except for the Exotek and the CSO chassis as far as I know. The Associated and Reflex chassis do not require any drilling. Please pm me to place an order.
YoDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 08:01 AM   #8893
Tech Master
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lompoc, Ca.
Posts: 1,659
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20967 View Post
I have e new question about the droop regarding TC6.1 WC my new car.
I use actually the old TC6 and for measure the droop nothing problem for me. In the TC 6.1 and in WC front and rear arms are bigger respect TC6. I am not sure about the correct position to mesure the droop in the new arms readind this to pag. 27 " The standard settings of 6mm front and 5mm rear will work best in most cases. Droop is measured just underneath the outer hinge pin as shown in the photos to the right."
In the foto the measure is under the arm but not under the hinge pin........
Can help me?
Enrico
I find that using a measurement tool is only useful for the initial setup so that all arms are at equal droop settings. I will then prefer to measure from ride height as I feel this is more reliable in terms of a real adjustment as it is based on how the car sits under driving conditions. So just pick a common spot on the arm and make them equal to start. You can bias the setting a mm or two from front to rear if you choose.
YoDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 09:18 AM   #8894
Tech Regular
 
Jscott54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Austin,Tx
Posts: 296
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Cuffs View Post
Cool looks good.
Thank you
__________________
Josh Scott


FTW-For The Win RC Bodies, Paint by RJ, Venom Batteries, Atomik Rc, Mr.Sign Graphics, Agama, Hobby-Pro USA, Beta tires
Jscott54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 03:59 PM   #8895
Tech Fanatic
 
The Captain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 953
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I tried installing the center ballast weights but the belt rubs. Suggestions?
__________________
-Derrick-
"Yeah, well, thats just like your opinion, man."
The Captain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
THE TRACK RACEWAY Apex Mid Atlantic RC Racing 28964 09-01-2017 06:44 AM
Team Associated TC5 RCknight Electric On-Road 13254 05-12-2017 07:58 AM
Team Associated TC6 KostaG Electric On-Road 8 07-04-2010 11:42 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:30 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net