R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-28-2012, 12:32 AM   #8446
Tech Elite
 
kewdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sneederville, USA
Posts: 3,295
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmannokc View Post
Nice servo mount! Definitely interested.
__________________
Quinn Moon

Trinity / Epic / Revtech / VBC Racing USA / Mugen Seiki / Hot Race Tyres / SkyRocket Racing / SUPAFAST RC
kewdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 12:33 AM   #8447
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Central Washington State
Posts: 131
Default

I would definitely take one! Excellent design!
__________________
HPI Sprint 2 Flux - GPM and OEM hop ups
AE RC10TC6.1FT - partial WC conversion, RSD hop ups
3Racing FGX - IFS, OEM Aluminum, Exotek hop ups
Vostok 7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 04:10 AM   #8448
Tech Champion
 
Kwikvdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 5,967
Trader Rating: 91 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Kwikvdub
Thumbs up

__________________
Alex Valdes

TQRacing / 360 v2 RC Raceway / Team Downgrade Designs
Kwikvdub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 11:11 AM   #8449
Tech Adept
 
Terra Rover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: St. Catharines, Ontario
Posts: 103
Default

Very Interested
__________________
Steven "GUNZ" Taylor

Tekno SCT410.3, Team Associated RC10B5M, Airtronics MT-4
Terra Rover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 11:25 AM   #8450
Tech Master
 
Mr.juarez's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,280
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Rick I know you and I have the same reflex chasis anyway this new arm you made would work for me? If so bring one tomorrow and ill pay you there at the track.
__________________
TRF-417, KYOSHO SCR-SP
Mr.juarez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 01:30 PM   #8451
Tech Rookie
 
rclife66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 15
Default Spec-r swingshafts for Yokomo BD5

Hi Guys. I presently have a TC6. Anyone know if the Spec-R swingshafts (ecs) for the yokomo BD5 will fit the TC6? Or is it the TC6.1 only? Please, somebody help me out here.
rclife66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 06:07 PM   #8452
Tech Regular
 
TeamGoodwrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Cottage Grove, WI
Posts: 400
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default TC6.1 graphite chassis plate prep ?

Hi --

I've been building pan cars for 20 years. Every one of them we always sand and then CA all edges of graphite parts.

In the TC6.1 manual, I don't see any mention of any chassis prep. Are you guys doing anything with it ? Or just take it out of the bag and start bolting stuff to it ?

Thanks !
__________________
LEFTHANDER R/C www.lefthander-rc.com

"I've got 4 on the floor and a fifth under the seat"
TeamGoodwrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 08:36 PM   #8453
Tech Adept
 
Terra Rover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: St. Catharines, Ontario
Posts: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamGoodwrench View Post
Hi --

I've been building pan cars for 20 years. Every one of them we always sand and then CA all edges of graphite parts.

In the TC6.1 manual, I don't see any mention of any chassis prep. Are you guys doing anything with it ? Or just take it out of the bag and start bolting stuff to it ?

Thanks !
I emailed AE about this and they said
"Sanding and gluing the carbon parts on your car will prevent the carbon fiber from splintering and it will get rid of the sharp edges too. I would recommend doing it but, it is not needed."

I hope this helps.
__________________
Steven "GUNZ" Taylor

Tekno SCT410.3, Team Associated RC10B5M, Airtronics MT-4
Terra Rover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 09:04 PM   #8454
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 178
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Hi guys
Ive had my tc6.1 for a little while and loving it.
I recently ordered a avid rc tc6.1 bearing kit. I found that the wheel bearings do not fit in my knuckles or rear hubs. The supplied bearings are simply to wide compared to standard and the center of the bearing is to thin for the end half of the uni to go thru all the way.
I have contacted avid will see what they say.
Any one else had this problem?
In the picture u an see the bearing on top (AVID RC) bottom os standard bearing.
Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Team Associated TC6 Thread-image.jpg  
__________________
"No matter if you win by a inch or a mile, winnings winning".
AleD123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 09:41 PM   #8455
Tech Elite
 
CristianTabush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,805
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

It seems as you have a TC6 and not a TC6.1. The tc6 uses 6x10x3 bearings ( the ones that fit in your image) and the tc6.1 uses 5x10x4.
__________________
REFLEX RACING/ RSD/ GIZMO RACING USA/ HOBBYWING/ AXON/ QTEQ/ TEAM PRIME
CristianTabush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 09:47 PM   #8456
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 178
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Hey
The car has the tc6.1 upgrades but this is the first time i have changed te bearings . Is that that the unis are tc6? How can i make these fit
Thankyou
The car has .1 roll bars .1 front knuckles .1 c hubs .1 front and rear arms .1 rear hubs
Ill just buy some 6x10x3 seems to be the easiest thing to do right now
thankyou
__________________
"No matter if you win by a inch or a mile, winnings winning".

Last edited by AleD123; 12-28-2012 at 10:29 PM.
AleD123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 11:36 PM   #8457
Tech Master
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lompoc, Ca.
Posts: 1,659
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.juarez View Post
Rick I know you and I have the same reflex chasis anyway this new arm you made would work for me? If so bring one tomorrow and ill pay you there at the track.
This mount is only for the stock chassis. At this point, I only have the prototype on my 6.1 for testing this weekend... Weather permitting. It looks like there is a fair amount of interest here so I will try to get a few more prototypes done next week then work on the production pieces shortly after.
YoDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 11:43 PM   #8458
Tech Master
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lompoc, Ca.
Posts: 1,659
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamGoodwrench View Post
Hi --

I've been building pan cars for 20 years. Every one of them we always sand and then CA all edges of graphite parts.

In the TC6.1 manual, I don't see any mention of any chassis prep. Are you guys doing anything with it ? Or just take it out of the bag and start bolting stuff to it ?

Thanks !
This technique comes primarily from carpet racing and is typically the norm with pan car manufacturers as they are usually run by avid racers but it is always a good idea to dress the edges of the carbon for several reasons.
It's not quite as important to pavement racers to do this but many still do as a part of their build process, myself included.
YoDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 12:11 AM   #8459
Tech Regular
 
KC10Chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 298
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I didn't do anything to the edges of my chassis on my car and I'm racing on carpet. I wasn't aware that people did this to their chassis until after I had put the car together. Didn't feel like taking it apart just for that. I have a new chassis coming from Reflex Racing. I'll CA the edges when I get it and then do my old one as well. But I've been racing it all winter and while I'm pretty good about staying off the rails and away from other cars, I've still had a few hard hits. No damage at all.
KC10Chief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 12:26 AM   #8460
Tech Master
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lompoc, Ca.
Posts: 1,659
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KC10Chief View Post
I didn't do anything to the edges of my chassis on my car and I'm racing on carpet. I wasn't aware that people did this to their chassis until after I had put the car together. Didn't feel like taking it apart just for that. I have a new chassis coming from Reflex Racing. I'll CA the edges when I get it and then do my old one as well. But I've been racing it all winter and while I'm pretty good about staying off the rails and away from other cars, I've still had a few hard hits. No damage at all.
The bonding really helps to prevent splintering and catching the carpet which is bad for both the car and carpet. It just a good preventative action. It's also nice to have the edges nice and smooth as a fine detail.
YoDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
THE TRACK RACEWAY Apex Mid Atlantic RC Racing 28964 09-01-2017 06:44 AM
Team Associated TC5 RCknight Electric On-Road 13254 05-12-2017 07:58 AM
Team Associated TC6 KostaG Electric On-Road 8 07-04-2010 11:42 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:33 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net