R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-20-2012, 02:46 AM   #8086
Tech Master
 
Shev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Queensland
Posts: 1,088
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Here's my TC6.1 WC. I haven't ran Associated for a few years now. We just ran the Australian Titles EP Onroad and I thought I would try the associated for the job. I had a few problems with the car when I first built it, but associated have agreed to help me with replacement parts. The shocks were the main issue (I was asking questions earlier in the thread). The shafts were not lathed properly. Here's the pic...



I ran the car in stock, which in Australia this time was 17.5 boosted. I live in Queensland and we normally run blinky 17.5, so the boosted idea was a bit new. My shock replacements haven't come yet, so I fitted some TRF shocks with 30wt oil and HPI silver springs (sometimes tamiya white, depending on the weather!)

I had absolutely no practice with the car, so I had 4 qualifiers to try and do the best I could. We just had a crap load of thunderstorms come through the track, so the weather and track conditions were changing continiously. I ended up qualifying 6th in Australia, but knew I could have done better if I had more time, or if I was able to make the practice days! I felt confident with a 4th or better.

I added a few RSD parts to the car. I must admit that I was sceptical about the battery hold downs, but they didn't fail on me all weekend. I added a little bit of foam on the underside of the battery to avoid chassis tweak. I'm very happy with them, and they're easy to use.

The RSD fan mount... I can't recommend enough. It's awesome! depending on motor position, just put washes under the fan mount to move it slightly away from the motor if you have a small pinion and spur. I had no washes under mine and the button head screw holding it in was about 1mm away from the motor using an 80/26 combo.

I also changed the servo position by using an ARC R10 floating servo mount. I couldn't go wrong for $10 (I'm pretty sure it was that cheap!). I drilled a couple of holes in the chassis, counter sunk them, and screwed on the servo mount. It seems to work really well. As for performance difference... I have no idea. I only did this to forget about the 'flat spot' under the servo, but I have read other reports where the driver has not noticed any differences at all. It does however, obviously create more room on the chassis for electronics.

The car was pretty good in handling, but all competitors were under the pump because of the storms, hail, sunshine, heat, cold, rain, wind, and more all in the two day event. The car was good... the driver could have been better!

Here's a few pics of the car.







Nice work, Associated. It's a great car for a great price.
__________________
Fraser Coast RC Car Club/FCRCCC
XRay T4... F104X1... M11X... SMC... FANTOM...
"fast.... but rough!"
http://www.actionrc.com.au
Shev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 01:29 PM   #8087
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,181
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Hey All,

I direct this to everyone who visits this thread and more specifically to Rick as my satisfaction with the TC6.1 comes largely in part from mirroring most of one of your setups.

If you could look at my posted setup and provide any suggestions for change based on the fact that I will be running a second car in mod within a couple of weeks (I am an offroad guy passing the winter by with onroad - the last time I ran mod was back in brushed 7 turn foam tire days).

I am very happy with my 17.5 setup but I am more curious as to reccomended changes for my mod car. I am also open to changes to my current setup in 17.5 as I am sure there is improvement to be made.

Thanks in advance,
Kane
Attached Files
File Type: pdf TC6_1KaneBase.pdf (466.1 KB, 125 views)
Kane-o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 02:09 PM   #8088
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 267
Default

Hi Shev - thanks for the pics of the car. I had the same problem with ione of my shock shafts. Just one - which I thought was interesting. I've also got a flowting servo mount on the way, and wanted to ask you a question. I can see how the servo goes in, but how did you attach the other end of the steering link to the bell crank? The stock setup is positioned so it won't work with a transverse mounted servo. I'l admit, I haven't looked closely at it so the solution may be obvious, but was hoping since its working for you you could save me some thinkiing!

Thanks!
markg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 02:09 PM   #8089
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 267
Default

Just reread my post. If I could type I'd be dangerous. Sorry for typos...
markg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 03:16 PM   #8090
Tech Master
 
Shev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Queensland
Posts: 1,088
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by markg View Post
Hi Shev - thanks for the pics of the car. I had the same problem with ione of my shock shafts. Just one - which I thought was interesting. I've also got a flowting servo mount on the way, and wanted to ask you a question. I can see how the servo goes in, but how did you attach the other end of the steering link to the bell crank? The stock setup is positioned so it won't work with a transverse mounted servo. I'l admit, I haven't looked closely at it so the solution may be obvious, but was hoping since its working for you you could save me some thinkiing!

Thanks!
for sure...
I dremeled off the part of the steering arm that originally fits to the servo horn. Because of it's shape, it wouldn't swing under the top deck. You can see part of the left over tab under the top deck near the servo in the first picture. This was all a bit risky if my floating servo mount didn't work. The ackerman screw was replaced with a long ball stud that would do the same job as the screw, but allow me to attach a turn buckle. The servo being turned 90 degrees means that the turnbuckle now goes straight from the servo horn to the ackerman screw/ball stud, which can be seen in the first and second picture.
__________________
Fraser Coast RC Car Club/FCRCCC
XRay T4... F104X1... M11X... SMC... FANTOM...
"fast.... but rough!"
http://www.actionrc.com.au
Shev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 12:06 AM   #8091
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 879
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shev View Post
for sure...
I dremeled off the part of the steering arm that originally fits to the servo horn. Because of it's shape, it wouldn't swing under the top deck. You can see part of the left over tab under the top deck near the servo in the first picture. This was all a bit risky if my floating servo mount didn't work. The ackerman screw was replaced with a long ball stud that would do the same job as the screw, but allow me to attach a turn buckle. The servo being turned 90 degrees means that the turnbuckle now goes straight from the servo horn to the ackerman screw/ball stud, which can be seen in the first and second picture.
Hi, Shev,

Thanks for sharing your mod so far.

1 extra request - can you show photo of bottom chassis where you drilled holes to fit the ARC servo mount???

I am in the process of doing the same mod. Just that have not decided yet which piece of servo mount to go for. (Yokomo, CSO (for T4), VBC, ARC are in my mind now)

Thanks.
hobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 12:22 AM   #8092
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 879
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Hi, guys,

just being curious... the aluminium of TC6/TV6.1 is made of what material?? 7075??
hobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 11:58 AM   #8093
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,930
Default

.
__________________
www.reedypower.com
Rick Hohwart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 02:09 PM   #8094
Tech Master
 
evochick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sydney AU
Posts: 1,537
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hobbs View Post
I am in the process of doing the same mod. Just that have not decided yet which piece of servo mount to go for. (Yokomo, CSO (for T4), VBC, ARC are in my mind now)
I have just ordered the parts to try the Xray T4 servo mount, i was going to try the reflex one, but changed my mind.

I should have it next week, so ill post up the holes on a WC chassis once im done.

Beth.
__________________
Unretired

2017 ACT Rally champion :)
evochick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 02:46 PM   #8095
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,930
Default

Reedy Cyber Monday Sale
Attached Thumbnails
Team Associated TC6 Thread-cybermondaysale_2012_fb.jpg  
__________________
www.reedypower.com
Rick Hohwart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 04:26 PM   #8096
Tech Master
 
Shev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Queensland
Posts: 1,088
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hobbs View Post
Hi, Shev,

Thanks for sharing your mod so far.

1 extra request - can you show photo of bottom chassis where you drilled holes to fit the ARC servo mount???

I am in the process of doing the same mod. Just that have not decided yet which piece of servo mount to go for. (Yokomo, CSO (for T4), VBC, ARC are in my mind now)

Thanks.
No probs, it was so close to one of the holes near the belt, but it was about 2mm too close to the belt. So, getting the servo forward enough and close enough to the belt was a little bit of a challenge because of existing holes and the belt. One of the holes I drilled is reasonably close to an existing hole - the counter sunk part crosses over, but if I didn't want this, then my servo would have been moved further off the chassis. I'll post pics tonight.
__________________
Fraser Coast RC Car Club/FCRCCC
XRay T4... F104X1... M11X... SMC... FANTOM...
"fast.... but rough!"
http://www.actionrc.com.au
Shev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 05:46 PM   #8097
Tech Elite
 
olhipster1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Asgard
Posts: 3,995
Trader Rating: 98 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to olhipster1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick Hohwart View Post
Reedy Cyber Monday Sale
Thank you very much.
__________________
everything is Cause and effect
every Action has a reaction.
"I drank too much wine - I must take a p!ss"
CAUSE and EFFECT
olhipster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 05:53 PM   #8098
Tech Elite
 
Odin544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

Anyone have a good setup for a TC6 in VTA? Medium grip carpet.

Thanks
__________________
Xray - ORCA - Avid RC - MaxFX Paint
TriCitiesRC.com
Odin544 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 12:25 AM   #8099
Tech Elite
 
CristianTabush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,817
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hobbs View Post
Hi, Shev,

Thanks for sharing your mod so far.

1 extra request - can you show photo of bottom chassis where you drilled holes to fit the ARC servo mount???

I am in the process of doing the same mod. Just that have not decided yet which piece of servo mount to go for. (Yokomo, CSO (for T4), VBC, ARC are in my mind now)

Thanks.
With our rsd6 mount only 1 hole needs to be drilled to achieve the modification. The middle holes on the chassis coincide on the tc6 and rsd6, and we use the furthesmost middle of the chassis hole at the rear of our servo mount. The modification would definitely be easiest with our mount.
__________________
REFLEX RACING/ RSD/ GIZMO RACING USA/ HOBBYWING/ AXON/ QTEQ/ TEAM PRIME
CristianTabush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 12:52 AM   #8100
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 29
Default

Now,..
Yokomo 1 piece servo mount works
ARC floating servo mount works

See Spec R 1 piece servo mount here
http://slowbunnyrc.blogspot.com/

Will report back if there is any issue with this...
slowbunnyrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
THE TRACK RACEWAY Apex Mid Atlantic RC Racing 28975 10-20-2017 10:40 AM
Team Associated TC5 RCknight Electric On-Road 13254 05-12-2017 07:58 AM
Team Associated TC6 KostaG Electric On-Road 8 07-04-2010 11:42 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:29 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net