R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-09-2012, 09:24 PM   #7591
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: colorado springs, co
Posts: 507
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

FS: factory team TC6.1 with hopups and lots of spare parts.

FS: Associated FT TC6.1
__________________
Colorado On-Road RC Club
www.5280raceway.com
www.facebook.com/CORtrack
Driving: Xray T4 2015, T.O.P. Rebel 12, Durango DEX8T, Durango DEX408 v2, Associated B5M, Associated B44.2
rc_speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 09:08 AM   #7592
Tech Regular
 
RussF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Salt Lake City Utah
Posts: 433
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default Offset Arm Mounts

In comparing all the setup sheets on the AE site it appears that most drivers do not use the offset arm mounts to minimize the amount of shims needed.

Is there a reason?
__________________
SaltLakeMini-Z.com, HowFastAreYou.com
RussF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 09:15 AM   #7593
Tech Master
 
wtcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,245
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Good question. I use them and my car runs fine. There is no noticeable difference between shims and offset armmounts for me in the race.

The only reason I can think of is that they maybe don't want/need the full 2mm offset, or came from less shims from the training/last race and wanted to save time by just adding shims instead of changing the armmounts.
__________________
/// CAUTION: Rogue robot \\\
wtcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 09:23 AM   #7594
Tech Elite
 
CristianTabush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,817
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Russ, the offset mounts are supposed to move less than the std one.
__________________
REFLEX RACING/ RSD/ GIZMO RACING USA/ HOBBYWING/ AXON/ QTEQ/ TEAM PRIME
CristianTabush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 10:18 AM   #7595
Tech Master
 
IndyHobbies.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Brownsburg, Indiana
Posts: 1,943
Default

Do many of you run the gear differenential in your TC6?

I have tried and tried, but the fact is that I just don't drive a spooled car as well as I do one with a front diff. I'd like to convert mine over to a gear differential. Their #31344 is $40 per set. Expensive!

__________________
Airbrushing Projects: www.indyhobbies.com/Airbrushing.html
Member Hoosier RC Racers club - www.HRCRacers.com
USVTA #144
IndyHobbies.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 10:42 AM   #7596
Tech Master
 
wtcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,245
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

For the last race I changed to gear diff in front with 3000cst oil (1000cst in rear one). Drove spool before and the car was awesome after the change. It had much more traction all around. Everything on medium grip carpet on a tight technical track with a 17.5t motor blinky class.
__________________
/// CAUTION: Rogue robot \\\
wtcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 10:55 AM   #7597
Tech Master
 
IndyHobbies.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Brownsburg, Indiana
Posts: 1,943
Default

You are singing my song!

Did you buy your gear diffs new or are the the kind of thing you can find used?
__________________
Airbrushing Projects: www.indyhobbies.com/Airbrushing.html
Member Hoosier RC Racers club - www.HRCRacers.com
USVTA #144
IndyHobbies.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 11:03 AM   #7598
Tech Regular
 
RussF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Salt Lake City Utah
Posts: 433
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wtcc View Post
Good question. I use them and my car runs fine. There is no noticeable difference between shims and offset armmounts for me in the race.

The only reason I can think of is that they maybe don't want/need the full 2mm offset, or came from less shims from the training/last race and wanted to save time by just adding shims instead of changing the armmounts.
In most cases where the standard mounts are used there is more than 2mm of shims added. And in the case of the offset mounts used there is usually additional shims.


Quote:
Originally Posted by CristianTabush View Post
Russ, the offset mounts are supposed to move less than the std one.
That sounds reasonable as one solid piece would move less than multiple parts.

Thanks for the replies guys.
__________________
SaltLakeMini-Z.com, HowFastAreYou.com
RussF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 11:57 AM   #7599
Tech Master
 
wtcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,245
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IndyHobbies.com View Post
You are singing my song!

Did you buy your gear diffs new or are the the kind of thing you can find used?
New, but if you had the TC6 already and then bought one TC6.1 like me, then you have already a balldiff and a geardiff. I bought one geardiff when I just owned the TC6, so now I have the free choice between spool, slipper spool, geardiff and balldiff. Just the one way is missing in my "collection", because it is too expensive for the one or two races it can be used...

Slipper spool and geardiff are my favourites. They work nearly without maintenance and conserve the drive train.
__________________
/// CAUTION: Rogue robot \\\
wtcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 12:43 PM   #7600
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,512
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IndyHobbies.com View Post
I have tried and tried, but the fact is that I just don't drive a spooled car as well as I do one with a front diff.
Toward the end of last carpet season, I experimented with Spool vs Gear Diff (with 500k traxxas oil) in both a TC6.1 and a Schui Mi4 on medium to high grip carpet.

What I found with both cars was that the Gear diff dove into corners a bit more, and was smoother through the corner. With the spool, corner exit traction was much, much better. I prefered the feel of the gear diff, and could drive it more consistently, but the spool was still faster because of the corner exit traction and our tight/technical track layout. Playing around with front droop made it easier to drive, and I eventually got used to it.

This season I'm only running the Schui (sold the TC6 because I wasn't any faster with it, and it was worth more ), but I have added the DCJ front driveshafts. IMO, it's the best of both worlds. You get the corner exit traction of the spool, but it's much smoother and feels more like a gear diff into and through the corner. So I'm quite happy with them.

-Mike
grippgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 04:33 PM   #7601
gom
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 147
Default

hi guys, i am running a tc6 and thinking about buying the 6.1 arms and hubs to update all 4 corners' suspensions. do i need to buy the new CVD's as well? if not, what size bearings will fit in? have anyone tried this?

so far what i've found is the tc6 CVD's use 6x10x3mm bearings and tc6.1 CVDs use 5x10x4mm bearings. I wonder if I can get away with tc6 CVDs in the new hubs with 6x10x4mm bearings.

Last edited by gom; 10-10-2012 at 05:35 PM.
gom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 05:37 PM   #7602
Tech Addict
 
mtbboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Winnipeg. Igloo. Hockey. Beer.
Posts: 715
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gom View Post
hi guys, i am running a tc6 and thinking about buying the 6.1 arms and hubs to update all 4 corners' suspensions. do i need to buy the new CVD's as well? if not, what size bearings will fit in? have anyone tried this?

so far what i've found is the tc6 CVD's use 6x10x3mm bearings and tc6.1 CVDs use 5x10x4mm bearings. I wonder if I can get away with tc6 CVDs in the new hubs with 6x10x4mm bearings.
These are what you need to convert.
http://www.petitrc.com/reglages/asso...6/TC6-2-TC6.1/
__________________
Team Associated Reedy factory team driver.
B5M Factory lite $ B44.3 Factory $ TC6.2 $ RC12R 5.1
Reedy 410 Speedos $ Reedy Mach Series motors
204 Raceway Winnipeg 1/10-1/8 Offroad. Owner.
mtbboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 05:55 PM   #7603
Tech Master
 
trigger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,046
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Wow, that list is quite extensive which also rhymes with expensive. I too have a TC6 collecting dust on the shelf. but i think id rather spend on the worlds shock towers and vertical ball bearing caps if i decide to bring it out of retirement.
__________________
Minh Nguyen
[Maclan Racing][Xpert]
trigger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 06:19 PM   #7604
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gom View Post
hi guys, i am running a tc6 and thinking about buying the 6.1 arms and hubs to update all 4 corners' suspensions. do i need to buy the new CVD's as well? if not, what size bearings will fit in? have anyone tried this?

so far what i've found is the tc6 CVD's use 6x10x3mm bearings and tc6.1 CVDs use 5x10x4mm bearings. I wonder if I can get away with tc6 CVDs in the new hubs with 6x10x4mm bearings.
You don't need the complete CVA assembly, just the axle #31369 is enough. You do need the hub carriers, steering blocks, bearings, c-hubs, etc. The new style anti-roll bars are optional. 6x10 bearings won't work with the new CVAs.
Kevin Marcy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 05:40 AM   #7605
Tech Master
 
wtcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,245
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gom View Post
hi guys, i am running a tc6 and thinking about buying the 6.1 arms and hubs to update all 4 corners' suspensions. do i need to buy the new CVD's as well? if not, what size bearings will fit in? have anyone tried this?

so far what i've found is the tc6 CVD's use 6x10x3mm bearings and tc6.1 CVDs use 5x10x4mm bearings. I wonder if I can get away with tc6 CVDs in the new hubs with 6x10x4mm bearings.
It is quite a lot of stuff to buy to "upgrade" the car to a TC6.1. Even if you only want to use the new suspension parts. As owner of both versions (and the Worlds stuff tomorrow) I wouldn't recommend the purchase if it is not for other reasons than racing. The TC6.1 parts are OK and fast, but don't make the car faster. The old parts work fine and seem to offer a little more setup options.
__________________
/// CAUTION: Rogue robot \\\
wtcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
THE TRACK RACEWAY Apex Mid Atlantic RC Racing 28975 10-20-2017 10:40 AM
Team Associated TC5 RCknight Electric On-Road 13254 05-12-2017 07:58 AM
Team Associated TC6 KostaG Electric On-Road 8 07-04-2010 11:42 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:31 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net