R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-27-2012, 05:02 PM   #7036
Tech Champion
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,440
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tekin Prodigy View Post
Got a couple questions for my fellow tc6 drivers. They have prolly been disgussed so i apologize in advance. I am curious if anyone has notice which works better, teeth up or down on the belt tensioners? Also, can you notice a real difference with the vertical ballstud mounts or just like them to have more adjustment options which you will prolly never use? thank you
Ive always ran the mid cams on the high setting. They dont directly make your car better, but you get more options, which you will use and they do make a difference

Quote:
Originally Posted by StickyFingaz View Post
Juho actually wasn't using the vertcal bearing caps at the Reedy Race most recently... and his car seemed to the best among the AE drivers.
If I had to guess, he is doing what I did for the first part of the outdoor season, leaving the car stock and trying to get a good ballpark setup before giving himself more options
__________________
Mike Gee

Awesomatix USA/Pyscho Cells Racing/LRP/Sweep Racing/RSD/Middle River Hobbies/Johns Mobile Raceway/TQ Wire/Avid
geeunit1014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 09:22 PM   #7037
Tech Master
 
racer x 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: im 4rm a far away place called 1st
Posts: 1,825
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Marcy View Post
The 6.1 uses 5x10 bearings which are wider than the 6x10 used in the TC5 & 6. So the steering blocks have deeper counterbores in them. The axles are 1mm smaller in diameter. I did discover that you don't need to replace the entire CVA bone/axle to change to the 6.1 parts. The old TC5/6 CVA "bone" works fine with the new 6.1 axle.
Im running .1 caster blocks with reguler ole tc6 everything else and after playing with the car for a bit I feel like Idont physically have as much steering throw so I was thinking that maybe the .1 spindles may have been clearanced a tiny bit more for more throw since the .1 caster block is bigger.
__________________
Matt Bell
Mugen MRX5 Ae R5.2 X6^3 M11x All powered by Speedtech Rc
racer x 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 05:02 AM   #7038
Tech Fanatic
 
daleburr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 822
Default

Sounds like Exotek are working on a TC6 conversion using Tamiya style mounts:

http://www.redrc.net/2012/06/exotek-...-hinge-blocks/

First time I've seen the 'TC6TEK' name used anywhere, and no sign of it on their website just yet... a little teaser I think!

Having said that, I like being able to adjust the suspension in any dimension without spending any more money, so not sure I really want Tamiya style mounts. Although the improved accuracy would be nice, it comes at a cost.
__________________
Team Xray
RC-Timing Software - http://www.rc-timing.com
Mercedes AMG F1 - http://www.mercedes-amg-f1.com/
daleburr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 06:57 PM   #7039
Tech Master
 
JustWill75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: DOUGLASVILLE GA.
Posts: 1,782
Send a message via AIM to JustWill75
Default To DCJ or not to DCJ

That is the question I'm facing right now on my TC6. I'm getting ready to convert it to a 6.1 so I can try the more current setup ideas. But im wondering if any of the team driver are really using the DCJ's or are they using the stock shafts. I run VTA so I'm looking for the advantage but is it worth carving up C- hubs?
__________________
TEAM ASSOCIATED // REEDY POWER // BLAST RC
JustWill75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 07:07 PM   #7040
Suspended
 
rcpaintinpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: PALMBAY FLORIDA
Posts: 2,739
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JustWill75 View Post
That is the question I'm facing right now on my TC6. I'm getting ready to convert it to a 6.1 so I can try the more current setup ideas. But im wondering if any of the team driver are really using the DCJ's or are they using the stock shafts. I run VTA so I'm looking for the advantage but is it worth carving up C- hubs?

I'm using the kit cvd's and I can't see any chatter when on the track or the bench in VTA even at full lock
But I get what you saying
Will they free the car up a bit in the corners
__________________
TEAM ARC USA --- TEAM POWERS USA ---- TEAM VALKARIA RC ----
rcpaintinpete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 08:29 PM   #7041
Tech Champion
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,440
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JustWill75 View Post
That is the question I'm facing right now on my TC6. I'm getting ready to convert it to a 6.1 so I can try the more current setup ideas. But im wondering if any of the team driver are really using the DCJ's or are they using the stock shafts. I run VTA so I'm looking for the advantage but is it worth carving up C- hubs?
For the guys that run mod, its a personal preference. Rick does not run DCJs, but Keven does. It gives a different feel. For stock, I definitely prefer DCJs, since they feel like they dont scrub speed as much. If you run the TC6 c hubs (not the 6.1s), there is no durability difference dremeling out the C hubs
__________________
Mike Gee

Awesomatix USA/Pyscho Cells Racing/LRP/Sweep Racing/RSD/Middle River Hobbies/Johns Mobile Raceway/TQ Wire/Avid
geeunit1014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 04:27 AM   #7042
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geeunit1014 View Post
For the guys that run mod, its a personal preference. Rick does not run DCJs, but Keven does. It gives a different feel. For stock, I definitely prefer DCJs, since they feel like they dont scrub speed as much. If you run the TC6 c hubs (not the 6.1s), there is no durability difference dremeling out the C hubs
I broke tc6 and tc6.1 hubs at the same rate. Never broke a non dremeled hub.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 06:33 AM   #7043
Tech Fanatic
 
daleburr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 822
Default

http://www.exotekracing.com/prototype-tc6-project/

Looks like it will come with different bulkheads, as the standard TC6 bulkheads get in the way of the Tamiya style hangers.
__________________
Team Xray
RC-Timing Software - http://www.rc-timing.com
Mercedes AMG F1 - http://www.mercedes-amg-f1.com/
daleburr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 09:00 AM   #7044
Tech Champion
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,440
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by or8ital View Post
I broke tc6 and tc6.1 hubs at the same rate. Never broke a non dremeled hub.
Interesting. Everyone in my area has to do something mighty impressive to break a 6 hub, even dremeled. Ive even noticed since I started using the 6 hubs on the 6.1, im more likely to break an arm mount than a c hub
__________________
Mike Gee

Awesomatix USA/Pyscho Cells Racing/LRP/Sweep Racing/RSD/Middle River Hobbies/Johns Mobile Raceway/TQ Wire/Avid
geeunit1014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 09:07 AM   #7045
Tech Elite
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JustWill75 View Post
That is the question I'm facing right now on my TC6. I'm getting ready to convert it to a 6.1 so I can try the more current setup ideas. But im wondering if any of the team driver are really using the DCJ's or are they using the stock shafts. I run VTA so I'm looking for the advantage but is it worth carving up C- hubs?
Don't do it, if you are running vta with the 6.1 the stock set up is great for that.
__________________
MERLIN RACING
"He once ran a marathon because it was on his way"
Logic is a lost art!
You are defined in life by how you respond to defeat!
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 05:43 PM   #7046
Tech Master
 
JustWill75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: DOUGLASVILLE GA.
Posts: 1,782
Send a message via AIM to JustWill75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hairy View Post
Don't do it, if you are running vta with the 6.1 the stock set up is great for that.
I hear you Hairy, Myron told me to do the same thing about the 6.1 standard setup is a beast in VTA. He even came to our track and proved it. I've been using the RSD DCJs on my TC6 as of now and was just wondering what the pros are doing now.
__________________
TEAM ASSOCIATED // REEDY POWER // BLAST RC
JustWill75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 05:44 PM   #7047
Tech Elite
 
vito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: roseburg or
Posts: 3,928
Default

how will a mmp esc with 5700 kv 4 pole motor be in it?
vito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 06:17 AM   #7048
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA
Posts: 15
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys. I am just getting my tc6.1 set up for TVA. I have the edge esc and ballistic 25.5 motor. I have an 87 tooth spur. Bwhat pinion(s) should I be using? Thanks!
JesusFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 08:41 AM   #7049
Tech Elite
 
theDover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: ROAR Region 8 Kansas
Posts: 2,992
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daleburr View Post
Sounds like Exotek are working on a TC6 conversion using Tamiya style mounts:
I've been waiting for this Exotek Chassis. Kinda disappointing if they change to Tamiya style mounts. I really love the PPD Dial-A-Grips on my Chassis.

Too bad I can't get one of your Prototype Chassis's Dale!
__________________
TEAM ULTRALINE / RickyRacerLidz
www.ultralinehobbies.com
Ultraline Hobbies RC Raceway @ facebook
theDover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 12:13 PM   #7050
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 388
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by arn671 View Post
I'd be interested in the dcj's. How much shipped to Seattle?
$30

You get the dcj's + the special wheel adapters.
All brandnew, never been used, in original packing.

Say the word and I'll ship immediately.
Payment via PayPall if possible.
Kensei is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Associated TC5 RCknight Electric On-Road 13254 05-12-2017 07:58 AM
THE TRACK RACEWAY Apex Mid Atlantic RC Racing 28952 05-01-2017 04:47 AM
Team Associated TC6 KostaG Electric On-Road 8 07-04-2010 11:42 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:09 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net