R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-12-2012, 06:57 PM   #6931
Tech Master
 
Chaz955i's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 1,012
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitrous36 View Post
I know the tape goes over the battery. Im talking about using velcro under the battery.
Why, a proper tape job is reusable and doesn't raise the center of gravity?
__________________
At The Gate Bizzos
Chaz955i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 07:26 PM   #6932
Tech Elite
 
LasagnaCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hickory Hills, IL
Posts: 2,049
Trader Rating: 137 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to LasagnaCat
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitrous36 View Post
How do some of you guys mount your batteries in the chassis. I thought about using velcro between the batt and chassis instead of tape. That would be cheaper/reusable and easier to mount or remove the battery between charges. But is or would that be legal for racing? I dont know if tracks would allow it.

My other concern is that the velcro may raise the battery slightly higher, effecting handling and weight distribution.
Look at the Puretech straps... much better option than most of the standard velcro straps. The part of the strap that goes under the pack is super thin, the thicker velcro part is on top. You can very easily snug the pack down with this strap without going Hercules tight.

http://www.puretechproducts.com/ptprod_straps.htm

Pic at the bottom shows how thin these straps are.. good stuff.
__________________
Well if it seems to be real, it's illusion
For every moment of truth, there's confusion in life...
LasagnaCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 07:32 PM   #6933
Regional Moderator
 
nitrous36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 1,013
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chaz955i View Post
Why, a proper tape job is reusable and doesn't raise the center of gravity?
Good point.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LasagnaCat View Post
Look at the Puretech straps... much better option than most of the standard velcro straps. The part of the strap that goes under the pack is super thin, the thicker velcro part is on top. You can very easily snug the pack down with this strap without going Hercules tight.

http://www.puretechproducts.com/ptprod_straps.htm

Pic at the bottom shows how thin these straps are.. good stuff.
Thanks. Ill have to check those out.
nitrous36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 07:35 PM   #6934
Tech Elite
 
vito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: roseburg or
Posts: 3,925
Default

need a good motor and esc set up that will run 70 mph
vito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 07:45 PM   #6935
Tech Regular
 
rbcts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: South Florida
Posts: 446
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LasagnaCat View Post
Look at the Puretech straps... much better option than most of the standard velcro straps. The part of the strap that goes under the pack is super thin, the thicker velcro part is on top. You can very easily snug the pack down with this strap without going Hercules tight.

http://www.puretechproducts.com/ptprod_straps.htm

Pic at the bottom shows how thin these straps are.. good stuff.
Good stuff. For anyone using these, what is the correct size strap for this car?

Also the top racing strap doesn't go under the battery. Just FYI.
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...nt-Strap-Black
__________________
-AE FT RC8.2
-AE RC8T CE
-Kyosho RB5 SP2 WC

Last edited by rbcts; 06-12-2012 at 07:56 PM.
rbcts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 08:02 PM   #6936
Tech Elite
 
LasagnaCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hickory Hills, IL
Posts: 2,049
Trader Rating: 137 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to LasagnaCat
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rbcts View Post
Good stuff. For anyone using these, what is the correct size strap for this car?

Also the top racing strap doesn't go under the battery. Just FYI.
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...nt-Strap-Black
The TOP strap isn't as nice. It's thicker, much less flexible, has to be pulled tighter, and is much more likely to cause tweak. The Puretech strap running under the battery is partly why you can get away with running it a bit looser... the strap is attached to itself, you can slide it back and forth with the battery in place. Since the Top style straps are attached to (and pulling against) the stock battery mounts - that's where the tweak can appear, you're pulling inward from the two end points.
__________________
Well if it seems to be real, it's illusion
For every moment of truth, there's confusion in life...
LasagnaCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 08:20 PM   #6937
Tech Elite
 
LasagnaCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hickory Hills, IL
Posts: 2,049
Trader Rating: 137 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to LasagnaCat
Default

The bottom part of the Puretech strap is roughly .4mm thick... it's really not an issue or a worry running under the pack. You really can't tell it's running under the pack when it's in the car. The 5 inch strap is the right one, and you get a pair for the price. For any other old-timers, yes.. same Puretech that made the straps you may have run on your rc10/jrx2/etc. once upon a time.
Attached Thumbnails
Team Associated TC6 Thread-strap.jpg  
__________________
Well if it seems to be real, it's illusion
For every moment of truth, there's confusion in life...
LasagnaCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 08:29 PM   #6938
Tech Regular
 
rbcts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: South Florida
Posts: 446
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LasagnaCat View Post
The bottom part of the Puretech strap is roughly .4mm thick... it's really not an issue or a worry running under the pack. You really can't tell it's running under the pack when it's in the car. The 5 inch strap is the right one, and you get a pair for the price. For any other old-timers, yes.. same Puretech that made the straps you may have run on your rc10/jrx2/etc. once upon a time.
Wow. Nice pic. I have to say it is much thinner than the top racing strap. Thanks for the info
__________________
-AE FT RC8.2
-AE RC8T CE
-Kyosho RB5 SP2 WC
rbcts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 11:39 PM   #6939
Tech Master
 
racer x 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: im 4rm a far away place called 1st
Posts: 1,825
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

I really hope im not the first to discover this but the tc6.1 castor blocks do not fit straight on the tc6 without any grinding. Im a bit lost on that but nothing the dremel cant handle once charged should finally have my newly acquired tc6 in photographable shape tomorrow night.
__________________
Matt Bell
Mugen MRX5 Ae R5.2 X6^3 M11x All powered by Speedtech Rc
racer x 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 02:27 AM   #6940
Tech Master
 
Big Features's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Currituck, North Carolina
Posts: 1,874
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by racer x 1 View Post
I really hope im not the first to discover this but the tc6.1 castor blocks do not fit straight on the tc6 without any grinding. Im a bit lost on that but nothing the dremel cant handle once charged should finally have my newly acquired tc6 in photographable shape tomorrow night.
First hears for me, other then a little wiggle (easily fixed with a set screw) I e haven't seen or heard about this issue. Are the caster block inserts pressed in all the way? This may be the case.
__________________
Mike Kling
Team Associated REEDY Powered
JConcepts TXD Skin Graphix
Big Features is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 03:53 AM   #6941
Tech Master
 
Chaz955i's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 1,012
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by racer x 1 View Post
I really hope im not the first to discover this but the tc6.1 castor blocks do not fit straight on the tc6 without any grinding. Im a bit lost on that but nothing the dremel cant handle once charged should finally have my newly acquired tc6 in photographable shape tomorrow night.
If I remember correctly the 6.1 arms are different than the 6 arms and have a wider opening.
__________________
At The Gate Bizzos
Chaz955i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 07:01 AM   #6942
Tech Master
 
racer x 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: im 4rm a far away place called 1st
Posts: 1,825
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chaz955i View Post
If I remember correctly the 6.1 arms are different than the 6 arms and have a wider opening.

Ha that they do but its ok i took care of the situation I just wish I knew and I would have bought .1 arms while i was at the hobby store.
__________________
Matt Bell
Mugen MRX5 Ae R5.2 X6^3 M11x All powered by Speedtech Rc
racer x 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 08:29 AM   #6943
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,897
Default Tape

This is how most of the team guys run their tape. It does not go under the battery.
Attached Thumbnails
Team Associated TC6 Thread-tape-tc6.jpg  
__________________
www.reedypower.com
Rick Hohwart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 09:37 AM   #6944
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: kansas
Posts: 442
Trader Rating: 19 (85%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WD40 View Post
Put a bead of glue around the outside edge of the tires. It helps....everyone is doing it at the track I raced at this past weekend.
A bead of glue on the sidewall of the tire? The inside or outside or both? And how thick of a bead ?
__________________
ChRIs MeNeAr TLR 22 2.0 ,22-4 AiRtRoNiCs M11x TEKIN TRINITY
SPONSORED BY MY CREDIT CARD LOL
AEcarpetracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 10:10 AM   #6945
Tech Regular
 
WD40's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 400
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AEcarpetracer View Post
A bead of glue on the sidewall of the tire? The inside or outside or both? And how thick of a bead ?
The outside only. It makes sense if you think about it. You are wanting to harden the outside of the tires so the car doesn't roll. The thickness is not the important thing....it's just a matter of making the outside hard enough for the car not to roll. When I did mine, I put a bead around it....then wiped it smooth to make a smooth hard surface on the outside of the tire. And my traction rolling went away for the most part (unless I was being super super aggressive). If that doesn't make sense then let me know and I'll try to get a picture up for ya.
WD40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
THE TRACK RACEWAY Apex Mid Atlantic RC Racing 28947 03-17-2017 11:30 AM
Team Associated TC5 RCknight Electric On-Road 13249 01-14-2017 06:34 AM
Team Associated TC6 KostaG Electric On-Road 8 07-04-2010 11:42 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:55 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net