R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-02-2012, 11:31 AM   #6691
Tech Elite
 
jhautz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4,263
Trader Rating: 85 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean Cochran View Post
It is my understanding that VTA rules call for a fixed gear. I would check out the USVTA website or search VTA threads here for more info on the rules.
OK thanks. I was looking at the at the rules posted on the USVTA website it doesn't state anything about gearing. Just specific speed controls and the Novak 25.5 motor only along with the spec tire and body rules.
http://www.usvintagetransam.com/rules/index.html

Quote:
Originally Posted by LasagnaCat View Post
It really depends on track size. A 4.0FDR is a safe starting point in VTA just about anywhere. On a larger track that may drop to the mid 3.somethings.
OK. So it sounds like basically the same gearing Im running on my 17.5 TC. I wasnt sure how much taller a gear the higher wind motor would pull. I can start there and see how it goes. I just though considering the motor is fixed there may be a pretty well targeted FDR for this setup.
jhautz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 11:53 AM   #6692
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IndyHobbies.com View Post
I've got a new-to-me TC6. Drives really well. I'm glad I bought it. I also own TC3's and TC5's.

Have any of you put an aftermarket battery holder on? Or, are you just using the battery mounting system that AE designed for it?
The AE system works wonderfully. Especially if you do it sorta like the instructions describe. You can add two loops of tape on either side. You can keep those there pretty much forever. Then two small pieces of tape attached to the loops to fasten the battery. Just replace those two small pieces as necessary.

Some people just run tape under the battery and around. I've found that to be really annoying as the stick tape is exposed whenever there isnt a battery in the car.

Velcro looks messy to me and tape is a lot cheaper.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 12:10 PM   #6693
Tech Regular
 
R Doyel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 411
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhautz View Post
OK thanks. I was looking at the at the rules posted on the USVTA website it doesn't state anything about gearing. Just specific speed controls and the Novak 25.5 motor only along with the spec tire and body rules.
http://www.usvintagetransam.com/rules/index.html



OK. So it sounds like basically the same gearing Im running on my 17.5 TC. I wasnt sure how much taller a gear the higher wind motor would pull. I can start there and see how it goes. I just though considering the motor is fixed there may be a pretty well targeted FDR for this setup.
If you're running the Novak Ballistic 25.5, the timing is adjustable. When I ran VTA, I always kept the timing around 43. The motor seemed to run better, just shy of having the timing maxed. I played with the gearing, but in the end I stayed at 3.71. If I went much below 3.8, I would get passed in the straight. I haven't read the rules in a while, but I'm pretty sure the rule says no more than 3.70 FDR. At least that's what we did at my track.
R Doyel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 01:49 PM   #6694
Tech Elite
 
LasagnaCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hickory Hills, IL
Posts: 2,080
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to LasagnaCat
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhautz View Post
OK. So it sounds like basically the same gearing Im running on my 17.5 TC. I wasnt sure how much taller a gear the higher wind motor would pull. I can start there and see how it goes. I just though considering the motor is fixed there may be a pretty well targeted FDR for this setup.
If you're running blinky 17.5, then yes.. almost exactly the same FDR will apply in VTA.



There is no longer a FDR cap under USVTA rules, fwiw.
__________________
Well if it seems to be real, it's illusion
For every moment of truth, there's confusion in life...
LasagnaCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 03:44 AM   #6695
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 388
Default TC6 Dual Cardan Joints Reflexracing

Got me the Dual Cardan Joints from Reflexracing.

They are screwed together.

Do I have to take them apart and use grease of some sort where the joints come together?

Do I have to put shrink tube around the joints in the middle?

Or is all of that not necessary?
Kensei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 07:00 AM   #6696
Tech Master
 
IndyHobbies.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Brownsburg, Indiana
Posts: 1,943
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by or8ital View Post
The AE system works wonderfully. Especially if you do it sorta like the instructions describe. You can add two loops of tape on either side. You can keep those there pretty much forever. Then two small pieces of tape attached to the loops to fasten the battery. Just replace those two small pieces as necessary.

Some people just run tape under the battery and around. I've found that to be really annoying as the stick tape is exposed whenever there isnt a battery in the car.

Velcro looks messy to me and tape is a lot cheaper.
Thanks! I'm using a 1/2" velcro loop right now, but it sounds like tape may be the way to go. The velcro will eventually lose its grip.
__________________
Airbrushing Projects: www.indyhobbies.com/Airbrushing.html
Member Hoosier RC Racers club - www.HRCRacers.com
USVTA #144
IndyHobbies.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 07:56 AM   #6697
Tech Champion
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,487
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kensei View Post
Got me the Dual Cardan Joints from Reflexracing.

They are screwed together.

Do I have to take them apart and use grease of some sort where the joints come together?

Do I have to put shrink tube around the joints in the middle?

Or is all of that not necessary?
I would take them apart and grease them. Also, add some threadlock to the setscrews. Heatshrink never hurts, but is not 100% necessary
__________________
Mike Gee

Awesomatix USA/Pyscho Cells Racing/Tekin/Sweep Racing/RSD/180 Raceway/Johns Mobile Raceway/TQ Wire/Avid/Sanwa
geeunit1014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 02:03 PM   #6698
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: colorado springs, co
Posts: 507
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

associated has released new ballstud bearing caps. These change the inner ballstuds to mount like those on the sray 2012.
My question is this:
Does this really make the car better?
Also, can I use my old shock towers or do I HAVE to buy the new ones? I'm trying to NOT spend a fortune to get a better car.

thanks,
tim
rc_speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 02:17 PM   #6699
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: オランダ
Posts: 312
Default

It doesn't make your car faster, but it gives you more tuning options.

Rest is explained below
__________________
株式会社 ヨコモ

Last edited by dennisV; 05-05-2012 at 04:29 PM.
dennisV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 04:26 PM   #6700
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,085
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc_speed View Post
associated has released new ballstud bearing caps. These change the inner ballstuds to mount like those on the sray 2012.
My question is this:
Does this really make the car better?
Also, can I use my old shock towers or do I HAVE to buy the new ones? I'm trying to NOT spend a fortune to get a better car.

thanks,
tim
New shock towers are not required, you can still run the stock ones. Rick or Sean has mentioned it before on here. The only difference between the current and new ones are the holes for the upper link are gone.
__________________
Speedpassion : Speedpower : East Coast Bodies

Last edited by thunderbt3; 05-05-2012 at 04:44 PM.
thunderbt3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 07:03 PM   #6701
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: colorado springs, co
Posts: 507
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thunderbt3 View Post
New shock towers are not required, you can still run the stock ones. Rick or Sean has mentioned it before on here. The only difference between the current and new ones are the holes for the upper link are gone.
ok, that was what I was wondering. It seemed silly to buy new shock towers if the old ones worked fine.

are there any setup sheets with the new vertical ballstud system?
rc_speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 02:33 AM   #6702
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 673
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Just use the outter most hole if you are racing on asphalt
zzztech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 03:35 AM   #6703
Tech Adept
 
Grassy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Camden
Posts: 237
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thunderbt3 View Post
New shock towers are not required, you can still run the stock ones. Rick or Sean has mentioned it before on here. The only difference between the current and new ones are the holes for the upper link are gone.
If you run the original shock towers you need to dremel off the #7 camber link on the shock tower as the new bulkhead caps foul on this. But like thunderbt3 said you dont have to go out and buy the new towers. The new bulkhead caps just allow you to make finer adjustments to your roll centre.
__________________
-ACE HOBBY DISTRIBUTORS AUSTRALIA-
Grassy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 05:25 AM   #6704
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 104
Default

Some one have a good setup for TC6.1 on asphalt ? For Low-medium grip, long and larg track... I use Sorex 36 or Ride 32 and run with 4.5 boosted


Thanks!
nicoo2k4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 09:44 AM   #6705
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: kansas
Posts: 442
Trader Rating: 19 (85%+)
Default

I have a tc6.1 and im running on a small carpet track with medium traction. I am havin a issue with my inside rear wheel lifting uder power about 60% of the way through cornering. I put the white sway bar on the rear to help and it did a little bit but it is still doing it. I have 55 wt oil in the front an 40 wt in the rear with the stock silver springs all the way around. Does anyone have any set up tips or advice to help with this issue? Thanks for reading
AEcarpetracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
THE TRACK RACEWAY Apex Mid Atlantic RC Racing 28970 09-28-2017 07:28 AM
Team Associated TC5 RCknight Electric On-Road 13254 05-12-2017 07:58 AM
Team Associated TC6 KostaG Electric On-Road 8 07-04-2010 11:42 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:58 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net