R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-24-2012, 06:53 AM   #6646
Tech Apprentice
 
carl jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: West Haven , Ct
Posts: 74
Default

Hi I just got a 6.1 and wanted to know if anyone has any setups for rubber tire carpet.
carl jr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 09:16 AM   #6647
Tech Master
 
Chaz955i's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 1,012
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by carl jr View Post
Hi I just got a 6.1 and wanted to know if anyone has any setups for rubber tire carpet.
rc10.com has a bunch of them.
__________________
At The Gate Bizzos
Chaz955i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 09:20 AM   #6648
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 68
Default

Is there a way to keep the front belt from touching the rear part of the top deck?
MySlowZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 06:33 PM   #6649
Tech Elite
 
LasagnaCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hickory Hills, IL
Posts: 2,077
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to LasagnaCat
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MySlowZ View Post
Is there a way to keep the front belt from touching the rear part of the top deck?
Which diff cam holder are you using, and at what setting?
__________________
Well if it seems to be real, it's illusion
For every moment of truth, there's confusion in life...
LasagnaCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 06:37 PM   #6650
Tech Elite
 
bvoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bedtime with Teddi
Posts: 3,635
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LasagnaCat View Post
What were you using? We went through a few last year (at Leisure) that ranged from bad to worse until we tried and stuck with the LG2.
Sorry I did not see this... LG2, first time with it.... I was thinking this may be some of the problem, but after your post, that is not the issue.

So how does one tell if the belt is slipping? Could this be the cause of my handling issues?
bvoltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 07:32 PM   #6651
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LasagnaCat View Post
Which diff cam holder are you using, and at what setting?
I'm using the stock settings. I sanded the top deck a little, hope this helps. When I replaced the front belt, the teeth was worned out in an angle. \|
MySlowZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 11:57 PM   #6652
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 671
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Hi guys would installing a 4 deg caster block rather than my existing 6 deg block help me turn faster in the low speed technical section? I have had my steering knuckles flipped and anti dive making effective caster at 5 degrees. No anti roll bars at a med size asphalt track.

I was also thinking about adding ackerman. Would that help?
zzztech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 01:22 AM   #6653
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 545
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zzztech View Post
Hi guys would installing a 4 deg caster block rather than my existing 6 deg block help me turn faster in the low speed technical section? I have had my steering knuckles flipped and anti dive making effective caster at 5 degrees. No anti roll bars at a med size asphalt track.

I was also thinking about adding ackerman. Would that help?
From my previous testing i would rather go to the ackerman option.
__________________
Team AME/ORCA
https://www.facebook.com/strawberryrcdesigns
http://www.strawberryrcdesigns.pt/
jorgesimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 02:52 AM   #6654
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 671
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jorgesimes View Post
From my previous testing i would rather go to the ackerman option.
Can you please elaborate a bit on this option?

thx
zzztech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 05:25 AM   #6655
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 227
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zzztech View Post
Hi guys would installing a 4 deg caster block rather than my existing 6 deg block help me turn faster in the low speed technical section? I have had my steering knuckles flipped and anti dive making effective caster at 5 degrees. No anti roll bars at a med size asphalt track.

I was also thinking about adding ackerman. Would that help?
Brother, do you mind to take a pic and point me out where is Ackerman for tc6? Thanks
__________________
~Team Associated AE TC6~ Disable
~Team Associated AE TC6.1~ SOLD
~Team Associated AE TC6.1WC~ Retire
Switching to YOKOMO ~Yokomo BD7~
**Swan Radio Control Club (SRCC)**
icefish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 01:12 PM   #6656
Tech Master
 
IndyHobbies.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Brownsburg, Indiana
Posts: 1,916
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MySlowZ View Post
Is there a way to keep the front belt from touching the rear part of the top deck?
I've been keeping the belt on mine a little tighter than I did on my TC5 for that reason.

__________________
Airbrushing Projects: www.indyhobbies.com/Airbrushing.html
"If you’re in control, you’re not going fast enough." – Parnelli Jones
USVTA #144
IndyHobbies.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 02:05 PM   #6657
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: オランダ
Posts: 312
Default

I dont have the problem that the belt is touching the rear. Isnt your deck tweaked?
__________________
株式会社 ヨコモ
dennisV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 03:55 PM   #6658
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 545
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zzztech View Post
Can you please elaborate a bit on this option?

thx
I could elaborate here for 10 pages, but in the end it's all on practice. So there's nothing like you try it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by icefish View Post
Brother, do you mind to take a pic and point me out where is Ackerman for tc6? Thanks
it's all on page 26 of the manual of the TC6.1 and on page 23 of the TC6, if you need more help say it.
__________________
Team AME/ORCA
https://www.facebook.com/strawberryrcdesigns
http://www.strawberryrcdesigns.pt/
jorgesimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 04:37 PM   #6659
Tech Elite
 
jhautz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4,263
Trader Rating: 85 (100%+)
Default

Hey. I just got a TC6.1 kit and put it together. I'm trying to gear it for blinky 17.5 and I'm being told that I should start around 3.6-4.0 FDR at the track I'm going to run. So i got the optional 72T spur gear but with that gear there isn't holes in it like the stock 87T gear so I cant get to the back motor mount screw to tighten it down? I thought about drilling a hole in it to allow myself to get to the front motor screw, but Im afraid it will need to be to close to the actual teeth of the spur and it will weaken it. I see there is another screw hole that lines up with the bottom screw on the motor. Should I be just using the front and bottom screw? Or is there another solution I'm not seeing to be able to tighten the back motor screw?

Thanks in advance for the help.
jhautz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 04:55 PM   #6660
Tech Addict
 
Losiho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 642
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhautz View Post
Hey. I just got a TC6.1 kit and put it together. I'm trying to gear it for blinky 17.5 and I'm being told that I should start around 3.6-4.0 FDR at the track I'm going to run. So i got the optional 72T spur gear but with that gear there isn't holes in it like the stock 87T gear so I cant get to the back motor mount screw to tighten it down? I thought about drilling a hole in it to allow myself to get to the front motor screw, but Im afraid it will need to be to close to the actual teeth of the spur and it will weaken it. I see there is another screw hole that lines up with the bottom screw on the motor. Should I be just using the front and bottom screw? Or is there another solution I'm not seeing to be able to tighten the back motor screw?

Thanks in advance for the help.

Yes, use the 3rd mounting hole (bottom hole) when using small size spur gears.
Losiho is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
THE TRACK RACEWAY Apex Mid Atlantic RC Racing 28961 07-11-2017 01:29 PM
Team Associated TC5 RCknight Electric On-Road 13254 05-12-2017 07:58 AM
Team Associated TC6 KostaG Electric On-Road 8 07-04-2010 11:42 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:42 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net