R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-21-2012, 10:17 PM   #5536
Tech Initiate
 
8KCAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SoDak
Posts: 22
Default

Broke a caster block at our races Thurs night. Looks like it had a large void in the plastic where it broke. Don't have enough posts to upload the image link.
8KCAB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 10:25 AM   #5537
Tech Fanatic
 
rc pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Airdire, AB, Canada
Posts: 759
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

The issue with the HB DCJ's in the 6.1 is the fit in the blades. You have to drill out the AE blades for the larger pins, and you end up with very little (read not enough imo) material left. I guess you could try to thin out the pins too.
__________________
Team Associated - Reedy - Pro-Line - RC Depot - OS Engines - 110% Racing - LD Graphics
rc pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 12:29 PM   #5538
Tech Master
 
Big Features's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Currituck, North Carolina
Posts: 1,858
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by R1wurks View Post
does the kit come with the shims? or where can we get the shims & what kind of shims work?

can you elaborate more about how & why you boil them? temperature etc...
The kit does not come with extra shims. These are usually felt to the racer to source and tinker with. No car comes with them. I use Losi or Tamiya shims. Don't have any specific part #s.

As far as boiling goes, back in the day we used to boil plastic in off-road parts to make them less brittle (Read LOSI parts). This process removes air bubbles left in the plastic as a result of the injection mold process. They will fit tighter and require a little bit of sanding/fitment to be perfect. Just boil watch to a rolling boil. Drop in your parts and let them sit until the water is cool.

Mike
__________________
Mike Kling
Team Associated REEDY Powered
JConcepts TXD Skin Graphix
Big Features is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 01:38 PM   #5539
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 179
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Questions??

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc pete View Post
The issue with the HB DCJ's in the 6.1 is the fit in the blades. You have to drill out the AE blades for the larger pins, and you end up with very little (read not enough imo) material left. I guess you could try to thin out the pins too.
Why not just use the HB blades?
ChampRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 03:21 PM   #5540
Tech Master
 
Big Features's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Currituck, North Carolina
Posts: 1,858
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChampRC View Post
Why not just use the HB blades?
Believe you have to sand them to fit
__________________
Mike Kling
Team Associated REEDY Powered
JConcepts TXD Skin Graphix
Big Features is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 12:25 PM   #5541
Tech Fanatic
 
roger999's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 806
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone know what car was using Juho Levanen on ETS? 6 or 6.1?
__________________
r o g e r g r a f i x . c o m

facebook.com/rogergrafix
roger999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 12:31 PM   #5542
Tech Addict
 
Geberit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 744
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roger999 View Post
Does anyone know what car was using Juho Levanen on ETS? 6 or 6.1?
The same car as at the ATS!

http://ats.redrc.net/gallery/?nggpage=3
Geberit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 03:29 PM   #5543
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,278
Trader Rating: 86 (100%+)
Default

i recently bought a used 6.1 and just figured its using tc6 c hubs. does it effect any handling?
or i have to use 6.1 c hubs to make it drive it should be?
littlealex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 04:06 PM   #5544
Tech Champion
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,405
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by littlealex View Post
i recently bought a used 6.1 and just figured its using tc6 c hubs. does it effect any handling?
or i have to use 6.1 c hubs to make it drive it should be?
There is no geometry difference in the 2 hubs. The difference is the 6.1 hubs will fit an ECS driveshaft w/o dremeling it. You can run the old hubs on a 6.1 with no problem
__________________
Mike Gee

Awesomatix USA/Pyscho Cells Racing/LRP/Sweep Racing/RSD/Middle River Hobbies/Johns Mobile Raceway/TQ Wire/Avid
geeunit1014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 01:37 AM   #5545
Tech Master
 
evochick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sydney AU
Posts: 1,491
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Just fitted the tc6 caster hubs, huge improvement over the new ones, almost no movement in them at all,

not the same motorsport but couldnt resist when i painted my first shell



Beth.
__________________
UnRetired
evochick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 02:59 AM   #5546
Tech Addict
 
Luke Hobson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: newark, nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 526
Send a message via MSN to Luke Hobson
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roger999 View Post
Does anyone know what car was using Juho Levanen on ETS? 6 or 6.1?
He was running an inbetween car, all the new plastics but still the old roll bars.

By the end of the weekend (final 3) we got the car down to 13.0 pace (pace fast enough for top 5 runs, but the track was pretty strange (very bumpy) so it was hard to find a balance between soaking up the bumps (more like jumps) and not traction rolling.

The main changes from the ATS set up were thinner shock oil, moved the front shocks to middle hole on arm, and thicker rear diff oil (up to AE 1k)

Hth
Luke
__________________
Luke Hobson
Awesomatix - Xenon - Godzilla Paint - Moorespeed - ToniSport - MBmodels

http://luke-hobson.blogspot.com/
Luke Hobson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 08:48 AM   #5547
Tech Fanatic
 
roger999's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 806
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke Hobson View Post
He was running an inbetween car, all the new plastics but still the old roll bars.

By the end of the weekend (final 3) we got the car down to 13.0 pace (pace fast enough for top 5 runs, but the track was pretty strange (very bumpy) so it was hard to find a balance between soaking up the bumps (more like jumps) and not traction rolling.

The main changes from the ATS set up were thinner shock oil, moved the front shocks to middle hole on arm, and thicker rear diff oil (up to AE 1k)

Hth
Luke
Where can i find that setup? Sorry got it on AE web site
__________________
r o g e r g r a f i x . c o m

facebook.com/rogergrafix
roger999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 08:53 AM   #5548
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 96
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Would anyone give a try at some basic maintenance that the TC6 requires? Lets assume the car gets a solid practice & race in every week & is running 17.5T on high traction carpet.
Walter Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 10:01 AM   #5549
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walter Johnson View Post
Would anyone give a try at some basic maintenance that the TC6 requires? Lets assume the car gets a solid practice & race in every week & is running 17.5T on high traction carpet.
I would recommend:

taking the shocks off, checking the suspension for free movement/excessive slop.

Check the shocks for air/similar pressure... refill/bleed if necessary

Checking the front and rear hub bearing for smooth operation

Checking blades for excessive wear.

Check diff(s)

Once that sort of stuff is ok I would usually put my car back together, unfasten the top deck and refasten to ensure the chassis is flat... then go through and reset ride height, camber, toe, droop, etc.

If you have more time you can obviously do more...check CVAs, completely rebuild diffs or shocks.
__________________
Steve Weiss
TEAM ASSOCIATED -- REEDY -- SANWA -- PROTOFORM -- P1 BRAND -- TUNING HAUS -- TEAM KINWALD -- TEAM STEVE INTERNATIONAL
Steve Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 01:10 PM   #5550
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 377
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Another thing to check if you are running on carpet are the pulleys. You can pick up a lot of fibers in the pulleys and it can clump up and in some cases cause your belt to skip. Clean with an exacto blade between races.
wcalaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Associated TC5 RCknight Electric On-Road 13249 01-14-2017 07:34 AM
THE TRACK RACEWAY Apex Mid Atlantic RC Racing 28937 01-14-2017 07:26 AM
Team Associated TC6 KostaG Electric On-Road 8 07-04-2010 12:42 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:30 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0