R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-16-2012, 05:15 AM   #5461
Tech Master
 
AM03GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,015
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roger999 View Post
Thanks. So i think at the moment i can use only c hubs and arms?
You can't use the 6.1 c-hubs with the reg 6 steering blocks as the new c-hubs are wider. using this combo will restrict your maximum turning radius by a significant amount. you'll have to stick with the regular 6 c-hubs until you can make the full change with bearings and cvds...
__________________
Associated // Reedy // Radiopost // XP Digital // Parma PSE // Integy
AM03GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 07:13 AM   #5462
Tech Fanatic
 
roger999's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 832
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AM03GT View Post
You can't use the 6.1 c-hubs with the reg 6 steering blocks as the new c-hubs are wider. using this combo will restrict your maximum turning radius by a significant amount. you'll have to stick with the regular 6 c-hubs until you can make the full change with bearings and cvds...
Ok. Thanks a million.
__________________
facebook.com/rogergrafix
roger999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 07:27 AM   #5463
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,142
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Also, are you guys using some type of battery strap to secure the lipos, or tape? I'd like to use a strap, so if you guys know of one that works well in this car, please link me to it, thanks

Edit: just used that little cool search tool and saw someone said the top photon strap works. Can anyone confirm this? Also looks as if the AE eco conversion straps may be long enough. Thanks again
cleblanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 08:37 AM   #5464
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: オランダ
Posts: 312
Default

I use tape. I sanded the carbon "bars" and put some heat shrink around it, because my tape was snapping now and then, result: battery came loose

You could use a strap too, but i prefer tape.
__________________
株式会社 ヨコモ
dennisV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 08:39 AM   #5465
Tech Master
 
burgboyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Da 'Burg
Posts: 1,247
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dennisV View Post
I use tape. I sanded the carbon "bars" and put some heat shrink around it, because my tape was snapping now and then, result: battery came loose

You could use a strap too, but i prefer tape.
+1
__________________
Got Droop???
Speed Passion....Speed Power....Serpent America/Desoto Racing.
burgboyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 09:14 AM   #5466
Tech Fanatic
 
roger999's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 832
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cleblanc View Post
Also, are you guys using some type of battery strap to secure the lipos, or tape? I'd like to use a strap, so if you guys know of one that works well in this car, please link me to it, thanks

Edit: just used that little cool search tool and saw someone said the top photon strap works. Can anyone confirm this? Also looks as if the AE eco conversion straps may be long enough. Thanks again
http://www.rcmart.com/rc-battery-str...h=595_747_1499

will do
__________________
facebook.com/rogergrafix
roger999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 09:28 AM   #5467
Tech Adept
 
AeRacer805's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Round Rock, Tx
Posts: 199
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cleblanc View Post
Also, are you guys using some type of battery strap to secure the lipos, or tape? I'd like to use a strap, so if you guys know of one that works well in this car, please link me to it, thanks

Edit: just used that little cool search tool and saw someone said the top photon strap works. Can anyone confirm this? Also looks as if the AE eco conversion straps may be long enough. Thanks again
I use the black Top Photon strap and it works great
__________________
"When you are not practicing someone else is and when you meet that person they will beat you."

TC6, Top Photon, B4.1, SC10 FT, Orion Motors and Servos, Tekin RS
AeRacer805 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 09:39 AM   #5468
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,142
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Thanks guys on the info for the battery straps!! No tape for me!
cleblanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 09:46 AM   #5469
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 84
Default

Wouldn't a battery strap cause tweak?
jordan.norwood@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 09:47 AM   #5470
Tech Elite
 
jrz93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: jersey
Posts: 2,872
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cleblanc View Post
Also, are you guys using some type of battery strap to secure the lipos, or tape? I'd like to use a strap, so if you guys know of one that works well in this car, please link me to it, thanks

Edit: just used that little cool search tool and saw someone said the top photon strap works. Can anyone confirm this? Also looks as if the AE eco conversion straps may be long enough. Thanks again
i use the tekno rc strap available from great planes
only need the long one but small ones can be used as replacements for other cars

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...battery+straps
__________________
---NEMO RACING USA--BULLITT--BETA TIRES--CRITTERS HOBBYSHOP--HOBBYWING--TRINITY--TOBAMEISTER PAINT--NYRT--GMK Supply--
--Critters Raceway--Barnstormers Raceway--360v2 Raceway
jrz93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 10:17 AM   #5471
Tech Fanatic
 
rc pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Airdire, AB, Canada
Posts: 764
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jordan.norwood@ View Post
Wouldn't a battery strap cause tweak?
In most cases, Yes. The issue with the strap is that you need to put more tention on it than tape to keep the battery in place. If you setup your battery stops such that the battery fits in perfect and has no wiggle room, then the strap can work fine without excessive tension.

Personally, I setup my battery fit so that it drops in freely and can't move at all. I also put a small strip of double sided tape on the bottom of the battery (thin clear scotch tape from any retail store), and then I use battery tape as per instructions, with very light tension to prevent any tweaking. That sucker doesn't move and hasn't come out yet (knock on wood).
__________________
Team Associated - Reedy - Pro-Line - RC Depot - OS Engines - 110% Racing - LD Graphics
rc pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 11:39 AM   #5472
Tech Master
 
STUBYSLAP31's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,163
Trader Rating: 27 (97%+)
Default

CAN SOMEONE TELL ME WHAT THE DISTANCE IS FROM MOUNT TO MOUNT ON THE SHOCKS FULLY EXTANDED AND FULLY COMPRESSED

ALSO DOES ANYONE HAVE 1 COMPLETE SHOCK THEY WOULD LIKE TO SELL
__________________
TEAM ASSOCIATED / REEDY / PRO-LINE RACING / SCHELLE RACING / SCS NISSAN
AE CARS / PRO-LINE BODIES & TIRES / REEDY ESC & MOTORS & BATTERIES / SCHELLE NOVA SLIPPER AND ACCESSORIES
ROCKY MOUNTAIN R/C RACEWAY / COLORADO FAST TRACK

STUBYSLAP31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 12:07 PM   #5473
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,278
Trader Rating: 86 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STUBYSLAP31 View Post
CAN SOMEONE TELL ME WHAT THE DISTANCE IS FROM MOUNT TO MOUNT ON THE SHOCKS FULLY EXTANDED AND FULLY COMPRESSED

ALSO DOES ANYONE HAVE 1 COMPLETE SHOCK THEY WOULD LIKE TO SELL
i have a set of new never used tcx shocks for $50 shipped
pm me if interested
littlealex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 12:47 PM   #5474
Tech Master
 
wtcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,221
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STUBYSLAP31 View Post
CAN SOMEONE TELL ME WHAT THE DISTANCE IS FROM MOUNT TO MOUNT ON THE SHOCKS FULLY EXTANDED AND FULLY COMPRESSED

ALSO DOES ANYONE HAVE 1 COMPLETE SHOCK THEY WOULD LIKE TO SELL
Full extended it is around 63-64mm , depending on your build.
Compressed it is 50mm. Everything measured from end to end.
wtcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 02:45 PM   #5475
Tech Master
 
STUBYSLAP31's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,163
Trader Rating: 27 (97%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wtcc View Post
Full extended it is around 63-64mm , depending on your build.
Compressed it is 50mm. Everything measured from end to end.
Thank you
__________________
TEAM ASSOCIATED / REEDY / PRO-LINE RACING / SCHELLE RACING / SCS NISSAN
AE CARS / PRO-LINE BODIES & TIRES / REEDY ESC & MOTORS & BATTERIES / SCHELLE NOVA SLIPPER AND ACCESSORIES
ROCKY MOUNTAIN R/C RACEWAY / COLORADO FAST TRACK

STUBYSLAP31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Associated TC5 RCknight Electric On-Road 13254 05-12-2017 07:58 AM
THE TRACK RACEWAY Apex Mid Atlantic RC Racing 28952 05-01-2017 04:47 AM
Team Associated TC6 KostaG Electric On-Road 8 07-04-2010 11:42 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:33 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net