R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-06-2011, 03:15 PM   #4966
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,167
Trader Rating: 77 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jorgesimes View Post
here you go: New Parts for TC6.1
Nice. Thank you.
goin2drt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 03:20 PM   #4967
Tech Master
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lompoc, Ca.
Posts: 1,652
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jekyll08 View Post
is there a firm release date for the tc6.1
Technically the kit has been released. It's just a matter of time before they are in the hands of the dealers. Rick mentioned we should see them start to show up in the next week or two. Just in time for Christmas! I think there is mention of it a page or two back.

Check post #4898

Last edited by YoDog; 12-06-2011 at 03:41 PM.
YoDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 10:01 PM   #4968
Tech Apprentice
 
smedly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 56
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I broke the kit servo horn in my tc6 this last weekend. I've had a tc5 and another tc6 before and never broke the servo horn on either one.

I dug in my 8th scale stuff looking for a plastic servo horn that came with my RC8 which is more stout. I used a body reamer to open up the second hole, but I did not go right through the center of the hole because it would be too short. (the outer hole is way too long) As I reamed it, I progressed slowly with just the tip of the reamer and basically oblonged the hole and it is the exact size needed. After I was done, i cut the end off the servo horn and shaped it with a dremel.

I run aluminum horns on my rc8 and rc8t, so these were just sitting around. I figured i could buy extra tc6 servo horns but risk breaking more of them. Also, when i built the tc6 kit I followed the servo saver set-up of 0.5mm between the c-clip and bottom of the servo saver nut, so I didn't feel like backing off the nut was the solution as some of my fellow racers have said.

Definitely should never break an 8th scale servo horn on a TC.

The f servo horn is 25 spline and is used for futaba and savox.


Quote:
Originally Posted by zi032 View Post
can anyone help me find a replacement servo arm for my tc6. I used the f from the kit as I think was suggested somewhere in this thread the servo is savox 1251mg and i had trouble getting it to slide onto the servo anyway.
__________________
Brad "Smedly" Dodrill

Sponsors: GO-Engines-USA, Fantom Racing, Tekin, Upgrade, RC Sure-Start.
smedly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 10:35 PM   #4969
Tech Elite
 
Odin544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smedly View Post
Definitely should never break an 8th scale servo horn on a TC.
Definitely shouldn't. But hit something hard enough and something is gonna break. If not the servo horn, maybe something more expensive. Something to think about.

I've stripped the ball stud out of mine once so far. But that's also one of the cheapest parts on the car. So I dont mind replacing it every once in a while.
Odin544 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 06:21 AM   #4970
Tech Master
 
burgboyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Da 'Burg
Posts: 1,247
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dennisV View Post
I have exactly the same "problem". But it seems that the diff is holding well. I havent raced with it yet, but will next Sunday.
I ran mine last night. Practice runs, 3 heats and a main with no leaks or issues with the diffs at all. Just the boards kept getting in the way of TQ runs!!

Very minor aesthetic mold flaw is all it is with mine. No big deal!!!
__________________
Got Droop???
Speed Passion....Speed Power....Serpent America/Desoto Racing.

Last edited by burgboyz; 12-07-2011 at 08:31 AM.
burgboyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 06:33 AM   #4971
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Bronx, NY
Posts: 163
Default

Spool or diff in the front? and why.

New to carpet racing i have the diff up front now.
Shortbusallstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 07:52 AM   #4972
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: オランダ
Posts: 312
Default

Depends on driving style, which class and which track you run at

@burgboyz ah good. I can't wait to test it out Sunday.
__________________
株式会社 ヨコモ
dennisV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 04:27 PM   #4973
Tech Master
 
Big Features's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Currituck, North Carolina
Posts: 1,879
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Got to run my car today with the new diff and spool and I'm very impressed with the quality and smoothness. Its the smoothest gear diff I've found.
I didnt see any mold deformaties, mine must be newer.

Mike
__________________
Mike Kling
Team Associated REEDY Powered
JConcepts TXD Skin Graphix
Big Features is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 02:08 PM   #4974
Tech Regular
 
tr1kstanc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 357
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default Arm reamers

Hi guys. What size arm reamers do I need for the TC6 suspension arms? Wondering if people use reamers and/or drill bits to accomplish this task.
tr1kstanc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 02:16 PM   #4975
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France
Posts: 812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tr1kstanc3 View Post
Hi guys. What size arm reamers do I need for the TC6 suspension arms? Wondering if people use reamers and/or drill bits to accomplish this task.
3mm if it is what I think you need to do, ie, inner hinge pins in wishbones.
__________________
Electriquement votre...

Drink EARTH water and save lives! in support of WFP
olly986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 02:16 PM   #4976
Tech Master
 
Chaz955i's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 1,012
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tr1kstanc3 View Post
Hi guys. What size arm reamers do I need for the TC6 suspension arms? Wondering if people use reamers and/or drill bits to accomplish this task.
Have you tried fitting them yet? My kit went together without having to do any work on the arms.
__________________
At The Gate Bizzos
Chaz955i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 02:24 PM   #4977
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France
Posts: 812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chaz955i View Post
Have you tried fitting them yet? My kit went together without having to do any work on the arms.
out of maybe 10 different arms between 2 cars, some were a little stiff and some fitted perfectly..luck of the draw
__________________
Electriquement votre...

Drink EARTH water and save lives! in support of WFP
olly986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 02:50 PM   #4978
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 161
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by olly986 View Post
out of maybe 10 different arms between 2 cars, some were a little stiff and some fitted perfectly..luck of the draw
I found on my kit it was not the arms but the hinge pins so before reaming the arms check the pins by rolling them on a flat surface
trailblazer04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 04:30 PM   #4979
Tech Master
 
cwoods34's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Indy-freakin'-ana
Posts: 1,156
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trailblazer04 View Post
I found on my kit it was not the arms but the hinge pins so before reaming the arms check the pins by rolling them on a flat surface
I had an outer hinge pin that was machined about .50-.65mm too small, and caused a ton of play with the caster block. Otherwise, all of the arms in my kit were perfect!
__________________
Stop holding bitterness deep in your bum soul.
cwoods34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 06:07 AM   #4980
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Bronx, NY
Posts: 163
Default

I replaced the plastic spacers with aluminum for the toe & wheel base to avoid the slopp havent tested yet but on the bench she feels smooth
Shortbusallstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
THE TRACK RACEWAY Apex Mid Atlantic RC Racing 28961 07-11-2017 01:29 PM
Team Associated TC5 RCknight Electric On-Road 13254 05-12-2017 07:58 AM
Team Associated TC6 KostaG Electric On-Road 8 07-04-2010 11:42 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:04 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net