R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-16-2011, 09:08 PM   #4561
Tech Master
 
Mr.juarez's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,280
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

I barely got to begin to start putting the tc6 together. I started with the shocks first and once finished I noticed the springs free floating. Is this normal? They only tend to have some what of tension once the collars are almost all the way down.
__________________
TRF-417, KYOSHO SCR-SP
Mr.juarez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 11:56 PM   #4562
Tech Master
 
pcar951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cow Town
Posts: 1,691
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.juarez View Post
I barely got to begin to start putting the tc6 together. I started with the shocks first and once finished I noticed the springs free floating. Is this normal? They only tend to have some what of tension once the collars are almost all the way down.
Yup normal, get them on the car and the spring slop will be reduced once you set the droop. Don't forget not to thread the rod end ball cups all the way onto the shock shafts or you may not get full suspension down travel. I think the manual tells you what the overall shock length should be.
__________________
Jim Chapman
PM Hobbycraft | RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Reds Racing
pcar951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 12:34 AM   #4563
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France
Posts: 812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.juarez View Post
I barely got to begin to start putting the tc6 together. I started with the shocks first and once finished I noticed the springs free floating. Is this normal? They only tend to have some what of tension once the collars are almost all the way down.
And don't forget to make a mark on the top part and ring (permanent marker line will do) before you unscrew the rings, this way you can count how many turns you need to compress the springs and have the same amount for each shock, front/rear , left/right.
__________________
Electriquement votre...

Drink EARTH water and save lives! in support of WFP
olly986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 02:13 AM   #4564
Tech Master
 
Mr.juarez's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,280
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

thanks guys. so far i spent 4 hours taking my time and i did the shocks, diffs, bulkheads and the axles and ca'd glue the chassis, towers and top plate.

now no matter what i freaking do one of the axle is binding badly. no set screw just the pin in it seems as its getting stuck and it does not spin freely. the other 3 do, but this one stays at one position and it wont budge im thinking defective pin or cva axle?
__________________
TRF-417, KYOSHO SCR-SP
Mr.juarez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 02:18 AM   #4565
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Staten island,ny
Posts: 295
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Hey I have a question I currently have a tc5 with the exotek chassis. Should I upgrade to the tc6 right now. Or should I wait. To upgrade. If I should choose to upgrade you think the tc6 is the best choose. Thanks for the help
sczrface85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 02:35 AM   #4566
Tech Addict
 
Geberit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.juarez View Post
thanks guys. so far i spent 4 hours taking my time and i did the shocks, diffs, bulkheads and the axles and ca'd glue the chassis, towers and top plate.

now no matter what i freaking do one of the axle is binding badly. no set screw just the pin in it seems as its getting stuck and it does not spin freely. the other 3 do, but this one stays at one position and it wont budge im thinking defective pin or cva axle?
Had same problem with one of my kits! One axle was machined too little so the cup joint didn't go in enough and scubbed on the inside wall. They just have to give you a new axle (the part that come the bearings on).

Regards, L
Geberit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 02:38 AM   #4567
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France
Posts: 812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.juarez View Post
thanks guys. so far i spent 4 hours taking my time and i did the shocks, diffs, bulkheads and the axles and ca'd glue the chassis, towers and top plate.

now no matter what i freaking do one of the axle is binding badly. no set screw just the pin in it seems as its getting stuck and it does not spin freely. the other 3 do, but this one stays at one position and it wont budge im thinking defective pin or cva axle?
Yep. it is know to happen, just contact AE for a replacement, they should do this quickly.
__________________
Electriquement votre...

Drink EARTH water and save lives! in support of WFP
olly986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 02:42 AM   #4568
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France
Posts: 812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sczrface85 View Post
Hey I have a question I currently have a tc5 with the exotek chassis. Should I upgrade to the tc6 right now. Or should I wait. To upgrade. If I should choose to upgrade you think the tc6 is the best choose. Thanks for the help
You could have read a few pages back, but if the Exotek TC5 was better than TC6 we would all be racing your car

Seriously, wait for the kit to be supplied with gear diff if this comes out soon, I guess it will be, all other makes do now.

TC5 was and still is a good chassis and Exotek helps a lot for balance.
__________________
Electriquement votre...

Drink EARTH water and save lives! in support of WFP
olly986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 03:32 AM   #4569
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Staten island,ny
Posts: 295
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Ok I keep an eye out for it but in your opinion you would upgrade
sczrface85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 04:40 AM   #4570
Tech Master
 
Buckaroo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,503
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sczrface85 View Post
Ok I keep an eye out for it but in your opinion you would upgrade
Without question and upgrade is necessary if you have the desire and funding.
__________________
Tom Keith

Tekin & Sweep, thanks for all that you do for you know who!

Associated/T.O.P./Mugen/Fantom/Spektrum/Savox
Buckaroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 05:21 AM   #4571
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Staten island,ny
Posts: 295
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

ok my next question which one do you think is the best kit out the tc6 xray top or serpant
sczrface85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 05:28 AM   #4572
Tech Master
 
Chaz955i's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 1,012
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sczrface85 View Post
ok my next question which one do you think is the best kit out the tc6 xray top or serpant
They are all capabable with the right driver and setup. The answers will likely be biased as this is a TC6 thread. Your question needs to be more specific.
__________________
At The Gate Bizzos
Chaz955i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 07:23 AM   #4573
Tech Master
 
Mr.juarez's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,280
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by olly986 View Post
Yep. it is know to happen, just contact AE for a replacement, they should do this quickly.
Ah crap!. I'll just go buy a new one and call once it's all up and running. Hopefully I'll finish it tonight, all get back with more newb questions later on
__________________
TRF-417, KYOSHO SCR-SP
Mr.juarez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 07:49 AM   #4574
Tech Master
 
pcar951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cow Town
Posts: 1,691
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.juarez View Post
thanks guys. so far i spent 4 hours taking my time and i did the shocks, diffs, bulkheads and the axles and ca'd glue the chassis, towers and top plate.

now no matter what i freaking do one of the axle is binding badly. no set screw just the pin in it seems as its getting stuck and it does not spin freely. the other 3 do, but this one stays at one position and it wont budge im thinking defective pin or cva axle?
I had a couple of shafts bind as well. The coupler split when I threaded the set screw in the first time, caused it to bind badly, even when I took the set screw back out. Ended up replacing the coupler.
__________________
Jim Chapman
PM Hobbycraft | RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Reds Racing
pcar951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 09:20 AM   #4575
Tech Rookie
 
zi032's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 7
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

How far away is everyones drive belt to their battery. I feel like mines going to rub. There is mayybe a .5 mm gap. Is this normal? I feel like somethings not right. The battery brace lines up almost perfectly with the belt. My battery is 46.5 mm wide which is pretty average comparing size of many hardshell 2s lipo. Still waiting on screws that were missing in my kit...

Last edited by zi032; 11-17-2011 at 09:50 AM.
zi032 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
THE TRACK RACEWAY Apex Mid Atlantic RC Racing 28961 07-11-2017 01:29 PM
Team Associated TC5 RCknight Electric On-Road 13254 05-12-2017 07:58 AM
Team Associated TC6 KostaG Electric On-Road 8 07-04-2010 11:42 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:49 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net