R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-10-2011, 12:53 PM   #4501
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I have a setup/preference question for you guys...

Looking over the AE website, it appears as though ~90% of the published setups are using the "rearward" battery mounting position.

What do you guys prefer? Have you done any back to back testing w/ the battery in the front/rearward positions?

If you can, include what your local track is like... asphalt, carpet, traction level, etc.
JamesL_71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 01:02 PM   #4502
Tech Master
 
wtcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,227
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I always use the backward position as it is the only way to balance the tireload symmetrical with the motor as second heaviest part so far back in the chassis. I also have the connectors facing towards the front to achieve nice balance. I use this setup for carpet and asphalt.

By the way: I read in a thread about chassis flex and am now wondering if anybody is cutting his topdeck. I heard of someone narrowing his lower deck behind the droop screws. he seems pretty happy with this change...
wtcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 02:18 PM   #4503
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 365
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Jonesy112
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wtcc View Post
I always use the backward position as it is the only way to balance the tireload symmetrical with the motor as second heaviest part so far back in the chassis. I also have the connectors facing towards the front to achieve nice balance. I use this setup for carpet and asphalt.

By the way: I read in a thread about chassis flex and am now wondering if anybody is cutting his topdeck. I heard of someone narrowing his lower deck behind the droop screws. he seems pretty happy with this change...
I havent cut the top deck, but I have cut the rear shock tower in the middle help the rear get a bit more flex. I am quite happy with it for our club racing, as we have little grip down to the track getting changed weekly and oval racing happening 2 days a week. However, when I go to the big races i need to put the standard rear shock tower back on it. It produces too much rear grip and make the car push on a high grip track
__________________
Michael Jones

RC America - X-Ray - Team EA Motorsports - RockStar Paint - Apex RC Proshop - ProOne Tires
Jonesy112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 04:58 PM   #4504
Tech Master
 
cwoods34's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Indy-freakin'-ana
Posts: 1,156
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

I have butchered my chassis and upper deck, and it is dialed on low/medium bite carpet. Ill post pics this weekend when I get a chance.

I always like a rear-weight bias because it seems to keep the back a bit more stuck, which means I can dial more steering in.
__________________
Stop holding bitterness deep in your bum soul.
cwoods34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 04:18 AM   #4505
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: オランダ
Posts: 312
Default

I run stock. Have not modified my (carbon) parts yet. I find that the car has more than enough grip on the track where i run.
__________________
株式会社 ヨコモ
dennisV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 11:57 AM   #4506
Tech Master
 
wtcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,227
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Thanks guys! I am looking forward on some pictures to see how you tuned your chassis!
wtcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 12:16 PM   #4507
Tech Elite
 
LMRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Rome, GA
Posts: 2,739
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

I run the forward position on the battery but I do that because I like having as much weight as forward as possible. We've got some 180* switchbacks at our local carpet track and a 180* turn instead of a sweeper at the end of the straight section at our local Asphault track so I want the back end to rotate as easily as possible
LMRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 03:22 PM   #4508
Tech Adept
 
epowr_Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: St.Maarten
Posts: 115
Default pinion Gear issues

Hi guys maybe someone can help, i just done building my new TC-6 kit,
but im having trouble with the pinion gear /spur ,
im running the Stock 87T spur and a robinson 34T pinion, can't get it to mesh,pionion seems to be way to big to fit , now both are 48 pitch ,what am i doing wrong ? do i need a adjustable motor mont or there's a trick to get it to fit ?
__________________
Think, Feel, Operate: Control The Power Of Dreams...
Serpent 966TE,.21 Flash Novarossi, AE TC-6 ,17.5 R Speedpassion, Xray NT1 2011 Spec, .12 Novarossi, Ko Propo radio & Servos

Last edited by epowr_Racing; 11-11-2011 at 03:36 PM.
epowr_Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 03:49 PM   #4509
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France
Posts: 812
Default

you probably need to get the 80t spur gear, 34t is very big, you just cannot fit anysize spur/pinion, you are limited to the space of the motor mount,
__________________
Electriquement votre...

Drink EARTH water and save lives! in support of WFP
olly986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 04:22 PM   #4510
Tech Adept
 
epowr_Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: St.Maarten
Posts: 115
Default

Thanks ,
well guess ill just order one , any news on the new diff from Ae anyone knows,



Quote:
Originally Posted by olly986 View Post
you probably need to get the 80t spur gear, 34t is very big, you just cannot fit anysize spur/pinion, you are limited to the space of the motor mount,
__________________
Think, Feel, Operate: Control The Power Of Dreams...
Serpent 966TE,.21 Flash Novarossi, AE TC-6 ,17.5 R Speedpassion, Xray NT1 2011 Spec, .12 Novarossi, Ko Propo radio & Servos
epowr_Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 11:03 PM   #4511
Tech Apprentice
 
ScottyTC4NZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 76
Send a message via MSN to ScottyTC4NZ
Default Just Brought New Kit

Hi Guys

Just upgraded from TC4 Factory Team to a TC6

Very Nice kit

Just wondering if anyone else was missing parts when you got yours?

I am missing C-Clip that you use on the servo saver shaft, does anyone know what size it is?

Next Question is does anyone put C.A. Glue around the edges of the Carbon before you use it?

will post some pictures when i finish it.
__________________
Jamie Scott
Onroad Race Director
O.R.C.C.C
Titan ARC R10 2013 / Blitz / Sweep / Team Titan
Titan ARC R10 Upgrade / Blitz / Sweep / Team Titan
ScottyTC4NZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 11:18 PM   #4512
Tech Elite
 
bhambrent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: B'ham, AL.
Posts: 2,026
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottyTC4NZ View Post
Hi Guys

Just upgraded from TC4 Factory Team to a TC6

Very Nice kit

Just wondering if anyone else was missing parts when you got yours?

I am missing C-Clip that you use on the servo saver shaft, does anyone know what size it is?

Next Question is does anyone put C.A. Glue around the edges of the Carbon before you use it?

will post some pictures when i finish it.
Check again I found mine in an there bag. I don't recall which one.
bhambrent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 11:22 PM   #4513
Tech Master
 
pcar951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cow Town
Posts: 1,691
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

yup, it's in there in another bag.
pcar951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 11:48 PM   #4514
Tech Master
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lompoc, Ca.
Posts: 1,652
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcar951 View Post
yup, it's in there in another bag.
I found that it's best to open all the bags and sort out all the parts and hardware because the packaging isn't always intuitive. I found that all the parts are in the kit just not always where you think it should be. The preferred screws for the chassis are actually planned for other locations on the car but they fit better for chassis plate instead.
Read back a bunch of pages and you will see the discussion regarding the great screw debate.
YoDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 11:53 PM   #4515
Tech Apprentice
 
ScottyTC4NZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 76
Send a message via MSN to ScottyTC4NZ
Default

Hi Guys

I'm a dumb -ass

Found it hiding inthe chassis bag,

So any tips anyone wants to share
__________________
Jamie Scott
Onroad Race Director
O.R.C.C.C
Titan ARC R10 2013 / Blitz / Sweep / Team Titan
Titan ARC R10 Upgrade / Blitz / Sweep / Team Titan
ScottyTC4NZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
THE TRACK RACEWAY Apex Mid Atlantic RC Racing 28961 07-11-2017 01:29 PM
Team Associated TC5 RCknight Electric On-Road 13254 05-12-2017 07:58 AM
Team Associated TC6 KostaG Electric On-Road 8 07-04-2010 11:42 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:00 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net