R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-22-2011, 09:22 AM   #3901
Tech Master
 
ABN Hoosier's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: El Paso, Texas
Posts: 1,004
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rangerjkb View Post
ABN: man that looks awesome and nice paint! Will try to get mine built in time for Saturday's race, but may be using a borrowed platform till I can get mine built properly this weekend without the rush. I'm realy looking forward to joining yall on the Onroad and having fun with it. Can't wait to see you race your new car this Sat. See you out out there.
Thanks Jason, I hope I can make it, but like I said, My Son has football so it is probably kinda slim I make it there on time. But i want to stop by at least.

Quote:
Originally Posted by olly986 View Post
ABN HOOSIER you cool DUDE!!!! Where did you get these wheels?
Uhhhh, I got them at my LHS, but here is a link, they are Dynamite (I dont know if they are any good, he gave them to me for like $10 USD so I got them for just messin around in the driveway with my car).

Link> http://www.rcplanet.com/Dynamite_Whe..._p/dyn7966.htm
__________________
CLICK HERE! CHECK-OUT RCTEN.COM FORUM!
☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ Team Associated ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
RC8TCE ☆☆ RC8TCE-V4 ☆☆ RC8.2☆☆ SC104X4
ABN Hoosier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 11:10 AM   #3902
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France
Posts: 812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ABN Hoosier View Post
Thanks Jason, I hope I can make it, but like I said, My Son has football so it is probably kinda slim I make it there on time. But i want to stop by at least.



Uhhhh, I got them at my LHS, but here is a link, they are Dynamite (I dont know if they are any good, he gave them to me for like $10 USD so I got them for just messin around in the driveway with my car).

Link> http://www.rcplanet.com/Dynamite_Whe..._p/dyn7966.htm
Can't remember writting "You cool dude"
__________________
Electriquement votre...

Drink EARTH water and save lives! in support of WFP
olly986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 07:36 PM   #3903
Tech Elite
 
rangerjkb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 2,321
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to rangerjkb
Default

OUCH...received my shipment today of everything to begin building and go Onroad racing this weekend with TC6.....but they forgot to ship the kit, lol! Now I can prep/paint the body, etc. Won't receive car till next week, but a good friend is fixing me up with a great loaner platform to participate in this weekends race
__________________
Jason Burks
--------------------------------
Murfdogg Products~Psycho Cells Racing~Hal's Hobby Warehouse~Avid RC~Kal-Gard~VP Powermaster
rangerjkb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 01:13 AM   #3904
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 389
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Just wanted to add my experience on the defective kits..I built my TC6 a few weeks ago and ran into binding issues with 2 of the CVDs (pins) and 2 of the screws were too short, almost like they were cut. I called Associated customer service, told them the problem, had the parts in my mailbox next day. All new CVDs and full bag of screws. He didn't ask for the receipt and it was an easy process. Now I do believe there are some QC issues at Associated, I've built other kits from them and every now and then run into a missing screw or something, but nothing to make me stop buying from them.
__________________
B5 | B5M | TC6.2
Hobbywing | Savox | Airtronics
RC.Jon22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 02:04 AM   #3905
Tech Regular
 
crusty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 423
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I have bought AE kits for years and have had F all problems with them. They are always great value for money. The instructions and support are in english which to me is very important,having built some kits with only japanese text and just pictures to go by.
crusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 05:37 AM   #3906
Tech Adept
 
Jamesalex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 185
Default

I am wondering if you guys can help.

Just working out on everything possibly needed to make the switch to the TC6, am I am lead to believe there is a mod on the diffs that you do in turms of the screw, using one from one of there offroad cars. Can anyone tell me if this is correct and if possible what parts number(s) are needed for this.


Regards

James
__________________
www.cmcc.org.uk
www.mmrflux.co.uk
www.hpiracing.co.uk
www.hotbodiesonline.com
Jamesalex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 05:43 AM   #3907
Tech Master
 
Chaz955i's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 1,012
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamesalex View Post
I am wondering if you guys can help.

Just working out on everything possibly needed to make the switch to the TC6, am I am lead to believe there is a mod on the diffs that you do in turms of the screw, using one from one of there offroad cars. Can anyone tell me if this is correct and if possible what parts number(s) are needed for this.


Regards

James
I believe it is the t-nut from the b4 t4 line of buggies. The stock part works fine as long as you make sure the lock nut is completely bottomed out in the t-nut before you attempt to assemble. If not you will not catch enough of the thread and have a tough time. Also make sure to compress the diff spring and don't overtighten. Once you feel the spring coil bind it is time to stop and back it off. These diffs are really not as hard to build as some make them out to be.
__________________
At The Gate Bizzos
Chaz955i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 07:52 AM   #3908
Tech Elite
 
Warren Weaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NASCAR COUNTRY
Posts: 2,408
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamesalex View Post
I am wondering if you guys can help.

Just working out on everything possibly needed to make the switch to the TC6, am I am lead to believe there is a mod on the diffs that you do in turms of the screw, using one from one of there offroad cars. Can anyone tell me if this is correct and if possible what parts number(s) are needed for this.


Regards

James
The trick is to have a small socket that fits the stock t nut i just tap it with a small hammer and it inserts the nut all the way down i only stripped one on my tc5 before i used a socket and have used them in all of my diffs with no issues.
__________________
R1 WURKS-AWESOMATIX USA-LRP-TQ WIRE-PROTOTYPE RACING-MCFACTORY MOTORSPORTS-SWEEP RACING-TXDSKINGRAPHIX-HOBMAX-THE RUG-TEAM EZDUZIT
R.I.P. MY FRIEND JDUB MISSED BUT NEVER FORGOTTEN
Warren Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 07:57 AM   #3909
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 541
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamesalex View Post
I am wondering if you guys can help.

Just working out on everything possibly needed to make the switch to the TC6, am I am lead to believe there is a mod on the diffs that you do in turms of the screw, using one from one of there offroad cars. Can anyone tell me if this is correct and if possible what parts number(s) are needed for this.


Regards

James
I didn't have a problem with the stock one, but i notice that could be a weak spot. Just buy part #6575, direct fit.
__________________
Team AME/ORCA
https://www.facebook.com/strawberryrcdesigns
http://www.strawberryrcdesigns.pt/
jorgesimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 08:01 AM   #3910
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamesalex View Post
I am wondering if you guys can help.

Just working out on everything possibly needed to make the switch to the TC6, am I am lead to believe there is a mod on the diffs that you do in turms of the screw, using one from one of there offroad cars. Can anyone tell me if this is correct and if possible what parts number(s) are needed for this.


Regards

James
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...-Locking-T-Nut

or

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...tial-Screw-Kit



It is the locking T-nut that you need. And I strongly recommend it. Especially with the Slipper Spool. As I was building my Spool with the kit nut/retainer, as I was tightening it the nut stripped out the inside of the retainer and spun itself off the screw... and it fired the damn thrust spring out of the outdrive like a cannon. It took me an hour to find it, but Im glad it didn't put anyone's eye out.

Pick up a couple of the T-nuts as backups and use them for all the Spools/ball diffs you build.
JamesL_71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 09:41 AM   #3911
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 36
Default please help lol

hi guys can someone help me how do i get rear toe its my first time adjusting rear toe as im going by the set up sheet sorry for asking a stupid question
bunny32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 09:48 AM   #3912
Tech Champion
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,283
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to liljohn1064 Send a message via MSN to liljohn1064 Send a message via Yahoo to liljohn1064
Default

Waiting patiently for the gear diff car.
__________________
John Higgins
liljohn1064 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 10:18 AM   #3913
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by liljohn1064 View Post
Waiting patiently for the gear diff car.
go and see
http://www.redrc.net/2011/09/spec-r-...rs/#more-47541
mos-leung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 10:25 AM   #3914
Tech Elite
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,129
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Default

spec r's are shit my friend
hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 10:30 AM   #3915
Tech Master
 
Chaz955i's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 1,012
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bunny32 View Post
hi guys can someone help me how do i get rear toe its my first time adjusting rear toe as im going by the set up sheet sorry for asking a stupid question
You get it by shimming the inner hinge pin blocks. There are instructions and shim charts in the assembly manual.
__________________
At The Gate Bizzos
Chaz955i is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Associated TC5 RCknight Electric On-Road 13249 01-14-2017 07:34 AM
THE TRACK RACEWAY Apex Mid Atlantic RC Racing 28937 01-14-2017 07:26 AM
Team Associated TC6 KostaG Electric On-Road 8 07-04-2010 12:42 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:22 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0