R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-28-2011, 02:14 PM   #3061
Tech Elite
 
303slowdown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rapid City SD.
Posts: 2,234
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
I don't get why Spec-R would make gear diffs for the SCHUMACHER, but not the TC6. Even the TA05 and FF03 got some love.
You gonna try the tc6 now ?
__________________
Ryan Borgheiinck
303slowdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 02:26 PM   #3062
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,050
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 303slowdown View Post
You gonna try the tc6 now ?
Nope.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 04:01 PM   #3063
Tech Elite
 
CristianTabush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,693
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
I don't get why Spec-R would make gear diffs for the SCHUMACHER, but not the TC6. Even the TA05 and FF03 got some love.
Because the TC6 is newer. They are on the way and should be released soon...
__________________
REFLEX RACING/ RSD/ GIZMO RACING USA/ HOBBYWING/ AXON/ QTEQ/ TEAM PRIME
CristianTabush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 08:35 PM   #3064
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
I don't get why Spec-R would make gear diffs for the SCHUMACHER, but not the TC6. Even the TA05 and FF03 got some love.
Car maker like schumacher do not make gear one....but AE will make and release soon...
If spec-R make for AE and AE also have gear one. Which one do you like?
mos-leung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 09:26 PM   #3065
Tech Master
 
Verndog's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mos-leung View Post
Car maker like schumacher do not make gear one....but AE will make and release soon...
If spec-R make for AE and AE also have gear one. Which one do you like?
The one that takes the least amount of voodoo...my guess, the AE one.
Ask me where my Spec-R ECS drive shafts are after I had to rebuild them correctly with Xray pins....and they still build them this way and ship with bent soft pins!!

If my real job slows down anymore I just may build ECS driveshafts for the TC6...done right!
__________________
--->Dial-a-Grip for TC6
Kevin -- PPDBillet---TC6---Exoray 008
---Team Hoarders---
Verndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 12:21 AM   #3066
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick Hohwart View Post
I hope so but I am not optimistic. Sorry!



There are two diffs for the Yokomo BD5 that work in the TC6, one from Yokomo and one from Spec-R. I can't say for certain that the same modification is required for each but it should be.

First, the Spec-R diff is slightly too wide which means you will need to modify the main diff bearing holder so that the diff will fit. There should be a description of this mod in the Keven Hebert/TC6 question forum. You can also turn the diff in a lathe and remove material where the main bearings ride. I don't even think the need a lathe. If you can spin the diff (drill press or dremel?) you can sand the material away. You don't have to remove much.

Second, the drive cup is too small for the AE bone. Some people modify the dog bone or you can grind the cup (this is better). It does not take much to make the bone fit.



Blades.
can i use the AE gear diff in TC5R?
mos-leung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 12:45 AM   #3067
Tech Master
 
wtcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,148
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mos-leung View Post
can i use the AE gear diff in TC5R?
With enough shims to fit the wider location of the bulkheads it will work.


Yesterday I rebuild the car, cleaned everything, looked after the litemodz cvs, and so on. Again the Dial-a-grip left a good impression by helping a lot handling the disassembling. The car can be easily seperated without having a lot small parts fall apart. I like!

wtcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 01:40 AM   #3068
Tech Master
 
Owen RaCing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Valley
Posts: 1,940
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
I don't get why Spec-R would make gear diffs for the SCHUMACHER, but not the TC6. Even the TA05 and FF03 got some love.
Schumacher helped spec-r make that diff, I'm pretty sure. It uses Schumacher parts.
__________________
powered by anti-anxieties, sarcasm and chipotle
Owen RaCing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 02:34 AM   #3069
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 772
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mos-leung View Post
can i use the AE gear diff in TC5R?
Read this:
Team Associated TC5

:-)
__________________
Michal Abramowicz
http://abram.eu.org/gear_tc6.php
My setups there -> http://www.rc-setups.com
TC6!, TC5R, 12L4, 12R5.1, 10L2, 10R5, RC8T_CE_EL custom F1 chassis
http://www.wgtshop.com/
M.Abramowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 05:30 AM   #3070
Tech Master
 
Big Features's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Currituck, North Carolina
Posts: 1,858
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mos-leung View Post
Car maker like schumacher do not make gear one....but AE will make and release soon...
If spec-R make for AE and AE also have gear one. Which one do you like?
Schumacher does make a diff for the Mi3/Mi4
__________________
Mike Kling
Team Associated REEDY Powered
JConcepts TXD Skin Graphix
Big Features is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 10:11 PM   #3071
Tech Regular
 
P.I.M.P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 464
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Verndog View Post
The one that takes the least amount of voodoo...my guess, the AE one.
Ask me where my Spec-R ECS drive shafts are after I had to rebuild them correctly with Xray pins....and they still build them this way and ship with bent soft pins!!

If my real job slows down anymore I just may build ECS driveshafts for the TC6...done right!
hi verndog,

i have just bought your dial a grips and had them mounted onto the car as the instruction.."please correct me if im wrong".. they say set screw to be flush with the top of the dial a grip to get AE 0 block but why dose my down stops change by a 1 mm or so from the Ae 0 block to your dial a grip and it difference from Lfront,Rfront,Lrear,Rrear of the car when all set screw are flush with the top of the dial a grip to me by using the top set screw its very inaccurate i have no chassis tweak,no bent screws, shocks are off when testing the down stops so what i can see is which blocks are lying to me the AE blocks or the dial a grips all i know is when using the dial a grips my down stop set screws are all over the place but going back to the Ae blocks its all even agin
__________________
Vbc wildfire D06
clinton livingstone
P.I.M.P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 11:35 PM   #3072
Tech Master
 
Verndog's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by P.I.M.P View Post
hi verndog,

i have just bought your dial a grips and had them mounted onto the car as the instruction.."please correct me if im wrong".. they say set screw to be flush with the top of the dial a grip to get AE 0 block but why dose my down stops change by a 1 mm or so from the Ae 0 block to your dial a grip and it difference from Lfront,Rfront,Lrear,Rrear of the car when all set screw are flush with the top of the dial a grip to me by using the top set screw its very inaccurate i have no chassis tweak,no bent screws, shocks are off when testing the down stops so what i can see is which blocks are lying to me the AE blocks or the dial a grips all i know is when using the dial a grips my down stop set screws are all over the place but going back to the Ae blocks its all even agin
Hello Clint. A few things to check. First while tightening the main block screw be certain you are pushing down from the top with 1.5mm driver to be certain the block is locating against main screw, check after tightening there is tension on the top set screw. 2nd to be certain you are getting the correct height a feeler gage can be used (great tool for dialing in dive and squat angles with your new blocks) between block and chassis per instruction page, using this method assures they are perfect (.100 or 2.5mm feeler gage). 3rd it is quite possible you set everything (droop and height to AE 0 blocks that are tweaked from impact, the dial-a-grips are all 100% checked and matched in sets within +/-.0025" (.06mm), so they are very precise!

Lastly..on rears, using the stock plastic rear toe shims can influence the block location and make them difficult to adjust, as they take form from toe angles, so hard washer shims is recommended there (2nd to last note on instruction sheet), (5) 3mm stainless washers x.020 thick = 3 deg. rear toe.

One last check if you dont have feeler gages to check or dont want to purchase. Mount the arm with both blocks snug then back off 1/8 turn to let adjust, then screw the top locator set screw all the way down till you bottom out at end of travel, now back up EXACTLY 1 1/2 turns and you are back to the center of slot and exactly at correct 0 location.

You are correct that visual to set screw at top is just a quick aid, and set screw length can vary a little, but surprisingly their pretty close if you use an eye loop or magnifier to see real well.

Hope that helps.
Kevin
__________________
--->Dial-a-Grip for TC6
Kevin -- PPDBillet---TC6---Exoray 008
---Team Hoarders---
Verndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 12:53 AM   #3073
Tech Regular
 
P.I.M.P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 464
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Verndog View Post
Hello Clint. A few things to check. First while tightening the main block screw be certain you are pushing down from the top with 1.5mm driver to be certain the block is locating against main screw, check after tightening there is tension on the top set screw. 2nd to be certain you are getting the correct height a feeler gage can be used (great tool for dialing in dive and squat angles with your new blocks) between block and chassis per instruction page, using this method assures they are perfect (.100 or 2.5mm feeler gage). 3rd it is quite possible you set everything (droop and height to AE 0 blocks that are tweaked from impact, the dial-a-grips are all 100% checked and matched in sets within +/-.0025" (.06mm), so they are very precise!

Lastly..on rears, using the stock plastic rear toe shims can influence the block location and make them difficult to adjust, as they take form from toe angles, so hard washer shims is recommended there (2nd to last note on instruction sheet), (5) 3mm stainless washers x.020 thick = 3 deg. rear toe.

One last check if you dont have feeler gages to check or dont want to purchase. Mount the arm with both blocks snug then back off 1/8 turn to let adjust, then screw the top locator set screw all the way down till you bottom out at end of travel, now back up EXACTLY 1 1/2 turns and you are back to the center of slot and exactly at correct 0 location.

You are correct that visual to set screw at top is just a quick aid, and set screw length can vary a little, but surprisingly their pretty close if you use an eye loop or magnifier to see real well.

Hope that helps.
Kevin
hi the end result is nice but its just seem a little hard when trying to eye in the set screw i guess ill get a feeler gauge because the std blocks moving will drive me nuts:
__________________
Vbc wildfire D06
clinton livingstone
P.I.M.P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 03:26 AM   #3074
Tech Elite
 
spring71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 3,721
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Smile

More TC6 parts and Spec R gear diff are in stock.

Click Here to check out the new arrivals.

Click Here to see the parts store

Thanks.
__________________
TQ RC RACING
Indoor RC Race Track & Hobby Shop in Chino, CA
Online Shop
http://www.tqrcracing.com
tq@tqrcracing.com
spring71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 01:26 PM   #3075
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spring71 View Post
More TC6 parts and Spec R gear diff are in stock.

Click Here to check out the new arrivals.

Click Here to see the parts store

Thanks.
Your links aren't working????
Johncho is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Associated TC5 RCknight Electric On-Road 13249 01-14-2017 07:34 AM
THE TRACK RACEWAY Apex Mid Atlantic RC Racing 28937 01-14-2017 07:26 AM
Team Associated TC6 KostaG Electric On-Road 8 07-04-2010 12:42 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:51 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0