R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-14-2011, 05:47 PM   #2926
Tech Apprentice
 
azz187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 80
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default loose srews??

Had a great time with the car this weekend, had heaps of grip and the car felt awesome.
However after a few runs I'm finding the screws from the top and bottom deck backing up and loosening completely, so I'm having to re-tighten the chassis frequently.
Is this a problem that anyone else has had? Looks like I might have to get out the locktite...

Cheers.. Azza
azz187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 05:56 PM   #2927
Tech Elite
 
Maybell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,109
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by azz187 View Post
Had a great time with the car this weekend, had heaps of grip and the car felt awesome.
However after a few runs I'm finding the screws from the top and bottom deck backing up and loosening completely, so I'm having to re-tighten the chassis frequently.
Is this a problem that anyone else has had? Looks like I might have to get out the locktite...

Cheers.. Azza
I think you are experiencing a little "break-in" "stretching" of the threads while the car is new. I have noticed this with other cars. The screws should stay tight shortly.
__________________
Sean Maybell - Team Associated Region 11 Administrator

AE - Reedy - LRP - Hobby Velocity - XP Digital - JConcepts
Maybell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 05:59 PM   #2928
Tech Master
 
AM03GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,013
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Here's Pics...




__________________
Associated // Reedy // Radiopost // XP Digital // Parma PSE // Integy

Last edited by AM03GT; 11-11-2013 at 11:39 AM.
AM03GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 08:19 PM   #2929
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 282
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Verndog View Post
There really is no need, I thread lock them to "factory" block setting with a gage for anyone preferring to leave them there only. It's best to use a feeler gage between block and chassis to set when you adjust them (to get perfect), then use the top set screw to add just a touch of tension after locking down main screw to prevent it from being able to back out.
Cheers Verndog!!
Lionel S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 08:25 PM   #2930
Tech Addict
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kent, Wa
Posts: 529
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default Finally got my TC6's put together and my TC5 Exotek setup

Just finished the setup on all 3 TC's .. the only thing i am short now is gearing for the 13.5.

Car 1 and 2 are identical TC6's except motors:

Car: Team Associated TC6
Speedo: Tekin RS Pro
Motor: 1 has Tekin 13.5 and 1 has Tekin 17.5
Receiver: Spektrum 3520
Servo: JR DS9100S
Transponder: AMB RC4
Body: Mazda 6

Car 3 is a TC5

Car: Team Associated TC5 w/ Exotek Conversion
Speedo: Speed Passion Cirtix Stock Club
Motor: Novak Ballistic 21.5 (have Novak 25.5 also)
Receiver: Spektrum 3520
Servo: KO Pro PDS-2163 ICS
Transponder: I need to get one for this car =(
Body: Mazda 6 for now but need a VTA body

I cannot wait to get them out on the track to play. The wife is giving me a hard time for throwing so much money at them but not even putting an hour on the road with them yet lol.









__________________
Kris - Seattle
Team Associated --> TC6 (2) | TC5 | SC10 4x4 (2) | FT SC10 (2) | FT T4

Last edited by specc; 06-15-2011 at 08:54 PM.
specc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 04:34 AM   #2931
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 772
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by specc View Post
J
Nice bodies, nice cars.

Please try do something with wiring.

Engines like on pictrures doesn't need 14awg wires, 16awg will be ok.

Try made wires clean,short,nice.

Wish you good luck!
m
__________________
Michal Abramowicz
http://abram.eu.org/gear_tc6.php
My setups there -> http://www.rc-setups.com
TC6!, TC5R, 12L4, 12R5.1, 10L2, 10R5, RC8T_CE_EL custom F1 chassis
http://www.wgtshop.com/
M.Abramowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 06:53 AM   #2932
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 25,553
Trader Rating: 150 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by specc View Post
Just finished the setup on all 3 TC's .. the only thing i am short now is gearing for the 13.5.

Car 1 and 2 are identical TC6's except motors:

Car: Team Associated TC6
Speedo: Tekin RS Pro
Motor: 1 has Tekin 13.5 and 1 has Tekin 17.5
Receiver: Spektrum 3520
Servo: JR DS9100S
Transponder: AMB RC4
Body: Mazda 6

Car 3 is a TC5

Car: Team Associated TC5 w/ Exotek Conversion
Speedo: Speed Passion Cirtix Stock Club
Motor: Novak Ballistic 21.5 (have Novak 25.5 also)
Receiver: Spektrum 3520
Servo: KO Pro PDS-2163 ICS
Transponder: I need to get one for this car =(
Body: Mazda 6 for now but need a VTA body

I cannot wait to get them out on the track to play. The wife is giving me a hard time for throwing so much money at them but not even putting an hour on the road with them yet lol.









nice pcars but FYI on the tekin you shouldnt heatwrap the wires in the esc the tekin uses those post to release heat like a heatsink by covering them up you will be retaining more heat just fyi
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 07:04 AM   #2933
Tech Addict
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kent, Wa
Posts: 529
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcos.J View Post
nice pcars but FYI on the tekin you shouldnt heatwrap the wires in the esc the tekin uses those post to release heat like a heatsink by covering them up you will be retaining more heat just fyi
Thanks for the feedback, i will be removing the shrink wrap tonight.
__________________
Kris - Seattle
Team Associated --> TC6 (2) | TC5 | SC10 4x4 (2) | FT SC10 (2) | FT T4
specc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 07:42 AM   #2934
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Barbados
Posts: 214
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by specc View Post
Just finished the setup on all 3 TC's .. the only thing i am short now is gearing for the 13.5.

Car 1 and 2 are identical TC6's except motors:

Car: Team Associated TC6
Speedo: Tekin RS Pro
Motor: 1 has Tekin 13.5 and 1 has Tekin 17.5
Receiver: Spektrum 3520
Servo: JR DS9100S
Transponder: AMB RC4
Body: Mazda 6

Car 3 is a TC5

Car: Team Associated TC5 w/ Exotek Conversion
Speedo: Speed Passion Cirtix Stock Club
Motor: Novak Ballistic 21.5 (have Novak 25.5 also)
Receiver: Spektrum 3520
Servo: KO Pro PDS-2163 ICS
Transponder: I need to get one for this car =(
Body: Mazda 6 for now but need a VTA body

I cannot wait to get them out on the track to play. The wife is giving me a hard time for throwing so much money at them but not even putting an hour on the road with them yet lol.
Treaded tires are on backwards on the TC6.

For a Tekin 13.5 on boost in my TC5/TC6 I typically use 24/87 48 pitch with 40 boost (5400-20,000 RPM), 14 turbo, 0.5 delay and level 2 turbo. This is with standard size slicks like Sweep EXP on a medium sized outdoor track. Treaded tires are typically a bit taller than slicks so if you're running the treaded tires and boost/turbo drop the pinion a tooth or 2 and check your temps frequently.
spongerX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 07:53 AM   #2935
Tech Addict
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kent, Wa
Posts: 529
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spongerX View Post
Treaded tires are on backwards on the TC6.

For a Tekin 13.5 on boost in my TC5/TC6 I typically use 24/87 48 pitch with 40 boost (5400-20,000 RPM), 14 turbo, 0.5 delay and level 2 turbo. This is with standard size slicks like Sweep EXP on a medium sized outdoor track. Treaded tires are typically a bit taller than slicks so if you're running the treaded tires and boost/turbo drop the pinion a tooth or 2 and check your temps frequently.
The tires were more for just the photos.. they will not be used. Thanks for the feedback on the 13.5 !
__________________
Kris - Seattle
Team Associated --> TC6 (2) | TC5 | SC10 4x4 (2) | FT SC10 (2) | FT T4
specc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 11:25 AM   #2936
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Barbados
Posts: 214
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by specc View Post
The tires were more for just the photos.. they will not be used. Thanks for the feedback on the 13.5 !
Oh and I run as low motor timing as possible. The older Tekin 13.5 motors came factory default around 8 or 12 degrees of motor timing. The newer ones are around 4. I adjust the ring to get as close to 0 on the can marking as possible to get more torque at lower RPMs.
spongerX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 05:00 PM   #2937
Tech Elite
 
Potoczak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 3,541
Trader Rating: 107 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys just picked up a tc6 and going to start the build. My question is why do the shocks only come with 2 hole pistons?? I would like to use a 3 hole piston. Can I use pistons from another manufactor?? Thanks for the help!!
__________________
Pete Potoczak

Home entertainment specialist
Secure Technologies/ www.stiworldwide.com
Potoczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 05:34 PM   #2938
Tech Master
 
Verndog's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Potoczak View Post
Hey guys just picked up a tc6 and going to start the build. My question is why do the shocks only come with 2 hole pistons?? I would like to use a 3 hole piston. Can I use pistons from another manufactor?? Thanks for the help!!
Yes, Losi #57 or 56 work well.

http://www.losipartshouse.com/servle...2357%2C/Detail
__________________
--->Dial-a-Grip for TC6
Kevin -- PPDBillet---TC6---Exoray 008
---Team Hoarders---
Verndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 05:41 PM   #2939
Tech Master
 
Big Features's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Currituck, North Carolina
Posts: 1,870
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Potoczak View Post
Hey guys just picked up a tc6 and going to start the build. My question is why do the shocks only come with 2 hole pistons?? I would like to use a 3 hole piston. Can I use pistons from another manufactor?? Thanks for the help!!
I use the Two hole pistons and drill them to 1.2mm ea. I also use 40wt oil front and 35 wt. oil rear for med-high bite asphalt.

Mike
__________________
Mike Kling
Team Associated REEDY Powered
JConcepts TXD Skin Graphix
Big Features is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 08:29 AM   #2940
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,896
Default

There is nothing wrong with two hole pistons.
Rick Hohwart is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
THE TRACK RACEWAY Apex Mid Atlantic RC Racing 28947 03-17-2017 11:30 AM
Team Associated TC5 RCknight Electric On-Road 13249 01-14-2017 06:34 AM
Team Associated TC6 KostaG Electric On-Road 8 07-04-2010 11:42 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:19 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net