R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-29-2011, 01:11 PM   #2416
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,803
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Hey Kevin, make me a set if you like the design. I trust ya.
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 01:15 PM   #2417
Tech Elite
 
CristianTabush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,714
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wtcc View Post
Simpler sounds good! What about the full length arm mount shims that were "promised" some pages earlier which should cover this problem?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Verndog View Post
Not sure about simpler, I could have 8 of those done and on my car before I went home today. Quick, cheap and simple to build in 1 machine operation.

I still prefer my setscrew idea as it also deals and resolves pin slop....2 birds with 1 stone.

It's a shim, that keeps the arms from moving. It integrates a set-screw, and it is the same L to R. We use aluminum washers to space out the car still. We could get them done quickly, but as any part that we want to produce is, we want to be able to manufacture in large quantities. We are not a "custom machine shop" - we are a manufacturer and we have to be able to service a much larger audience at a good price. This is not a cheap product either, because you have 8 mounts on a car and you must use at least 4 and up to 8 of these shims on a car- regardless of design.
__________________
REFLEX RACING/ RSD/ GIZMO RACING USA/ HOBBYWING/ AXON/ QTEQ/ TEAM PRIME
CristianTabush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 01:58 PM   #2418
Tech Master
 
Verndog's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayBee View Post
Hey Kevin, make me a set if you like the design. I trust ya.
Got ya covered. First I'll try the .79c design, serrated washers and tap the stock blocks and see if that will hold on Saturday. If not then onto overkill mode.

BTW those that are having this problem using the 0 or 1 blocks are most prone since the longer length gives more leverage to move the pin block.
__________________
--->Dial-a-Grip for TC6
Kevin -- PPDBillet---TC6---Exoray 008
---Team Hoarders---
Verndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 03:30 PM   #2419
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 50
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default One-way diff

Hello,

After spending 3 days reading I did not see much on a one-way for the TC6. Has anyone gotten the TC5 one-way to work in the TC6?

Thanks
Jeff
Mr Granone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 08:08 PM   #2420
Tech Master
 
big al's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Olympia,Wa
Posts: 1,024
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

oneways aren't used too much these days. The spool has been the thing to use for a few years now and the gear diff is making a resurgence in a big way.
big al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 08:16 PM   #2421
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,167
Trader Rating: 77 (100%+)
Default Spur gear

Guys, I know I saw this somewhere. Sorry but what spurs work with the TC6? My RW spur does not. I can not get the back motor screw in.

Thanks.
goin2drt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 08:53 PM   #2422
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19
Default spool /diff screw question

hi all! i just got my TC6 kit and just started building it then i come across this question.... the screw for the spool and diff is like so too short that i can never get it locked into the lock nut.....what can i do then? thx
Molala4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 08:56 PM   #2423
Tech Elite
 
artwork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Thornton, CO
Posts: 3,059
Trader Rating: 56 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Molala4 View Post
hi all! i just got my TC6 kit and just started building it then i come across this question.... the screw for the spool and diff is like so too short that i can never get it locked into the lock nut.....what can i do then? thx
Make sure the nut is pushed all the way down in the black holder. Should fix the issue!

Also make sure you crimp the spring with pliers...
__________________
Xray | Hudy | Sanwa | R1 Wurks | Avid | Protoform | Proline | 2mm Designs
artwork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 09:06 PM   #2424
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by artwork View Post
Make sure the nut is pushed all the way down in the black holder. Should fix the issue!

Also make sure you crimp the spring with pliers...

yeah i have done both......: ( still not working...
Molala4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 09:11 PM   #2425
Tech Elite
 
corallyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Edmonds, Wash
Posts: 4,323
Trader Rating: 97 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Molala4 View Post
yeah i have done both......: ( still not working...

By all the way down he does not mean flush, he means like its almost possible to put a second nut on top of the first, at least this is how it was with the TC5 and I don't think anything has changed from these parts in the tc6.
__________________
Team ORCA / ORCA USA / Pro Spec
Serpent America / Team Serpent S411 ERYX / On Point Racing OP12C, S120 / Xceed Products
Hangar 30 / Seattle RC Racers
Fasttrax Racing Series / NORA On Road Series
corallyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 09:20 PM   #2426
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by corallyman View Post
By all the way down he does not mean flush, he means like its almost possible to put a second nut on top of the first, at least this is how it was with the TC5 and I don't think anything has changed from these parts in the tc6.

OIC i i will try! thx a million!!
Molala4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 09:42 PM   #2427
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
Default

This really happened to me! Make sure that you don't have one of those small round spacers wedged in the diff outdrive. I had a blue aluminum one somehow get into a blue aluminum outdrive so it blended right in. Then the screw of course went right through, but was never long enough. Spent the whole night and next morning trying to get the thing to cinch down. With the grease in there holding it in it was not going anywhere. I thought maybe a ball bearing was stuck in there some how and out came the little 2mm spacer instead. Went together the next try.
lpddpd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 03:01 AM   #2428
Tech Rookie
 
mcdomdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by goin2drt View Post
Guys, I know I saw this somewhere. Sorry but what spurs work with the TC6? My RW spur does not. I can not get the back motor screw in.

Thanks.
Hi! The RW spur would work, but you have to use the third hole for the motor screw, which is under your pinion!

Hope I can help you!

Greets
mcdomdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 03:11 AM   #2429
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,803
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys, I'm really a bag of mixed nuts right now with the purchase of this new kit and a couple of other manufacturers hopups for this car. Reading all these issues with tweaked chassis'/motor mount issues, screws, cheap bearings, shock pistons and CVD's is REALLY having me considering selling all that I have purchased. Someone PLEASE CONVINCE ME otherwise. PLEASE
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 04:00 AM   #2430
Tech Addict
 
StickyFingaz's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: East Bay, CA
Posts: 617
Trader Rating: 12 (88%+)
Default

Started my build tonight... Can't get my car to sit flat on my setup board with the top deck on!

What gives? I know what I'm doing.... pop the top deck off and it's flat as a board. None of the bulkheads are bent.

Anyone have any ideas? This is a major buzzkill. If this is a sign of what's to come, then I've obviously picked the wrong color car this year.
__________________
Team Tamiya/TRF - Team KO PROPO - NorCal Hobbies
StickyFingaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
THE TRACK RACEWAY Apex Mid Atlantic RC Racing 28947 03-17-2017 11:30 AM
Team Associated TC5 RCknight Electric On-Road 13249 01-14-2017 06:34 AM
Team Associated TC6 KostaG Electric On-Road 8 07-04-2010 11:42 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:27 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net