R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-27-2011, 05:59 AM   #2371
Tech Adept
 
VAzRACER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 210
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by captain stacker View Post
I have never seen so much slop in a touring car.

So I changed to a new arm and Chub, and its still sloppy.

The bores for the front arms are just too big for the hinge pin.

I might just need to drill a hole in the Chub and use a set screw to hold the hinge pin, hopefully it will get rid of the slop.
Check the diameter of the hinge pins. I had the same issue and it turned out one of the outer hinge pins was smaller than the other. The correct one was 2.48mm and the other was 2.28mm. That was the fifth and final problem I found with the kit when building it. QC at ae must not exist. Lol.
__________________
Reflex Racing / Psycho Cells

Last edited by VAzRACER; 04-27-2011 at 06:15 AM.
VAzRACER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 07:13 AM   #2372
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 678
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VAzRACER View Post
Check the diameter of the hinge pins. I had the same issue and it turned out one of the outer hinge pins was smaller than the other. The correct one was 2.48mm and the other was 2.28mm. That was the fifth and final problem I found with the kit when building it. QC at ae must not exist. Lol.
thanks, that really sucks haha, dont have a caliper handy right now, but will change over the left right hinge pins to see if it is the hinge pins, never thought of one would be thinner than the other.
captain stacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 07:19 AM   #2373
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 678
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VAzRACER View Post
Check the diameter of the hinge pins. I had the same issue and it turned out one of the outer hinge pins was smaller than the other. The correct one was 2.48mm and the other was 2.28mm. That was the fifth and final problem I found with the kit when building it. QC at ae must not exist. Lol.
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain stacker View Post
thanks, that really sucks haha, dont have a caliper handy right now, but will change over the left right hinge pins to see if it is the hinge pins, never thought of one would be thinner than the other.
Yes, you are right!

one hinge pin is thinner than the other, so I will need to order some new hinge pins now.

Thanks!
captain stacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 07:27 AM   #2374
Tech Elite
 
ernestf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,027
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to ernestf
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by captain stacker View Post
Yes, you are right!

one hinge pin is thinner than the other, so I will need to order some new hinge pins now.

Thanks!
That's happened to me too - I need to order new part to replace it.
So I am not the only one ....
ernestf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 08:19 AM   #2375
Tech Regular
 
tr1kstanc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 357
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Call (do not email) Associated. They will take care of you. I had the same issue with missing/damaged/wrong size screws. Write down the part numbers and let the CSR know what your issue is. I had new parts in 2 days to my house.
tr1kstanc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 09:14 PM   #2376
Tech Master
 
big al's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Olympia,Wa
Posts: 1,025
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Verndog View Post
Had a good long day out on Saturday at Four Seasons in Olympia. Traction was just coming up but the TC6 was holding very well considering conditions.

Only changes I made were steering bellcrank at 7B instead of 7A, Losi #57 shock pistons (3 hole), springs AE silver, silver, 60 wt oil in front and 40 in rear.

Nothing HPI on mine, the AE springs are fine IMO. If you look at the "Olly" setup which is similar those changes I listed were run by him as well.
Thanks for the input. Are you making it out this Saturday to 4S?
big al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 09:21 PM   #2377
Tech Master
 
Verndog's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by big al View Post
Thanks for the input. Are you making it out this Saturday to 4S?
Do they have a snow plow to go with the sprayers?? It's snowing here for crying out loud! I will watch the weather and if it's decent Saturday I will be there, otherwise I'll go to Fantacy World on Sunday.
__________________
--->Dial-a-Grip for TC6
Kevin -- PPDBillet---TC6---Exoray 008
---Team Hoarders---
Verndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 10:46 PM   #2378
Tech Master
 
nitro rat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,130
Trader Rating: 5 (86%+)
Default

Hi guys,
Just wondering if there are aluminium hubs available for the tc6?
__________________
SMC BATTERIES
ALPHA ENGINES
TEAM DURANGO
nitro rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 12:02 AM   #2379
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 276
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VAzRACER View Post
Check the diameter of the hinge pins. I had the same issue and it turned out one of the outer hinge pins was smaller than the other. The correct one was 2.48mm and the other was 2.28mm. That was the fifth and final problem I found with the kit when building it. QC at ae must not exist. Lol.
You guys are lucky. All 4 of my outer hinge pins are 2.2-2.3mm.
__________________
http://www.gpm-parts.com
gpm-parts.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 12:49 AM   #2380
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,806
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Just got home to find my TC6 waiting for me; but with all this talk of QC @ AE dropping the ball....I'm afraid to look in the box now
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 12:53 AM   #2381
Tech Master
 
wtcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,227
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitro rat View Post
Hi guys,
Just wondering if there are aluminium hubs available for the tc6?
As it was posted one page before:
http://www.diggitydesigns.com/D3_TC5...rBlockSet.html
wtcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 08:23 AM   #2382
Tech Master
 
Verndog's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

After going over the car after first full day out I noticed what others have mentioned. The arm mount blocks pivoted some and all 4 arms that started the day with zero slop, finished with more then I care for. Didn't hit much either so something needs to change there.

Considering building alum. arm mount blocks that have an outside set screw that would lock the pin. This would eliminate all pin slop and put an end to block pivot issue.


Anyone else found resolution to this? I suppose eliminating the shim washers would help some by increasing block seat contact. Another option is to find small serrated washers that bite in enough to eliminate pivot.
__________________
--->Dial-a-Grip for TC6
Kevin -- PPDBillet---TC6---Exoray 008
---Team Hoarders---
Verndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 08:40 AM   #2383
Tech Elite
 
Warren Weaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NASCAR COUNTRY
Posts: 2,447
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Verndog View Post
After going over the car after first full day out I noticed what others have mentioned. The arm mount blocks pivoted some and all 4 arms that started the day with zero slop, finished with more then I care for. Didn't hit much either so something needs to change there.

Considering building alum. arm mount blocks that have an outside set screw that would lock the pin. This would eliminate all pin slop and put an end to block pivot issue.


Anyone else found resolution to this? I suppose eliminating the shim washers would help some by increasing block seat contact. Another option is to find small serrated washers that bite in enough to eliminate pivot.
i was trying to find hinge pins that are longer and drill the mounts so the pin sticks out slightly from end to end and use a set screw to hold them in place this will cause the mounts to stay in place,i will post that pic later with the hot bodies set up
__________________
R1 WURKS-AWESOMATIX USA-LRP-BITTYDESIGN-TQ WIRE-PROTOTYPE RACING-SWEEP RACING-TXDSKINGRAPHIX-HOBMAX-THE RUG-TEAM EZDUZIT
R.I.P. MY FRIEND JDUB MISSED BUT NEVER FORGOTTEN
Warren Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 08:50 AM   #2384
Tech Master
 
Verndog's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Warren Weaver View Post
i was trying to find hinge pins that are longer and drill the mounts so the pin sticks out slightly from end to end and use a set screw to hold them in place this will cause the mounts to stay in place,i will post that pic later with the hot bodies set up
Cool, thanks Warren. Went ahead and ordered some of their universals to compare to the Xray and Spec-R's. For now I have some Xray C hubs fitted up that I can test any of the 3 options with. I prefer to not bore the hard coating from the outdrives though so the Hot bodies have the edge there.

Your idea to drill out and extend is "on track", but I dont think there is enough wall thickness in the plastic pin block to hold the set screw reliably.
__________________
--->Dial-a-Grip for TC6
Kevin -- PPDBillet---TC6---Exoray 008
---Team Hoarders---
Verndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 08:50 AM   #2385
Tech Regular
 
JRXS_chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Manchester, England
Posts: 386
Default

Hmmmm, mounts that grab the hingepin with a grubscrew. That is a brilliant idea!
JRXS_chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
THE TRACK RACEWAY Apex Mid Atlantic RC Racing 28961 07-11-2017 01:29 PM
Team Associated TC5 RCknight Electric On-Road 13254 05-12-2017 07:58 AM
Team Associated TC6 KostaG Electric On-Road 8 07-04-2010 11:42 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:56 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net