R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-29-2011, 04:13 PM   #1621
Tech Addict
 
forrestboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 556
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hanzo3 View Post
switching from photon?
Yeah
__________________
Team C Racing
evohobbies.com
forrestboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 04:36 PM   #1622
Tech Initiate
 
Mowell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 22
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by twk-b View Post
Are you guys who are running the Savox running boosted classes with Tekin speed controls?

The servo seems crazy fast, but as soon as I put my car on the track I loose my boost. Cycling the car will reset it for a breif period. I changed out everything in the car (refusing to believe the servo could be the cause) and then the servo to fix the issue, and replacing the servo brings back the problem.

When I built my second TC6 I tried it again and same issue... its wierd, not a total cut (like a lipo cut off) the car still drives, just no boost....

Per your question, i have never heard a louder servo, and it almost never shuts up, in any of the cars I have seen them in (2 or 3 at our local track).

-b
That's weird. I haven't had any problems, but I don't run a Tekin :-/ The Novak Kinetic seems un-phased.
__________________
TC6, Ten SCTE, Novak, Fantom, Savox, Spektrum
Mowell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 06:52 PM   #1623
Tech Addict
 
GreenSC10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 647
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default Maybe helpful

Not sure if this has been brought up lately, but I was having issues with my right rear bulk head having poorly threaded holes. The bulk head was stripped on one hole and on the bottom side as well. I actually had a screw back out during a race and fall out (which I check before each run). So I changed my M3X14 to M3X16 for a little more bite when holding on the A arms. For the chassis underneath to the bulk head I used M3X8 instead of the M3X5, but some 8's didnt fit, because of inconsistant depths of the treaded holes.
GreenSC10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 07:14 PM   #1624
Tech Apprentice
 
cation3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Smyrna, GA
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcar951 View Post
PM Hobbycraft has a number of TC6 kits in stock (I've posted this before). Their website doesn't list them....
To the two recommendations I got: thanks, guys.

I 'messaged' Hobbycraft through their website and they do have kits and they are now listed on the internet. The problem is that they are for sale at (CDN) $399.99 + (quoted) ~$45 shipping to the US.

I just got mine from Ultimate Hobbies in CA, but they are now out of kits....

Sorry I can't be of more assistance to those looking for kits.

-Drew
cation3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 08:04 PM   #1625
Tech Addict
 
GreenSC10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 647
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

RC Hobbies in Woodenville WA has one on the shelf
GreenSC10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 10:05 PM   #1626
Tech Elite
 
Timbulb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Hovering over your mom's fishtank.
Posts: 2,018
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

My LHS, http://www.pmhobbycraft.ca has 6 on the shelf right now.
Timbulb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 05:44 AM   #1627
Tech Master
 
RC-ProSpeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 1,065
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Hobby Hanger at Chantilly VA (703) 631-8820. Ask for Minh. They got one TC6 as of yesterday
__________________
RCRNV (www.rcrnv.com) / *Keep On-Road alive!*
- Nitro Touring - Kyosho EVO 2 WC
- Electric - TC6 (Out of the Box! No upgrades needed)
- F1 - F103RM (Out of the Box! No upgrades needed)
RC-ProSpeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 09:39 AM   #1628
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: east coast
Posts: 34
Default little help!

I'd like to get an associated hex wrench that fits the larger hex bolts (chassis bolts, ball studs, etc) for the TC6. Can someone tell me the size of this wrench?

I think it is the 5/64" (blue handle) but I'm just not sure. I'd get the whole set, but $10 sounds better than $50! I've recently discovered that the allen wrenches included with the kit are pretty worthless.

Thanks again folks!
cvlooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 10:14 AM   #1629
Tech Regular
 
JRXS_chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Manchester, England
Posts: 386
Default

It's metric now. 2mm for the majority of the fasteners.
JRXS_chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 10:34 AM   #1630
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 34
Default

I've split one of the tie rod ends/eyelets. Where to get them in the UK? or will another make fit? I know RPM fit but struggling to see them in stock as well!
carl_Bennetts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 10:52 AM   #1631
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: east coast
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRXS_chris View Post
It's metric now. 2mm for the majority of the fasteners.
That's what I initially thought, but 2mm isn't even included in the full set: 1 each of .050", 1/16", 1.5mm, 5/64", 3/32", 2.5mm, 3mm.

Actually, TA doesn't have a 2mm listed on their entire site.

Last edited by cvlooper; 01-30-2011 at 11:10 AM.
cvlooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 11:34 AM   #1632
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,859
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to brians11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cvlooper View Post
That's what I initially thought, but 2mm isn't even included in the full set: 1 each of .050", 1/16", 1.5mm, 5/64", 3/32", 2.5mm, 3mm.

Actually, TA doesn't have a 2mm listed on their entire site.
5/64 is about 1.98mm, so there really isn't a special need for it.
__________________
Team Tekin | Superiorhobbies.com
brians11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 12:13 PM   #1633
Tech Master
 
wtcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,149
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRXS_chris View Post
Has this not been mentioned on here yet? Wow.

OK the TC6 drivers here in the UK have been running the top decked flipped and not using countersunk screws as intended.
The countersunk screws create a 'jamming' effect which affects the consistancy of the flex. If you think about it the countersunk screws are 'locking' the top deck in place. If you use the pictured washers or just button heads it smooths the flex out as it can slide around freely.

It makes a huge difference on flast flowing corners. Makes the car rotate better.

First thing I changed.
I tried this today on a high grip carpet track. I found it a little more difficult to drive and it costs about one or two tenth. But this may only count on a high grip surface.

Who needs more flex can leave out the buttonhead screws of the top deck. This really increases flex and makes the car easier and very consistent to drive, but again was today 1 tenth slower.
wtcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 12:30 PM   #1634
Tech Master
 
pcar951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cow Town
Posts: 1,659
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wtcc View Post
I tried this today on a high grip carpet track. I found it a little more difficult to drive and it costs about one or two tenth. But this may only count on a high grip surface.

Who needs more flex can leave out the buttonhead screws of the top deck. This really increases flex and makes the car easier and very consistent to drive, but again was today 1 tenth slower.
I've found in higher grip, extra flex doesn't allow you to get on power quite as early on corner exit, there's a tenth or two. A little flex goes a long way when grip is poor though!
pcar951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 01:15 PM   #1635
Tech Adept
 
justchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Gosport England
Posts: 145
Default

Please could some one help me i
am looking or the advice on easing
ball studs and thought it was this
thread.
Thanks a lot
justchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Associated TC5 RCknight Electric On-Road 13249 01-14-2017 07:34 AM
THE TRACK RACEWAY Apex Mid Atlantic RC Racing 28937 01-14-2017 07:26 AM
Team Associated TC6 KostaG Electric On-Road 8 07-04-2010 12:42 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:51 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0