R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-12-2011, 11:52 PM   #1576
Super Moderator
 
charlie_b's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 9,614
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to charlie_b Send a message via MSN to charlie_b Send a message via Yahoo to charlie_b
Default

ATTENTION SOCAL RACERS!!! Looks liek we will have another 2 to 3 heats of GT8 this weekend at Hobbytown Corona! THe most we had was 17 GT8's out there. Lets beat that this weekend! For more info on our 160x80 track, goto http://socal.rcracing.com or visit us at facebook at facebook.com/occircuit

WIll Jai dominate the GT8 class again??? Bring it!!!
__________________
''Many of life's failures are people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up.''-- Thomas Alva Edison
CAL RACEWAY:CAL RACEWAY
GT10 SERIES:GT10 SERIES
CFX Paintworks:="https://www.facebook.com/CFXPaintworks?fref=ts
|HITEC|PARMA|PROTEKRC|SWEEP|IWATA|RPM|AMAIN|CREATE X/WICKED/AUTOAIR PAINTS|TEAMASSOCIATED|REEDY
charlie_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 01:22 AM   #1577
Tech Master
 
Matthew_Armeni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,332
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FangsCPO View Post
I think this is what you are asking about: OFN40578

http://www.nitrohouse.com/Car-Hop-Up...duct_info.html

My bad, I thought he was noticing that you were running two braces off of the center diff
__________________
Tekno RC
Matthew_Armeni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 01:29 AM   #1578
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FangsCPO View Post
You don't need the bullets unless you plan on switching your motor back and forth between rigs. Just solder the motor to the ESC directly and that will reduce the amount of resistance. I recommend you use Traxxas Plugs, they can handle the heavy loads this rigs produce. Just my .02.

Here's a photo of my rig:

from the look of your picture it seems your running front and rear disk breaks...is that true? Can you provide a better picture of that area and how do you feel it performs compared to just 1 brake system.
ToxicRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 02:33 AM   #1579
Tech Regular
 
kcunamay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 392
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

With the dual brake configuration, you can adjust front and rear bias. This can help with corner setup. It's very useful with getting a car to rotate.

Single disk setup slows down the front and rear of the car at equal pressure. But I believe it gets overworked. I experienced severe brake fade in my Nitro DM1-S with the single disc setup and actually swapped over to Kyosho's brake pads and disc's.
__________________
Jai Cunamay - Racing 1 class sucks.
kcunamay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 07:09 AM   #1580
Tech Fanatic
 
whipnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 994
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FangsCPO View Post
I think this is what you are asking about: OFN40578

http://www.nitrohouse.com/Car-Hop-Up...duct_info.html
Thanks man, I guess I missed those. I ordered these, but I made them work! haha

http://www.nitrohouse.com/p12384/CNC...duct_info.html

*
__________________
Beat Your RC Like It Owes You Money!!
http://www.RCCOH.com
whipnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 07:12 AM   #1581
Tech Fanatic
 
whipnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 994
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kcunamay View Post
With the dual brake configuration, you can adjust front and rear bias. This can help with corner setup. It's very useful with getting a car to rotate.

Single disk setup slows down the front and rear of the car at equal pressure. But I believe it gets overworked. I experienced severe brake fade in my Nitro DM1-S with the single disc setup and actually swapped over to Kyosho's brake pads and disc's.
Yep, the stock brakes suck on the DM-1 S. Must upgrade: http://www.rccoh.com/rc.how-to/dm-1.brake.upgrade.html

*
__________________
Beat Your RC Like It Owes You Money!!
http://www.RCCOH.com
whipnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 08:19 PM   #1582
Tech Regular
 
sb7979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 382
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Got a couple questions for the guys running Losi cars. I'm just putting one together from a L8ight Model kit.

Are you guys putting some kind of spacers in the shocks to make them shorter?

I've got the firm spring kit from RC4Less, and when I set the ride height at about 12mm, it doesn't seem the spring is long enough, or the shock is too long. It's ok sitting static, but if you pick the car up, the spring comes off the spring cup.

I have the droop set at about 6mm, with shocks and swaybars removed.

Any advice would be appreciated.
sb7979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 08:46 PM   #1583
Tech Adept
 
blueryu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Lindon, Utah aka Happy Valley
Posts: 197
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sb7979 View Post
Got a couple questions for the guys running Losi cars. I'm just putting one together from a L8ight Model kit.

Are you guys putting some kind of spacers in the shocks to make them shorter?

I've got the firm spring kit from RC4Less, and when I set the ride height at about 12mm, it doesn't seem the spring is long enough, or the shock is too long. It's ok sitting static, but if you pick the car up, the spring comes off the spring cup.

I have the droop set at about 6mm, with shocks and swaybars removed.

Any advice would be appreciated.

hey, can you share link to what springs you bought? i am building igt2 and wanted to run something like the losi8 shocks with firm springs and have been looking around. i would appreciate the help.
__________________
Crux Components
email: cruxcomponents@live.com
web: www.cruxrc.com (coming soon)
blueryu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 09:38 PM   #1584
Tech Fanatic
 
whipnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 994
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matthew_Armeni View Post
My bad, I thought he was noticing that you were running two braces off of the center diff
That was a picture of mine with the dual braces off the center diff. Our rigs look a lot alike.
__________________
Beat Your RC Like It Owes You Money!!
http://www.RCCOH.com
whipnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 10:20 PM   #1585
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whipnet View Post
That was a picture of mine with the dual braces off the center diff. Our rigs look a lot alike.
Hey Whip..the black braces off the center dif..did those come with the tekno kit or ordered separate?
ToxicRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 11:41 PM   #1586
Tech Regular
 
kcunamay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 392
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sb7979 View Post
Got a couple questions for the guys running Losi cars. I'm just putting one together from a L8ight Model kit.

Are you guys putting some kind of spacers in the shocks to make them shorter?

I've got the firm spring kit from RC4Less, and when I set the ride height at about 12mm, it doesn't seem the spring is long enough, or the shock is too long. It's ok sitting static, but if you pick the car up, the spring comes off the spring cup.

I have the droop set at about 6mm, with shocks and swaybars removed.

Any advice would be appreciated.
I'm using the C/F shock towers for the L8ight. I run losi Grey Springs in front mounted on the most outside TOP hole. The spring collars are turned 1 full turn from flush and I am using 45wt oil. I insert the shock shaft in brass tubing I cut to length to shorten the shock. I got the brass tube from my local hobby shop and the size fits perfectly around the shaft, but large enough so it won't allow it to go through the shock body. I forgot the measurements of the tube, but the front ride height when race ready is 9mm. I believe you could also use fuel tubing to do the same thing.

For the rear, I used the droop screws to lower the height of the car to 9.5mm. The shocks are filled with 45wt oil and are mounted 1 hole in from the outside of the tower on the 2nd row of holes from the top. The spring collars are turned 2 full turns from flush using white springs.

I still use the standard sway bars for the 8B 1.0 front and rear.

These settings work for me. I race on an outdoor prepped track with medium traction. Good luck!
__________________
Jai Cunamay - Racing 1 class sucks.
kcunamay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 11:41 PM   #1587
Tech Master
 
Matthew_Armeni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,332
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToxicRC View Post
Hey Whip..the black braces off the center dif..did those come with the tekno kit or ordered separate?
Aha! I know I can answer this correctly! lol
The conversion kit comes with one brace. The chassis is drilled to fit two. We did this as a tuning aid. You can add/remove traction to the front or rear of the car by omitting or running the brace on that side. For example, on my DM-1 I have a lot of steering so to calm it down and add more rear traction I run a brace in the front and none in the rear.
On indoor tracks where foam tire are the hot ticket I run both braces because there is ample traction. On some parking lots that are lacking traction I will run no braces, this really allows the chassis to flex and create more mechanical grip to stick to the track.
If you want to order an additional brace I linked to the part on the previous page.
__________________
Tekno RC
Matthew_Armeni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 05:19 AM   #1588
Tech Fanatic
 
whipnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 994
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToxicRC View Post
Hey Whip..the black braces off the center dif..did those come with the tekno kit or ordered separate?
The kit comes with 1. Order TKR40149 for another. The kit is ready for two with no modification.

Edit: Just saw Matthew's response. Great info!

*
__________________
Beat Your RC Like It Owes You Money!!
http://www.RCCOH.com

Last edited by whipnet; 04-14-2011 at 05:21 AM. Reason: added comment
whipnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 08:02 AM   #1589
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matthew_Armeni View Post
Aha! I know I can answer this correctly! lol
The conversion kit comes with one brace. The chassis is drilled to fit two. We did this as a tuning aid. You can add/remove traction to the front or rear of the car by omitting or running the brace on that side. For example, on my DM-1 I have a lot of steering so to calm it down and add more rear traction I run a brace in the front and none in the rear.
On indoor tracks where foam tire are the hot ticket I run both braces because there is ample traction. On some parking lots that are lacking traction I will run no braces, this really allows the chassis to flex and create more mechanical grip to stick to the track.
If you want to order an additional brace I linked to the part on the previous page.
Awesome info Matt!

Thanks for the quick product number Whip. I am going to pick a 2nd one for these custom traction settings so I can adjust depending on where I am driving.

12 days left..then I can start my project. My wife said she got a ton of packages and boxes in the main this week lmao. I know I have a few more arriving. I will take a picture of all my packages as my first step to my project
ToxicRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 08:22 AM   #1590
Tech Fanatic
 
whipnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 994
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToxicRC View Post
Awesome info Matt!

Thanks for the quick product number Whip. I am going to pick a 2nd one for these custom traction settings so I can adjust depending on where I am driving.

12 days left..then I can start my project. My wife said she got a ton of packages and boxes in the main this week lmao. I know I have a few more arriving. I will take a picture of all my packages as my first step to my project
Can't wait to have another out at Mike's!

*
__________________
Beat Your RC Like It Owes You Money!!
http://www.RCCOH.com
whipnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GT class--buggy-based on road! duneland Nitro On-Road 9643 11-16-2016 04:11 AM
SS Raceway in Tampa Rojna Florida Racing 5042 07-15-2014 01:03 AM
Looking for 1/10 Electric Racers on the New Asphalt at Mikes, Houston John Stranahan Texas Racing 495 10-08-2010 04:55 PM
2008 BLUE DIAMOND/G FORCE ONOAD SCENE spurcheck Racing Forum 1772 04-16-2009 10:39 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:35 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0