R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-15-2003, 07:38 PM   #5866
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,734
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Blakesrc
Hey guys, i might have a chance to run on carpet in a few days. I was wondering since we will be using rubber tires if i can stick with assphalt setups or will there still be to much traction? One way or diffs?

Blake
My aspahlt set up's have worked great on carpet with rubber tire's so anything that you are currently running outdoors should be fine on the rug. If you do end up having to change your set up it will probably only be a little change. Good luck!
__________________
REMEMBER THE GOOD OLE DAYS..........THEY'RE NEVER COMING BACK SO WE'RE STUCK WITH THE MESS IN FRONT OF US!!!!
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2003, 07:27 AM   #5867
Tech Lord
 
Oasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: * Sin Cal *
Posts: 10,320
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

One more thing to think about, when the traction comes up your ride height should go down.On an asphalt track I run my ride height at 5mm(if I want more steering I drop the front to 4.5mm)On the carpet I set my ride height at 4mm and run -1 degree front camber.On the droop for the front I dont use the droop screws,I run a .060 limiter in the shocks and just unscrew the shock ends to get my droop settings I want.I found that this is alot easier than taking your shocks apart,and I think setting the droop this way improves the handling of the car,you dont have the flex in the bumper to change the droop settings during a race.
Oasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2003, 09:13 AM   #5868
Tech Addict
 
tufferwilde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Whereabouts Unknown
Posts: 530
Default

BlakesRc - Check out the setups on Losi's webpage - there are several on there from Trackside... and are all for rubber tires - it will give you an idea of what to start with or move towards...

Madcap Magician - too much beer?? You had THREE!!! remember... take one for the team!!!! See ya on Friday!


Wilde
__________________
Trackside Hobbies and Raceway: www.tracksideraceway.com
Novak Electronics: www.teamnovak.com

Last edited by tufferwilde; 04-16-2003 at 01:18 PM.
tufferwilde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2003, 09:31 AM   #5869
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Newville,Pa
Posts: 2,152
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

XXXKat- did you copy that directly from the Hodge article in RC Car???? LOL, you wrote it exactly like it as wrote in the mag!!!LOL
__________________
G's RC Raceway- Best off-road track on the east coast...period!!!

Pitman for Team Dallas Austin...
IMPACTPLAYR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2003, 12:18 PM   #5870
Tech Initiate
 
Madcap Magician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 32
Default

Ugh, it seems like everytime I use a set-up from the internet I can't drive it. They always seem too twitchy. But then again maybe it's the idiot behind the wheel.

For the record they were 3 very LARGE beers, 25 oz a piece. And I dunno about Friday, I think I'm developing a cough.

<hack> <hack> <sniffle>
Madcap Magician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2003, 03:41 PM   #5871
Tech Lord
 
Oasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: * Sin Cal *
Posts: 10,320
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

No,I had got the info from Todd Hodge at the Losi web site,I did write it the way he had e-mailed it to me though,But I have been running this set up on carpet and asphalt and it really does work.The droop set up is the same for my yokomo sp(with one execpetion the yok came with 2 set's of shock ends one short and one long)I have also done the same with my TC-3,nothing new.
Oasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2003, 05:49 PM   #5872
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 43
Default

i am swiching to a 64 pictch i have a 108/30 and when i adjust it the two gears will not touch and i cant make then touch what sould i do
pro3user is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2003, 07:03 PM   #5873
Tech Elite
 
Brian McGreevy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4,068
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Brian McGreevy Send a message via Yahoo to Brian McGreevy
Default

Bigger spur gear , try the 128 tooth, most ppl run it.
__________________
USVTA Member #211

Support Formula SAE - get kids into engineering!
http://motorsports.illinois.edu/
Brian McGreevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2003, 03:56 AM   #5874
ttr
Tech Apprentice
 
ttr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Budapest
Posts: 66
Default Reinforced C-hubs?

Does the Graphite Plus come with reinforced or stronger front C hubs than the normal kit? Are these hubs available for the old cars? If yes: part# for 4 deg?
ttr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2003, 07:02 AM   #5875
Tech Lord
 
Oasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: * Sin Cal *
Posts: 10,320
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

No,same front hubs,only difference is they are graphite.Part # A9753,Spindles & Carriers.
Oasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2003, 07:17 AM   #5876
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 427
Default

can anyone please give me a setup for indoor ashphalt ? as this will be the first time i race asphalt in 3 years
jiggamacdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2003, 07:22 AM   #5877
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 427
Default

sorry but i forgot to mention i have to use cs-27 takeoffs
jiggamacdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2003, 08:53 AM   #5878
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 331
Default

ttr-Losi did make a running change to the C hubs that came out at about the same time as the G+ kit. The change added more material in the lower part of the C hub.
ChadK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2003, 11:01 AM   #5879
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 35
Default

I'm going to try the spool on my car. 2 questions: How tight do you guys tighten it? Right now, I have it so that it is VERY difficult to rotate the outdrives in opposite directions. Also, do you need to run outdrive savers when running the spool?
Thanks-
timc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2003, 11:35 AM   #5880
Tech Addict
 
tufferwilde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Whereabouts Unknown
Posts: 530
Default

TimC - On the Spool - get it as tight as you can... it is supposed to be locked down

As for the outdrives - you can choose to run the savers - I don't on mine... and have run the car with anything down to an 8 turn with the spool

Wilde
__________________
Trackside Hobbies and Raceway: www.tracksideraceway.com
Novak Electronics: www.teamnovak.com
tufferwilde is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2007 / 08 1/8th MNL Buggy and Truggy National Series Race Danny Teh Malaysian R/C Racers 856 01-04-2009 08:04 PM
Losi xxx 2wd connyw R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 10 10-31-2008 04:31 PM
NITRO SELLOUT!!! CRT.5**XXX-NT AD1**XTM XCELLORATOR** Novak GTX with BATT duneordie R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 06-27-2008 07:28 PM
XXX Parts, B4 jelly Australia For Sale/Trade 10 06-22-2006 07:13 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:49 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0