R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-15-2002, 04:40 PM   #1636
Tech Elite
 
mike_Webb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SOMEWHERE OVER THE RAINBOW
Posts: 3,128
Send a message via AIM to mike_Webb
Default

From what I have seen they are already doing this now. 3/4 of my springs for the XXX-S are all 1 inch. If you buy the springs that are longer that means you are buying the older style. It really is not a big deal. I kind of wish all the springs were a little longer because now on my rear shocks the spring colar is turned almost to the bottom of the threads.

Mike Webb
mike_Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2002, 10:47 PM   #1637
Tech Master
 
newracer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Ft. Collins, Colorado
Posts: 1,523
Default

what motor heatsinks if any are you guys running?
newracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2002, 07:42 AM   #1638
Company Representative
 
Tres's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

newracer:

Integy Wrap Around Motor Heat Sink $ 16.99


Tres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2002, 04:19 PM   #1639
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 81
Send a message via AIM to WHITESTER
Default

Those heat sinks really make that big of a difference?
WHITESTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2002, 06:16 PM   #1640
Company Representative
 
Tres's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

They do help keep the motor much cooler.....

Some run them, some don't.....
Tres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2002, 08:15 PM   #1641
Tech Elite
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,343
Default

I use two Eagle clamp on ones. One 8 fin and one 4 fin one.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg escmotor.jpg (79.5 KB, 188 views)
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2002, 10:53 PM   #1642
Tech Master
 
newracer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Ft. Collins, Colorado
Posts: 1,523
Default

my LHS had the losi front post/bumper brace, it's just very thick lexan, I bought one though

I can't wait to run the car, no racing until april or may here.
newracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2002, 09:00 PM   #1643
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 852
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Are the Losi sway sets out yet? Any hobby shops have them? If not, what are people do for sway bars?
rodneybarrett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2002, 09:02 PM   #1644
Tech Elite
 
mike_Webb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SOMEWHERE OVER THE RAINBOW
Posts: 3,128
Send a message via AIM to mike_Webb
Default

Well I don't know what I did but I tried putting the Purple springs on the rear of my car and now I can barely get 4mm ride height. I have the MF LRC blocks on. The threaded shocks are all the way down to the bottom. The shocks are in the third hole and outside on the arm. The tires are at 59mm. The problem is that the springs are 1inch tall and now Losi is doing that for all thier shocks. Most of my setups I do are int he range of 4 to 4.5mm. Outdoor I go as high as 5. Anybody have a clue what I might be doing wrong?

Mike Webb
mike_Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2002, 09:04 PM   #1645
Tech Elite
 
mike_Webb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SOMEWHERE OVER THE RAINBOW
Posts: 3,128
Send a message via AIM to mike_Webb
Default

Rod-

You have to make your own right now. I bought the XXX front and rear sway bar set for my car so that I got all the hardware. You get the metal rod hold downs and the linkage for the Ball end to the Arm. Then I just bent my own wire. I did .062 and .078 piano wire and kept bending it until it was perfectly level and even on both sides and installed it. If you look back in this thread you can see what I did. I posted some pictures.

Mike Webb
mike_Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2002, 08:50 AM   #1646
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,735
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

mike webb- I'll have my custom made sway bars on for our next carpet race here. I have 0.63 0.60 and 0.59 ready to go front and rear. They should really help to keep the car somewhat level in the corners on high speed sweepers. The car doesn't have that much body roll in it now but I would like to get it a hair less. There's no racing for us this weekend so the diffs and shocks are going to be rebuilt and the rest of the car checked over. My biggest question is...what are people setting their shocks to. I know that we have droop screws to get the proper left to right adjustment but I have never seen a set up state that my shocks are 55mm or whatever. Mine were built for me with the small shock bodies and shafts already in them. I guess I should go and measure them before I do anything else. Any help you can give will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
__________________
REMEMBER THE GOOD OLE DAYS..........THEY'RE NEVER COMING BACK SO WE'RE STUCK WITH THE MESS IN FRONT OF US!!!!
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2002, 09:00 AM   #1647
Tech Elite
 
mike_Webb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SOMEWHERE OVER THE RAINBOW
Posts: 3,128
Send a message via AIM to mike_Webb
Default

I never measure my Shocks. How I do my shocks is I set my droop... then I set my ride height via the shocks. For 4mm I set the shock threaded screws to make sure that I am getting 4mm. I get both sides to be 4mm and then I measure the distance from the top level part of the Shocks to the top level part of the threaded collar. I make sure that both sides are even. If they are not really really close then my chassis is tweaked and then I fix that. Measuring your shocks do nothing unless you are trying to acheive a ride hieght.

Mike Webb
mike_Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2002, 05:26 PM   #1648
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,735
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

mikewebb- I set my car up the same way but I was still a little curious as to what people did when they build their shocks. Did they just screw the bottom pieces on and didn't worry about anything being the same size. When I ran the Schumacher we set the car up the same way but we always set a standard shock size. Just curious. Thanks for the input
__________________
REMEMBER THE GOOD OLE DAYS..........THEY'RE NEVER COMING BACK SO WE'RE STUCK WITH THE MESS IN FRONT OF US!!!!
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2002, 05:56 PM   #1649
Tech Elite
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,343
Default

Well when I built my Losi shocks, I made sure all of them was the same length. Something that I learned from my Yokomo. This allows the piston to be at the same location through all 4 shocks. Anyways, you might try unscrewing the shock ends alittle to acheive your ride height. That or if you can find longer shock ends.
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2002, 09:56 PM   #1650
Tech Elite
 
mike_Webb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SOMEWHERE OVER THE RAINBOW
Posts: 3,128
Send a message via AIM to mike_Webb
Default

I am sorry. I do measure my shocks when I built them. I screwed the end caps on and then I measured from top to bottom to make sure that each side was the same length. Since then though I have not had to measure my shocks. If I rebuild them which I probably need to do then I will measure them again.

Mike Webb
mike_Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2007 / 08 1/8th MNL Buggy and Truggy National Series Race Danny Teh Malaysian R/C Racers 856 01-04-2009 08:04 PM
Losi xxx 2wd connyw R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 10 10-31-2008 04:31 PM
NITRO SELLOUT!!! CRT.5**XXX-NT AD1**XTM XCELLORATOR** Novak GTX with BATT duneordie R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 06-27-2008 07:28 PM
XXX Parts, B4 jelly Australia For Sale/Trade 10 06-22-2006 07:13 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:24 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0