R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-03-2011, 01:57 PM   #2296
Tech Addict
 
warnos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 522
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default rclitemods

Anyone used these 46mm driveshafts for the front from rclitemods?

http://www.litemodz.com/product_info...roducts_id=414

or

http://www.litemodz.com/product_info...roducts_id=289

Have not heard anyone on the TCX forum comment on them.. must be better then the aluminum ones..
__________________
TCX Smokem / F104 wgp
Major Sponsor : Visa Card
TEAM SMA - www.smaracing.org
warnos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 05:21 PM   #2297
Tech Apprentice
 
unknownmember's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 81
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by warnos View Post
Anyone used these 46mm driveshafts for the front from rclitemods?
They work but their service if horrific. I ordered a set of CVS from them late last year and being the holiday season I took into consideration that it'll take some time. So I waited and waited until I decided to get in touch and it turns out they haven't even sent out my order yet and by then it was a month later. So when I got the shafts, I had gotten defect parts so I got touch again and here I am still waiting for the replacement a month later.

They work but be prepared for bad customer service and over promising delivery time lines.

Last edited by unknownmember; 03-03-2011 at 05:22 PM. Reason: Typo
unknownmember is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 12:38 AM   #2298
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 92
Default

Your better off doing the Hotomo spool (see my comments earlier in this thread) or to source the 46mm steel Pro-D drive shafts.

you will have no issues with drive, or longevity.
Jo90uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 06:32 AM   #2299
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 148
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hi-LowBlow View Post
Actually, it will change the piston position in the shock body. When the 2mm lower shock mounting holes were used, the piston position will be 2mm higher that will generate less pack in the shock. It frees up the car a lot.

Hope it helps.
This is interesting. I never thought that the piston position in the shock body would affect car performance. Can you explain it? Would it be the same as using different shock shaft lenghs? For instance, the shafts from a pro4 are a bit longer than the cyclone ones. So, if I used them in a cyclone shock, the piston would be higher, much like using the lower shock tower. Would this have a similar effect in the car's handling? And what would that be, that is, what does "It frees up the car a lot" mean?

Thanks!
billtc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 07:41 AM   #2300
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: beijing ,china
Posts: 53
Default

Hara's TITC TCXHot Bodies TCX-024715acj9pzthjxajtj7t_jpg_thumb.jpg

Hot Bodies TCX-024715jjjzz0zly6nujjjt_jpg_thumb.jpg
__________________
-----------------------------------------------------------
vm2 ,tm e4,mi 4,cup racer,yokomo d1,TCX,PHI RDX,MI4CX,TC6,china made pro-d.
ps.just came back to this hobby this year after22 years .
oldnoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 07:47 AM   #2301
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,167
Trader Rating: 77 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldnoob View Post
He is running the gear diff in rear it looks like. What brand? Also the purple washers on the top deck. Those look sweet but he is not running those on every screw, I wonder why.
goin2drt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 07:51 AM   #2302
Tech Elite
 
san.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Earth
Posts: 4,402
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by goin2drt View Post
He is running the gear diff in rear it looks like. What brand? Also the purple washers on the top deck. Those look sweet but he is not running those on every screw, I wonder why.
To minimize/reduce flex.
__________________
Awesomatix USA||Roche RC USA||Mon-Tech Racing USA||Sanwa
san. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 09:03 AM   #2303
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 930
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Looks like Exotek has release the XX chassis for sale on their site.
__________________
Former fast guy just trying to keep up......
Jamie Hanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 09:57 AM   #2304
Tech Regular
 
M3Armand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 263
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldnoob View Post
What kind of motor is he running? Is that a 2.5?
M3Armand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 10:41 AM   #2305
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 990
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by billtc3 View Post
This is interesting. I never thought that the piston position in the shock body would affect car performance. Can you explain it? Would it be the same as using different shock shaft lenghs? For instance, the shafts from a pro4 are a bit longer than the cyclone ones. So, if I used them in a cyclone shock, the piston would be higher, much like using the lower shock tower. Would this have a similar effect in the car's handling? And what would that be, that is, what does "It frees up the car a lot" mean?

Thanks!
yes, you can make the same adjustment by using different length of shock shaft. Also unscrewing the shock bottom end for finner adjustment. It is all about how much oil you have above/below the piston. If you have more volume above the piston, the shock has more pack (basically it generates more traction), and less will have less pack.This adjustment is not like we can say better or worse instantly as other adjustments.

When you try to change the piston position by unscrewing shock bottom, that will also limit the down travel especially you have shocks on #1, #2 on rear tower or #2 on rear arm. Be careful.
Hi-LowBlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 11:02 AM   #2306
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 148
Default

To Hi-LowBlow

Hey, thanks a lot for replying.

I do have a set of pro4 shafts and I'll use them to see if I notice any difference. Right now I use the shorter cyclone shafts. It is fascinating, no matter how many years I've spent tuning and racing, finding info on details I had never dealt with before. Like you said, it's not about "better or worse instantly" but tiny things that can make you go a step further.
billtc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 01:04 PM   #2307
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 157
Send a message via AIM to Matt W
Default

Hey,

Do we know which steering hubs Hara is using because they're not HB!!

Also i notice both Hara and Andy moore are using the old wce style rollbar mounts and possible the tc rollbars because they definitely look wider than the tcx ones.....

any ideas??
Matt W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 01:12 PM   #2308
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 990
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt W View Post
Hey,

Do we know which steering hubs Hara is using because they're not HB!!

Also i notice both Hara and Andy moore are using the old wce style rollbar mounts and possible the tc rollbars because they definitely look wider than the tcx ones.....

any ideas??
The steering blocks that they used at the TITC is our prototype. We will test more and possible to sell as option parts later.

Thanks,
Hi-LowBlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 02:08 PM   #2309
Tech Regular
 
steveonamission's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 346
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt W View Post
Hey,

Do we know which steering hubs Hara is using because they're not HB!!

Also i notice both Hara and Andy moore are using the old wce style rollbar mounts and possible the tc rollbars because they definitely look wider than the tcx ones.....

any ideas??
They need to run the wce rollbars with the mounts, as otherwise if you use the kit rollbars with the wce mounts the rollbars bind up and have no play, as there not wide enough to go around the bulkhead, you can bend them out slightly, but they are still too short, i personally think there is a design fault as the rear kit rollbars are too short anyway. Im sure there using the older rollbar/mounts simply because its too short lol or the adjustment is far better, being able to adjust the play with the rollbar stoppers, i am also running them like them.
steveonamission is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 11:30 PM   #2310
Tech Elite
 
tha Beast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: H-Town TX
Posts: 2,167
Trader Rating: 100 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by warnos View Post
Anyone used these 46mm driveshafts for the front from rclitemods?

http://www.litemodz.com/product_info...roducts_id=414

or

http://www.litemodz.com/product_info...roducts_id=289

Have not heard anyone on the TCX forum comment on them.. must be better then the aluminum ones..
anything is better than the aluminum shafts
__________________
REFLEXRACING
MIKES HOBBY SHOP PORTER TX
tha Beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:03 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net