R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-07-2012, 02:35 PM   #901
Tech Addict
 
hana166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 677
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
I'm underwhelmed by the brakes in 13.5 sedan.
I understand what you're saying. There is a significant improvement in the brake with the V3. Very good indeed, not quite equal to Hobbywing 211 software (awesome) in outright power but slightly better in feel.

If you're geared in the 5s then obviously the brand of motor and the rotor strength play a major part in brake performance.

I gear the ballistic 13.5, which has terrible brakes, at 6.37 in order to get them, then work the settings and can timing around that arrangement for boosted.

Obviously not an option for blinky but if you try the strongest legal TP rotor and use the V3 software I reckon the brakes will be there. When I use my GM motor in the 5s boosted the brakes are wicked but with the Novak its not happening at all until the 6s. Perhaps a shorter ratio and more can timing for blinky?

Of course the cost of upgrading V3 to might be off putting considering its nearly the price of an HW Xtreme stock, my other favourite speedo..but..you know how it is..its just a lovely bit of kit, it just drives so nice..
hana166 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 08:55 PM   #902
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,051
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

There's no doubt the ESC's throttle response is fantastic. With a little work on the brakes and the drag brae options, it would really be fantastic.

A bit of positive expo on the brakes seems to have done the trick. I think maybe it's not the overall strength I'm struggling with, but just how little brakes there are at the front of the trigger. I tend to not push forward very much at all. Other ESC's give you a lot up front.

I'll probably give a HW V3 a try once it's been out a while, but for now the BD is great.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 01:43 AM   #903
Tech Addict
 
hana166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 677
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

So its more initial brake you're looking for. Just to clarify I meant BD V3, with this software you can adjust initial brake as well as many other settings compared to your BD V2.1
hana166 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 03:06 AM   #904
Tech Addict
 
hana166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 677
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bertrandsv87 View Post
A setup to get the best of both worlds, bottom and top end, would be to run 30 from 0 to 19600rpm and 50 past 19600 ramped evenly to 36000rpm.... You can even gear lower, around 7.6FDR to get more punch out of the corners, and reduce heating issues.....
Yes, this is an obvious solution, possible with software like HW and Tekin. But this is the BD thread. Have to be a little more creative to find the perfect spot

Current setting is very close
hana166 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 02:03 PM   #905
Tech Master
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,619
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys been using this speedo in my blinky car but now im putting it in my mod car ....sooo i got a thunder power 10.5 and im looking for any good reccomendations on my speedo settings....i want to run boost so its my first time programming this speedo with boost so looking for any reccomended settings i should start with....thanks
theatriks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 05:25 PM   #906
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,545
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theatriks View Post
Hey guys been using this speedo in my blinky car but now im putting it in my mod car ....sooo i got a thunder power 10.5 and im looking for any good reccomendations on my speedo settings....i want to run boost so its my first time programming this speedo with boost so looking for any reccomended settings i should start with....thanks
I wouldn't start with hefty amounts of timing,

I use the following in my BD with a Thunder Power 13.5;

Mid 7000rpm, 42timing, high 14000, 47timing, 200 delay
Motor timing around 25deg

I typicaly get motor temps around 50-55degC with a basic heatsink.

Let us know how you get on as I will have to fit a 10.5 for our nationals in a few weeks.

Skiddins
__________________
Xray T4'16, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2016
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 05:37 PM   #907
Tech Master
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,619
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skiddins View Post
I wouldn't start with hefty amounts of timing,

I use the following in my BD with a Thunder Power 13.5;

Mid 7000rpm, 42timing, high 14000, 47timing, 200 delay
Motor timing around 25deg

I typicaly get motor temps around 50-55degC with a basic heatsink.

Let us know how you get on as I will have to fit a 10.5 for our nationals in a few weeks.

Skiddins
Ok i will give her a go ........im gonna start with a 5.5 fdr
theatriks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 07:05 AM   #908
Tech Master
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,619
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skiddins View Post
I wouldn't start with hefty amounts of timing,

I use the following in my BD with a Thunder Power 13.5;

Mid 7000rpm, 42timing, high 14000, 47timing, 200 delay
Motor timing around 25deg

I typicaly get motor temps around 50-55degC with a basic heatsink.

Let us know how you get on as I will have to fit a 10.5 for our nationals in a few weeks.

Skiddins
also what forward profile did you go with
theatriks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 08:39 AM   #909
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,545
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theatriks View Post
also what forward profile did you go with
Try profile 4, then 5 once you know the settings/grip will allow it as it will get slightly hotter.
Was running profile 4 without knowing it at the weekend.

How big is your track, remember you will need to gear roughly '1.0FDR' down from a 13.5 gearing.
So if running 6.0 on a 13.5, try 7.0 for a 10.5
__________________
Xray T4'16, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2016
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 09:05 AM   #910
Tech Master
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,619
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skiddins View Post
Try profile 4, then 5 once you know the settings/grip will allow it as it will get slightly hotter.
Was running profile 4 without knowing it at the weekend.

How big is your track, remember you will need to gear roughly '1.0FDR' down from a 13.5 gearing.
So if running 6.0 on a 13.5, try 7.0 for a 10.5
Ok thanks for your help i will do just that ......i havent seen the track layout yet but we are running on a 100ft x 80ft ashpalt slab
theatriks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 12:34 PM   #911
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,545
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theatriks View Post
Ok thanks for your help i will do just that ......i havent seen the track layout yet but we are running on a 100ft x 80ft ashpalt slab
Sounds like you'll need to gear quite low anyway. Remember, the TP motors like to rev more than most.
Perhaps 7.5-8.0FDR etc.

Almost everyone was geared between 6.0-6.3 on this layout with various ESC's and motors in 13.5
I ran 6.25FDR with my 13.5 Thunder Power but sadly missed the A final by 1 second :'(
+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.
__________________
Xray T4'16, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2016
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 08:35 AM   #912
Tech Master
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,619
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys just a quick question ..am i looking at the software rite? can u only get 40 or 50% drag brake? what if i wanted to run 10% drag is that not possible with this speedo?
theatriks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 09:06 AM   #913
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,051
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

The drag brake doesn't seem to work like other ESC's. I use the 50% setting and it feels like it's got very little.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 01:30 PM   #914
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,545
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
The drag brake doesn't seem to work like other ESC's. I use the 50% setting and it feels like it's got very little.
What brake profile is it on?
THis seems to make a big difference to how strong the brakes are.

I was running 30% drag on profile 3, then tried 40% on profile 4 and it felt one step away from being like yanking the handbrake, car practically stopped in the fast corners when I came off throttle.

What version of software are you using, the versions I have allow you to set it to any value you want in 1% increments
__________________
Xray T4'16, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2016
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 02:01 PM   #915
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,051
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

I've got 2.1 currently. I need to check what brake profile, but it's one of the two with drag brake. The push brakes are pretty weak and the drag brake feels just right. This is in a sedan though, which doesn't seem to be the target audience for this ESC.

I picked up another I'm sending to Advanced to get upgraded so I can adjust the brakes a bit more through the software.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:52 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0