R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-25-2011, 09:45 PM   #751
Tech Elite
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,311
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Try a different steering servo. Had one that caused all kinds of weird glitch problems.
__________________
Gary Lanzer
Team VBC HK
Team R1WURKS
Johnny Wishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 11:54 PM   #752
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 526
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I'd try a 2.4GHz setup if I were you to make sure. Had the same problem with an old GTB and only going to 2.4GHz solved the problem...
__________________
Make it idiot-proof, and someone will make a better idiot.
Quante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 12:28 AM   #753
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 421
Default

There are only two things I've not tried, a 2.4ghz radio (expensive just to try!) and different motor. Just seems weird I get no problems with anything of my other speedos. Will be gutted if it's the motor as that's the reason. Got the bd in the first place, to get the best put of the corally!
Mb3195 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 04:43 AM   #754
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 526
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mb3195 View Post
There are only two things I've not tried, a 2.4ghz radio (expensive just to try!) and different motor. Just seems weird I get no problems with anything of my other speedos. Will be gutted if it's the motor as that's the reason. Got the bd in the first place, to get the best put of the corally!
Cant you borrow a setup from someone else (at the track just to find out)?
Like I said, when I first had my GTB a few years back I had to go from 40mHz to 2.4GHz for that reason.
I guess the esc itself sends out noise that interferes with your receiver. No matter what I tried, the only way to go was 2.4GHz, Novak customer support also told me they had problems with 40MHz.
Does it interfere when you're just walking away with the transmitter (because that was ok with the Novak, untill I started driving)?
__________________
Make it idiot-proof, and someone will make a better idiot.
Quante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 04:53 AM   #755
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 421
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quante View Post
Cant you borrow a setup from someone else (at the track just to find out)?
Like I said, when I first had my GTB a few years back I had to go from 40mHz to 2.4GHz for that reason.
I guess the esc itself sends out noise that interferes with your receiver. No matter what I tried, the only way to go was 2.4GHz, Novak customer support also told me they had problems with 40MHz.
Does it interfere when you're just walking away with the transmitter (because that was ok with the Novak, untill I started driving)?
Yeah, if I get 10 ft away from the car it starts, the further away I go the worse it gets. I'm going to borrow a 2.4ghz tomorrow to see if it works.

To be fair to Advanced Electronics, they are being brilliant over this and are trying all means possible to get it working for me. Baring in mind I bought it 2nd hand, they could of just washed their hands of it - they are even talking about loaning me another one just to see if I have the same problems - now that is customer support!
Mb3195 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 05:11 PM   #756
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,544
Default

I will hopefully have the chance to test a V3 version during a race meeting tomorrow in the 13.5 class.

Anyone done any testing with settings already and got any advice or samples of changes made and what it achieved?

Thanks
Skiddins
__________________
Xray T4'16, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2016
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 04:52 AM   #757
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5,310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skiddins View Post
I will hopefully have the chance to test a V3 version during a race meeting tomorrow in the 13.5 class.

Anyone done any testing with settings already and got any advice or samples of changes made and what it achieved?

Thanks
Skiddins
Not with a 13.5.... My brother runs 17.5 and we find around 40-45 degrees for mid timing around 5000 mark and 50+ when you think it works best (around 15000 usually). Top timing is very specific tuning to the track conditions though. Gearing is the same as you would run with V2.
__________________
Blade: Andro Treiber H 79g AN
FH: Donic Bluefire M3 Max Blk
BH: Donic Bluefire M2 Max Red
Powered by Falco
Dragonfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 11:55 AM   #758
Tech Master
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,619
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skiddins View Post
I will hopefully have the chance to test a V3 version during a race meeting tomorrow in the 13.5 class.

Anyone done any testing with settings already and got any advice or samples of changes made and what it achieved?

Thanks
Skiddins
How did the testing go?
theatriks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 04:21 PM   #759
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theatriks View Post
How did the testing go?
Hmm, not great so far.

Started with my usual gearing of 4.01 FDR (all the following are with 40 mid timing at 3000rpm), should give around 42mph

Tried 45deg top at 15,000 and 20,000 at roughly 50ms.

No difference in top speed.

The only thing that did was making top timing 50 (46mph), but the motor went soft after 2.5mins then unsoldered itself at 3.5 mins (despite the fact that the motor was only 60degC, weak solder joint???)

Have since tried bringing the FDR down to 5.00 and 5.3 with similar settings but very little has worked so far.

Will try bringing the FDR up to 4.7 tomorrow and then try some other settings etc (it's a two day event)

All in all, a frustrating day.

Skiddins
__________________
Xray T4'16, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2016
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 04:29 PM   #760
Tech Master
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,619
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Sorry to hear that ...better luck tommorow ...and let us know how it goes
theatriks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 04:43 PM   #761
Tech Master
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,619
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Sorry to hear that ...better luck tommorow ...and let us know how it goes
theatriks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 04:45 PM   #762
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Dordon , England
Posts: 387
Default

What 13.5 are you using as 4.0 FDR sounds very low , ran 13.5 for the first time the other week with the 2.1 version and novak ballistic buggy 13.5 on 2nd notch of + timing on the can and profile 5 geared at 6.0 FDR and was only half a car lenth slower than tekin powered cars down the main straight at Bedworth.
__________________
Xray X1 "16" driven by an idiot, me
weekendracer_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 08:42 PM   #763
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5,310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by weekendracer_uk View Post
What 13.5 are you using as 4.0 FDR sounds very low , ran 13.5 for the first time the other week with the 2.1 version and novak ballistic buggy 13.5 on 2nd notch of + timing on the can and profile 5 geared at 6.0 FDR and was only half a car lenth slower than tekin powered cars down the main straight at Bedworth.
I agree... My brother runs FDR's of around 5.2 for 17.5t motors so I would imagine 5.5 minimum with this software.
__________________
Blade: Andro Treiber H 79g AN
FH: Donic Bluefire M3 Max Blk
BH: Donic Bluefire M2 Max Red
Powered by Falco
Dragonfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2011, 01:37 AM   #764
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 421
Default

Pretty sure skiddins has a corally pro red, you gear these motors like no others! The fdr on a corally is normally 1.2 lower than anything else due to the amount of torque it has.

Btw, my interference stopped when I tried a 2.4ghz radio, ae are sending me a replacement new speedo to try, if it works they are going to swap it over! top stuff'
Mb3195 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2011, 04:26 AM   #765
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 526
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mb3195 View Post
Pretty sure skiddins has a corally pro red, you gear these motors like no others! The fdr on a corally is normally 1.2 lower than anything else due to the amount of torque it has.

Btw, my interference stopped when I tried a 2.4ghz radio, ae are sending me a replacement new speedo to try, if it works they are going to swap it over! top stuff'
Heh, good thing that worked out for you.
__________________
Make it idiot-proof, and someone will make a better idiot.
Quante is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:43 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0