R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-22-2011, 04:03 PM   #736
Tech Master
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,619
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

just another hater
theatriks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 04:11 PM   #737
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,580
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theatriks View Post
Got my ae esc with the v3 software today .....super stolcked !!! Just waiting on my motor to come in then its kick ass city lol
Did you get the software to change the profiles with it and the cable?

Skiddins
__________________
Xray T4'17, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2017
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 05:10 PM   #738
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5,310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cannon View Post
Rumour has it that the BD is soo good in Mod that a BD test driver installed an Orion ESC in his car instead at a recent race meeting and won the meeting instead of not finishing every run.

Now that is funny
Now u are just a spastic ain't you. The speedy was thermalling due to me being very conservative with the temp cut and running low gearing. I could have fixed thermalling quite easy. Fundamentally I changed to the Orion speedy looking for better brakes. On the straights the BD has way more power with the same motor. To match the BD's power I had 20C more temp on the same motor.
__________________
Blade: Andro Treiber H 79g AN
FH: Donic Bluefire M3 Max Blk
BH: Donic Bluefire M2 Max Red
Powered by Falco
Dragonfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 07:10 PM   #739
Tech Master
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,619
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skiddins View Post
Did you get the software to change the profiles with it and the cable?

Skiddins


Oh yes i did
theatriks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 07:22 PM   #740
Tech Champion
 
cannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A total distraction
Posts: 7,266
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragonfire View Post
Now u are just a spastic ain't you. The speedy was thermalling due to me being very conservative with the temp cut and running low gearing. I could have fixed thermalling quite easy. Fundamentally I changed to the Orion speedy looking for better brakes. On the straights the BD has way more power with the same motor. To match the BD's power I had 20C more temp on the same motor.
Now who is the spastic. Getting better brakes CAUSES heat in the motors .... something most racers understand .... but then again ... SPECIAL

So you are saying the BD had no brakes

I thought team drivers were supposed to only use the team product
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com ........... new website
cannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 07:33 PM   #741
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5,310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cannon View Post
Now who is the spastic. Getting better brakes CAUSES heat in the motors .... something most racers understand .... but then again ... SPECIAL

So you are saying the BD had no brakes

I thought team drivers were supposed to only use the team product
Lol I am no team driver... Everything I use is by choice.
__________________
Blade: Andro Treiber H 79g AN
FH: Donic Bluefire M3 Max Blk
BH: Donic Bluefire M2 Max Red
Powered by Falco
Dragonfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 07:35 PM   #742
Tech Champion
 
cannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A total distraction
Posts: 7,266
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragonfire View Post
Lol I am no team driver... Everything I use is by choice.
Ahhhhh ... completely bypassing the no brakes or why the motor ran hotter with an ESC with brakes

So you chose the Orion because it was better
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com ........... new website
cannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 11:02 PM   #743
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 421
Default New firmware

Has anyone actually tried the new firmware yet! If so, what is the difference over the old one just had mine upgraded and waiting for it to come back.
Mb3195 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 04:07 AM   #744
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5,310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mb3195 View Post
Has anyone actually tried the new firmware yet! If so, what is the difference over the old one just had mine upgraded and waiting for it to come back.
Simply put you can tune how much and when the timing occurs in two steps. The total system timing seems to be higher as well as you can generate more top end than the previous software. You can also change some of the basic settings to your liking like the brake punch values and drag brake, throttle punch, even temp cut (I played with this one too much!). Apart from that it is much the same.
__________________
Blade: Andro Treiber H 79g AN
FH: Donic Bluefire M3 Max Blk
BH: Donic Bluefire M2 Max Red
Powered by Falco
Dragonfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 04:32 PM   #745
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,580
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragonfire View Post
Simply put you can tune how much and when the timing occurs in two steps. The total system timing seems to be higher as well as you can generate more top end than the previous software. You can also change some of the basic settings to your liking like the brake punch values and drag brake, throttle punch, even temp cut (I played with this one too much!). Apart from that it is much the same.
Any chance of a screenshot of the software config screen?

Skiddins
__________________
Xray T4'17, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2017
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 04:48 PM   #746
Tech Addict
 
hana166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 677
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I'm glad reports are that the feeling of the speedo is much the same. Think I'd better box mine up and get them shipped to Sweden. On occasion I need a touch more brake, and it would be nice to have a little extra at the top maybe if it helps laptime, so the update seems exactly what I'm looking for. The ORCA will keep me occupied in the meantime. These two are currently my favourites, super smooth !
hana166 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 09:07 AM   #747
Tech Master
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,619
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Heres a screenshot of the v3 software



Uploaded with ImageShack.us
theatriks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 10:25 AM   #748
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,580
Default

Cheers, though ironically I was sent the link earlier today as mine is now on it's way back

Skiddins
__________________
Xray T4'17, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2017
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 03:25 PM   #749
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 421
Default

Seriously confused now! Got my bd back today after I sent it off complaining of bad interference and also wanted the new firmware installed.

Now 70 quid out of pocket, im still getting really bad interference, move 5 yards away from the car and things start going crazy!

I've tried two radios (ko esprit 2 40mhz and esprit 3 27mhz), 4 receivers, 3 sets of crystals, unplugged various electronics one at a Time, moved esc and receivers around, still no luck!

Advanced electronics said they couldn't find anything wrong with it, but I daren't even try it round a track as I don't want to write my car off.

Power cap and rx lead have both been replaced.

I'm running an xray t3.

Any suggestions or anyone else had similar issues......driving me mad!
Mb3195 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 03:47 PM   #750
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Paris - France
Posts: 398
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

uh...
have you tried with another motor ?
have you checked all wires, connectors ; servo, speedo ?
Ralf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:32 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net