R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-14-2010, 09:15 AM   #211
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5,310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tellan View Post
Solved the lag off the line by just advancing the Throttle profile on tranny to +5.Lag solved.

I run in 1/12th pan car 1s lipo. After 4 test sessions finally found the perfect mix of Motor timing, BD profile and rollout. Car is now amazing to drive.

The perfect motor for this Esc is the Novak Ballastic having tried LRP,Nosram and GM by far the best has been the Novak.

At my local permanant track i had done approx 1200 laps with my tekin RS and my best lap was 12.66 secs.
Since testing the BD it is now 12.17 secs.So the Tekins are history sold both and bought another BD ,now have 2.

If you want any further details please ask or PM me.
Its kinda funny that the BD has been such a force in 12th scale considering how much power it uses each run. The throttle response is very very good though.
__________________
Blade: Andro Treiber H 79g AN
FH: Donic Bluefire M3 Max Blk
BH: Donic Bluefire M2 Max Red
Powered by Falco
Dragonfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 12:54 PM   #212
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Bern, N.C.
Posts: 1,186
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I've got one of the single cell specific BD speedos which works terriffic in my 1/12th scale car. Trouble is, 1/12th scale racing is almost 100% dead where I live. So this awesome BD speedo has been just sitting around gathering dust for several months. If I wanted to run this speedo in my sedan, is that possible?........maybe by just adding a fan or something? Can someone please advise on whether or not the 1cell version BD can be adapted or converted easily for running it with 2cells? I hate to let this great piece of equipment languish unused in the workshop.
vafactor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 04:15 PM   #213
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 399
Default BD 1S

Are you sure you know what you are talking about, there is multiple settings to allow 1s or 2s .Just go through the profiles and it will be fine. I believe a fan can be fitted to top of Esc for further cooling.
tellan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 04:17 PM   #214
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 399
Default AE BD Esc

I think i may be the only runner in the Uk in 1/12th racing , it just hasnt caught on . Supply was the initial problem, then price was an issue . Now that is available its kind of missed the boat.
Tekin Rs is the hot baby to have in the Uk. Ive just sold all mine and moved to BD I have 2.
tellan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 04:44 PM   #215
Tech Master
 
Me_MrTyson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,801
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Me_MrTyson Send a message via Skype™ to Me_MrTyson
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vafactor View Post
I've got one of the single cell specific BD speedos which works terriffic in my 1/12th scale car. Trouble is, 1/12th scale racing is almost 100% dead where I live. So this awesome BD speedo has been just sitting around gathering dust for several months. If I wanted to run this speedo in my sedan, is that possible?........maybe by just adding a fan or something? Can someone please advise on whether or not the 1cell version BD can be adapted or converted easily for running it with 2cells? I hate to let this great piece of equipment languish unused in the workshop.
Hey,

I run the LV(12th scale) version in my TC, what class you planning to run?? v1 you can run 10.5t on 2s without a fan.

You will need to change Lipo Cut-off to option (Solid Green light) to profile 5 which is 2 cell.
__________________
v-dezign // black diamond

Hoot RC for Local Supplies > www.hootrc.com.au
Me_MrTyson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 04:46 PM   #216
Tech Regular
 
rack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 465
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vafactor View Post
I've got one of the single cell specific BD speedos which works terriffic in my 1/12th scale car. Trouble is, 1/12th scale racing is almost 100% dead where I live. So this awesome BD speedo has been just sitting around gathering dust for several months. If I wanted to run this speedo in my sedan, is that possible?........maybe by just adding a fan or something? Can someone please advise on whether or not the 1cell version BD can be adapted or converted easily for running it with 2cells? I hate to let this great piece of equipment languish unused in the workshop.
I have two BD speedo I am using one in my 1/12 scale and the other in my sedan 17.5. I love the yway they run. Just remember for 2 cell to put in your jumper.
rack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 05:56 PM   #217
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Bern, N.C.
Posts: 1,186
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Thanks guys for the useful info. especially the reminder about the jumper. Not being one who's very fond of fiddling with a Tekin's hotwire gizzmo and those overly complex profile settings, it will be a welcome change to take advantage of the BD's simple and user friendly plug and play (fast play) features.
vafactor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 06:36 PM   #218
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Wisconsin
Posts: 2,925
Trader Rating: 212 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vafactor View Post
Thanks guys for the useful info. especially the reminder about the jumper. Not being one who's very fond of fiddling with a Tekin's hotwire gizzmo and those overly complex profile settings, it will be a welcome change to take advantage of the BD's simple and user friendly plug and play (fast play) features.
Only wish it had an Off/On switch!!!
Andy Koback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 06:47 PM   #219
Tech Master
 
Me_MrTyson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,801
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Me_MrTyson Send a message via Skype™ to Me_MrTyson
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Koback View Post
Only wish it had an Off/On switch!!!
I have installed an on / off switch taking advantage of that jumper pin used for internal BEC circut..

Not sure if AE would appove.. but a solution to a problem in my TC car.

Install a switch between pins 5 - 6, this will stop all power going into the Rx via BEC system.

If you are using external LiFe to power the ESC would not really work as these pins will already be removed.

However nothing to stop you putting a switch between the red cable via an adapter.
__________________
v-dezign // black diamond

Hoot RC for Local Supplies > www.hootrc.com.au
Me_MrTyson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 06:56 PM   #220
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Wisconsin
Posts: 2,925
Trader Rating: 212 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=Me_MrTyson;7541922]I have installed an on / off switch taking advantage of that jumper pin used for internal BEC circut..

Just might try this. Sounds easy! Thanks!
Andy Koback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 09:56 PM   #221
Tech Master
 
Swampracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Squamish
Posts: 1,733
Trader Rating: 67 (99%+)
Default External LiFe RX pack

Hi guys, just wanted to clarify on the proper wiring when using a external LiFe RX pack?

RX pack directly into receiver? or do I use the pins on the ESC.

Thanks Greg G
Swampracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 11:23 PM   #222
Tech Master
 
Me_MrTyson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,801
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Me_MrTyson Send a message via Skype™ to Me_MrTyson
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swampracer View Post
Hi guys, just wanted to clarify on the proper wiring when using a external LiFe RX pack?

RX pack directly into receiver? or do I use the pins on the ESC.

Thanks Greg G

Greg,

You use pins 4 (-) - 5 (+) to power the external BEC system.

Like myself you could find that + (pin 5) is located in the middle of a 3pin adapter causing the BD to be in the way, just create an extention lead easy to do this also assist as putting the connector in and out all the time becomes a pain.

Or change the end of the battery to a 2 pin adapter

hope this helps

don't forget to change the cut off from profile 5 (default) to profile 2 this then allow the internal BEC system to still monitor the cut off correctly.
__________________
v-dezign // black diamond

Hoot RC for Local Supplies > www.hootrc.com.au
Me_MrTyson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2010, 02:48 AM   #223
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 399
Default BD cut off

I run a Life pack and its great 220ma and comfortabley get 3 to 4 runs of 8 mins with out a charge.
I also have the voltage cut off on the Esc switched off. Running 1s Lipo is not a problem with 1/12th and voltage drop off.
tellan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 08:11 AM   #224
Tech Elite
 
Jochim_18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: CALI
Posts: 2,364
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Trying to pic up a BD (LV Ver.) for my TC... Any suggestion guys what profile to use?
__________________
Localrcracing.com - Your premiere source of Radio controlled Racing in central California.

Visaliahobbies.com * SkyRC * casterracingparts.com
Jochim_18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 10:24 AM   #225
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5,310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jochim_18 View Post
Trying to pic up a BD (LV Ver.) for my TC... Any suggestion guys what profile to use?
Thats generally an easy Q, profile 5 unless you are struggling with temps.
__________________
Blade: Andro Treiber H 79g AN
FH: Donic Bluefire M3 Max Blk
BH: Donic Bluefire M2 Max Red
Powered by Falco
Dragonfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:45 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0