R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-07-2010, 01:30 PM   #1411
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,266
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

did you say thats how you did it JB or was it inspgadgt
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*TLR Racing*DE Racing*92 Zero Design*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 01:34 PM   #1412
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,803
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quite a few pages back, I describe how that's the way I do it I can't remember if inspgadgt does it this way or not.....
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 01:40 PM   #1413
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,168
Default

Naw I'm too lazy to do it that way. I set my ride height with the droop screws backed out. I then slide a piece of paper under the droop screw and tighten it until it has a fair amount of drag on the paper. I then set the other side to about the same amount of drag.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 01:43 PM   #1414
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,803
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Awww, c'mon man!!!
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 04:54 PM   #1415
avs
Tech Master
 
avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,155
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
Naw I'm too lazy to do it that way. I set my ride height with the droop screws backed out. I then slide a piece of paper under the droop screw and tighten it until it has a fair amount of drag on the paper. I then set the other side to about the same amount of drag.
this sounded like the way to go until i tried to quantify the droop, although getting it even almost seems more important than the absolute value.

in order to get it even and quantified:
1) back off on the droop screws
2) set the ride height to the desired ride height+0.25mm+droop.
3) set the droop screws to reduce ride height by 0.25mm
(now the ride height should be at the desired rideheight+droop
4) set ride heigth to desired ride height.

its not as bad as it sounds.
__________________
Tony Shimko
avs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 06:08 PM   #1416
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,168
Default

Why are you doing .25mm + droop instead of just + droop? The way you outline would give you .25mm more droop than you want.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 06:42 PM   #1417
avs
Tech Master
 
avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,155
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
Why are you doing .25mm + droop instead of just + droop? The way you outline would give you .25mm more droop than you want.
the idea is to preload slightly against the droop screws to when you set upstop position(rideheight+droop). not too much not too little, but equal on both sides
does that make sense?

you set the ride height a little high, bring it back down with the droop screw to the desired upstop, then back off the ride height to where you want it be.

nothing is cut in stone or anything, just trying to find a repeatable, quantifiable, and convenient way to set droop.
__________________
Tony Shimko
avs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 06:54 PM   #1418
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,266
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

why are you adding pre load
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*TLR Racing*DE Racing*92 Zero Design*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 08:12 PM   #1419
avs
Tech Master
 
avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,155
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
why are you adding pre load

the idea was to use a ride height gauge in the usual manner, but to set droop. i can reverse gravity, but i can lift the car above the desired ride height and then adjust the droop setting or 'upstop' based on the ride height.

i want to have equal preload to set ride height against the upstop. if there is too much preload or uneven preload, then there can be deformation in the lower arm that dorks the measurement.
__________________
Tony Shimko
avs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 08:14 PM   #1420
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,266
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

ok,you just do it backwards but i get what you are doing
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*TLR Racing*DE Racing*92 Zero Design*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 08:27 PM   #1421
avs
Tech Master
 
avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,155
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
ok,you just do it backwards but i get what you are doing
yeah, at first i tried to set the ride height then add a spacer or something to set the upstop, but nothing was more reliable and easier than just setting the upstop first then backing off to the desired ride height.
__________________
Tony Shimko
avs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 08:46 PM   #1422
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,168
Default

Ah I see what you are doing...your using the pre-load to set the ride height to it's "drooped" ride height with the droop screws then dropping the car down to it's actual ride height with the ride height screws. However I still don't see the need for the extra .25mm...even with the pre-load your droop screws should be the proper setting for the droop...so all you should have to do is set the ride height.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 07:32 AM   #1423
avs
Tech Master
 
avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,155
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
Ah I see what you are doing...your using the pre-load to set the ride height to it's "drooped" ride height with the droop screws then dropping the car down to it's actual ride height with the ride height screws. However I still don't see the need for the extra .25mm...even with the pre-load your droop screws should be the proper setting for the droop...so all you should have to do is set the ride height.
if i were to set the ride height to the upstop position, then i would need to set the droop screw to just touch. i was trying to avoid this kind of finesse.

the extra preload to have some adjustment in the droop screw setting that i could monitor with the ride height gauge.
__________________
Tony Shimko
avs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 01:49 PM   #1424
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,168
Default

Regardless of if the droop screw is just touching or has significant pressure on it...the suspension can't travel any farther than that. So if you add enough pre-load to overcome the weight of the car you could set your ride height + droop with the droop screw then set your final ride height with the ride height screw alone.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 02:02 PM   #1425
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,803
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default


This is not a complicated process...but the process does need to be precise & repeatable.
So whatever keeps you from 2nd guessing yourself on the drivers stand and in the pits, I'm all for it
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:32 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net