R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-01-2011, 03:02 PM   #1666
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,176
Default

Hey Jaybee...what servo are you using and did you have to drill a new servo mount hole to flip it to that side?
InspGadgt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 03:20 PM   #1667
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,276
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
Hey Jaybee...what servo are you using and did you have to drill a new servo mount hole to flip it to that side?
here is JB'S car http://www.rctech.net/forum/attachme...erhead12-8.jpg
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*TLR Racing*DE Racing*92 Zero Design*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 03:27 PM   #1668
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,176
Default

Ah...I see he did redrill then...thanks
InspGadgt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 05:19 PM   #1669
H I
Tech Master
 
H I's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sydney,Australia
Posts: 1,877
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
I really wish they would change their bottles...that stuff just leaks all over the place for me
Just put pin hole on top, don't cut tip off. It's not like you need heaps of them. Mine never leaks (so far).
H I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 05:39 PM   #1670
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,176
Default

Mine have been leaking from the threading on the cap.
InspGadgt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 07:19 PM   #1671
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,803
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
Hey Jaybee...what servo are you using and did you have to drill a new servo mount hole to flip it to that side?
Futaba S9650
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 01:46 AM   #1672
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,176
Default

Hey Jason,

Given more and more people are mounting the ESC on the right side of the chassis have you considered offering a chassis with the servo mounts on the other side?

Just curious
InspGadgt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 03:45 AM   #1673
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,803
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

I don't know if its a trend or not.....
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 06:04 AM   #1674
Tech Lord
 
protc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Spring Hill,Florida
Posts: 10,829
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Some people do that as they find it easier to balance the chassis. In reality, it doesnt make a difference. Balance is balance. Also keep in mind that some dont take into consideration that the 1S LiPo's are heavier on the side opposite the bullet plugs.
__________________
Jason Breiner
BMI Racing
Team Associated
J Concepts
protc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 07:19 AM   #1675
Tech Master
 
LonnyJ1950's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ. USA
Posts: 1,161
Default

I did not know that, and it's very interesting. Thanks.
__________________
Lonny
LonnyJ1950 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 09:28 AM   #1676
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,176
Default

I'm looking to do it more as a wire management thing than a balance thing. The wires just seem to get to the motor better from that side. Interesting about the battery...I hadn't considered that.
InspGadgt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 12:10 PM   #1677
Tech Lord
 
protc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Spring Hill,Florida
Posts: 10,829
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I have mounted my speedo on both sides of the car with no issues. However, i have the tekin and it is pretty small.
__________________
Jason Breiner
BMI Racing
Team Associated
J Concepts
protc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 12:14 PM   #1678
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,176
Default

Yup that's why I run the Tekin as well Though I am getting rather tired of having to use a reciever pack or booster. I think I am going to check out the Viper Vtrax1 when it comes out.
InspGadgt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 12:37 PM   #1679
Tech Elite
 
jeff jenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 3,926
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default

i am running the vtrax 1 right now the size is nice and very easy to program .
jeff jenkins is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 12:43 PM   #1680
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,657
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff jenkins View Post
i am running the vtrax 1 right now the size is nice and very easy to program .
teaser lol
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:09 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net