R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-19-2013, 11:33 AM   #721
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vasco C View Post
It sounds to me that you're indeed running the 'short' TF5 arms instead of the longer TF6SP ones. Please check the block setting, when using these short arms you shouldn't go any narrower then C-C out, this will cause binding problems!

You're very welcome, the cost of the new update kit is indeed 'low' considering the amount of parts it contains and the performance boost it brings to the table!
No no Vasco, wait. I've got the sp arms. I'm running with the TF005H items that are exactly the arms included in sp kit.
takashi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 11:45 AM   #722
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 88
Send a message via MSN to Vasco C
Default

Sorry my bad.. too much part numbers going on with the suspension arms

The only thing I can think of is debri in your spool outdrive causing the axle to wear out like this. Do you use any kind of grease on the driveshafts/balls?
Vasco C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 11:59 AM   #723
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 6
Default

ahaha no problem Vasco. Yes i use grease to keep balls on the axle, and inside the spool
takashi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 01:09 AM   #724
Tech Rookie
 
Fred79's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 14
Default

After following Vasco's asfalt setup my arms dont fall down properly and can not get the right ride hight in front. Stops at 4.5mm. I do not have the optional shock tower mount, and seem like the shock's are too short.
Also i noticed the setup sheet shows 4 holes for mounting the lower shock position but mine only has 2. Do i have to drill my own hole nr 2 and 4?
Fred79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 01:26 AM   #725
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 302
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

The other 2 holes are on the other side of the arm..
You need to flip the arm over.
__________________
XPRESS| SMOKEM | MUCHMORE | SRT RACING | MONTECH
Lionel S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 01:29 AM   #726
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 302
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by takashi View Post
ahaha no problem Vasco. Yes i use grease to keep balls on the axle, and inside the spool

Your best option would be to upgrade to steel shafts...
The standard gold alloy shafts are quite weak...

You will never have a problem with the steel shafts.
__________________
XPRESS| SMOKEM | MUCHMORE | SRT RACING | MONTECH
Lionel S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 04:04 PM   #727
Tech Rookie
 
Fred79's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lionel S View Post
The other 2 holes are on the other side of the arm..
You need to flip the arm over.


Well... who feels stupid now ey!
Tnx for the heads up on the arms by the way, hehe.
Vasco's asfalt setup is pretty much good all over, thank you Vasco for sharing such a nice setup

Last edited by Fred79; 08-26-2013 at 05:37 PM.
Fred79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 08:39 AM   #728
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 88
Send a message via MSN to Vasco C
Default

@Fred79, Thank you for the kind words!

Hopefully you've solved the ride height issue already, if not... I recon it's the shocks being too short indeed. Can you please measure the length of the entire shock and tell me how much it is?

Please make sure that the droop settings are correct. When I measure my droop take my shocks off and measure it with the Hudy droop blocks. Make sure your droop is similar on the left and right side of the car (5.5 in front, 4.5 in rear). To measure the actual droop I put the dampers back on, fit some wheels and put the car ready to race on a setup board. Make sure front ride height is about 5mm and the rear 5.2mm. Final step is to check/adjust your actual droop, which you want to be 3mm above ride height in front and 4mm above ride height in rear. Simply measure ride height and lift the car by grabbing the shocktower until the wheels are about to lift off the ground, measure ride height again. When using this method the numbers should look like this:

Front ride height: 5mm std - 8mm lifted (3mm above ride height)
Rear ride height: 5.2mm std - 9.2mm lifted (4mm above ride height)

@Everyone,

As you all might know, the update kit is released! We are working with these parts for quite a while now and made some small adjustments here and there to improve handling. When I find myself some time this week I'll fill out a fresh setup sheet and shoot some pictures of the updates/adjustments made.
Vasco C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 02:49 AM   #729
Tech Addict
 
Matthijs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Posts: 715
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

for sale again, buyer let me down...

make me an offer ;-)

Kyosho TF6 SP electric touring car mint chassis
__________________
Exotek F1R3 // Tamiya TRF101
Matthijs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 08:03 AM   #730
Tech Rookie
 
Fred79's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 14
Default

In your carpet setup you advise to use the front bulkhead or cut of the ekstra post's on the rear ones....
Does this also make the car better or worse on asfalt?
Fred79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 01:03 AM   #731
Tech Addict
 
Matthijs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Posts: 715
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred79 View Post
In your carpet setup you advise to use the front bulkhead or cut of the ekstra post's on the rear ones....
Does this also make the car better or worse on asfalt?
better ;-) we all use it outdoors. It's on my kit you're interested in (I cut the post but it has extra holes in the chassis to use front bulkheads in the rear).
__________________
Exotek F1R3 // Tamiya TRF101
Matthijs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 01:13 AM   #732
Tech Rookie
 
Fred79's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 14
Default

Sweet, mr. Matthijs.
Fred79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 11:45 AM   #733
Tech Rookie
 
Fred79's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 14
Default

Paid! This baby is mine
Fred79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 10:29 AM   #734
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 36
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Is anyone using TFW120 - One Piece Aluminum Sus. Mount??

My Front belt is rubbing against it.
QIMB528 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 11:49 AM   #735
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
Default

I have just ordered one, hope I don't get that problem.
I have had a problem with the steering linkage arm connected to the servo arm. It is rubbing on the underside of the top deck. I am using the SP2 top deck with a raceberry servo mount. Any ideas??
Freddie_Skoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SAFRA S'pore International R/C Championships, presented by HPI Racing, 4 - 6 Apr 08 Race Academy Singapore R/C Racers 156 04-08-2008 09:11 AM
kyosho tf-5 belt drive T Lawrence R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 22 04-03-2007 06:19 PM
Which is The best Shaft Touring Car:Kyosho TF-5, Yokomo LCG, Tamiya EVO 5, HPI Pro 4? yyhayyim Electric On-Road 13 07-03-2006 06:48 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:43 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net