R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-02-2006, 07:23 AM   #14491
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 8,227
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I guess what you can do is check the temp on your motor after 5 min. With a fan on it you should be able to run around 160 deg before feeling a fade in power.
__________________
Tekno | JConcepts | ProTek RC | RaceReadyProducts | BOOMrc
Bob Barry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 09:41 AM   #14492
Tech Elite
 
DavidAlford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 4,151
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to DavidAlford
Default

Jon are you running the carpet car or the rubber tire car? Is the carpet car alright on asphalt?
__________________
Hot Bodies/HPI | Jconcepts | Viper RC | Xpert | Sippel Speed Shop | Lawton RC Raceway | SXT
DavidAlford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 10:01 AM   #14493
Tech Champion
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidAlford
Jon are you running the carpet car or the rubber tire car? Is the carpet car alright on asphalt?
Both. I'm running the rubber car outdoors and the carpet car at SoCal. SoCal has massive grip (maybe not as much as carpet but more than any outdoor track I've ever seen or heard of.) So the stiffer chassis seems to really help there. I have modified the top deck on the SoCal car though by cutting most of the center braces to get a little more flex. But no where near what the outdoor car has. I'm sure the carpet car will work outdoors with a few modifications. If you're not going back and forth too often from carpet to asphalt, you can simply change the chassis, top deck, shock towers and add the risers under the bulkheads and you've got an outdoor car.
Jon Kerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 10:10 AM   #14494
Tech Elite
 
DavidAlford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 4,151
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to DavidAlford
Default

Both cars come with a front spool?
__________________
Hot Bodies/HPI | Jconcepts | Viper RC | Xpert | Sippel Speed Shop | Lawton RC Raceway | SXT
DavidAlford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 10:12 AM   #14495
Tech Champion
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Rubber kit comes with a spool, foam kit comes with a front diff.
Jon Kerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 10:14 AM   #14496
Tech Elite
 
DavidAlford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 4,151
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to DavidAlford
Default

I really should read up on this stuff lol
__________________
Hot Bodies/HPI | Jconcepts | Viper RC | Xpert | Sippel Speed Shop | Lawton RC Raceway | SXT
DavidAlford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 10:18 AM   #14497
Tech Champion
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Yeah you slacker! Really though, let me know if you need anything. I'm going to be out that way in August for the weekend. If I can get away, I'll see if I can come check out a race. I can't remember the exact date off the top of my head.
Jon Kerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 12:09 PM   #14498
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,654
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAL
eh Mates,

I have a buddy of mine who will let me run his old Mission. The first mission. What do you guys think about it? Do you still think it can be competitive? I'm a decent driver and just don't have the cash to buy one of the newer TC's

Thanks a million!
Although not the latest car, it is still a good car to run and setup, and you should still be able to get closer to the fast guys than you think. I did

Skiddins
__________________
Xray T4'17, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2017
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 12:45 PM   #14499
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Green Bay, Wi
Posts: 12,681
Trader Rating: 76 (100%+)
Default

This is a really dumb question, but what is the difference between a spool and a diff? Is a spool like a one way?
roadrashracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 12:47 PM   #14500
Tech Elite
 
DavidAlford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 4,151
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to DavidAlford
Default

A spool is a locked diff. So its like a oneway but you can use breaks. Lots of punch out of the corner. Takes awhile to get use to using one though.
__________________
Hot Bodies/HPI | Jconcepts | Viper RC | Xpert | Sippel Speed Shop | Lawton RC Raceway | SXT
DavidAlford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 12:56 PM   #14501
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Green Bay, Wi
Posts: 12,681
Trader Rating: 76 (100%+)
Default

Ok, my car had a lock diff in it and was very hard to drive, so I put a reg. diff in. Thanks for the answer, I guess I should learn my rc defintions.
roadrashracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 12:59 PM   #14502
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 8,227
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

What I want to know is does anyone make any one way bearings for the idler pully....I would love to try the one way spool setup.
__________________
Tekno | JConcepts | ProTek RC | RaceReadyProducts | BOOMrc
Bob Barry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 07:30 PM   #14503
Tech Elite
 
A Ilievski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: A.C.T (Australia)
Posts: 2,636
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Hi guys, on my mi2 ive got a teemu 3700 bottom deck, and for some reason my 3700 and 3800batts still come out .

I saw on pro4's on the side of the battery slots they have 2 little plastic holder thingo's. Will they fit on my mi2?

Thats the way i was thinking of fixing my batts from coming rite out
__________________
Alex Ilievski
*AWESOMATIX * R1 WURKS * PLAIG BEARINGS*
A Ilievski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 07:42 PM   #14504
Tech Master
 
mini-dub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: seattle
Posts: 1,632
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

The battery probably is able to come out because of insuffecient pressure or fitting of the battery strap, if you have shims under the battery bar posts try taking them out or putting in thinner ones. Make sure you don't make the posts too low or you will have to flex the bar and then it will tweak the chassis. The other reason that could cause the pack to eject is the chassis isn't filed enough so the cells are sitting too high in the slots so the sides of the slots can't keep the pack in. You want to have the cells sit flush or slightly above the bottom of the chassis. Put a pack in and look underneath to see how low they are, then file the slots till the pack sits at the proper level. One more thing, using strapping tape to hold your batteries in is a better way, it wont tweak the chassis like a strap can and it holds the pack better, it all depends how much you hate tape .

Rain City Raceway's online store has a bunch of Schue part for clearance on their website. Go to www.raincityraceway.com/store to find them. I believe everything is 30% off street price, there isn't a huge amount of parts but there could be just what your looking for .
__________________
Weylin Rose - www.shiftedcinema.com

Riding Bikes | Skiing | Helis | Rotor Rage | Cyclone Blades | RC Trim | Dead Kat Raceway
mini-dub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 08:17 PM   #14505
Tech Elite
 
nf_ekt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: 22 Acacia Avenue
Posts: 4,632
Trader Rating: 113 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roadrashracing
Ok, my car had a lock diff in it and was very hard to drive, so I put a reg. diff in. Thanks for the answer, I guess I should learn my rc defintions.
Hard to drive? Hmmm. I dunno on that,I will say that the spool lets me drive the car as agressive as I want, and out of the corners it goes where I point it. Learn to feather the throttle a bit in wide, sweeping corners and it wont seem so hard-go in hot and let all the way of your goin wide. Spool is it on alot of asphalt tracks it equals RIP!!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
Up the Irons \m/

Powered by Hotwings, Rolling Rock, and the urge to race toy cars...
nf_ekt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corner Dots anyone? RCGaryK Electric On-Road 19 07-03-2006 11:12 PM
On the Corner RC-HPI R/C Photography 0 08-02-2005 10:53 PM
Snowbirds Around the Corner scarecrow Florida Racing 20 01-27-2005 10:43 AM
1/12th Corner GT Racer Singapore R/C Racers 26 03-04-2004 06:59 AM
Shumacher Corner in Aus jamesbaxter_81 Australian Racing 6 01-08-2004 02:36 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:44 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net