R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-27-2006, 03:37 PM   #13711
Tech Elite
 
HarshGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 3,379
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST
Just remember this............you wore the mullet not me
...hmmmm ...mullet challenge "nats version"?
__________________
http://www.arroyoc.com
http://www.gearchart.com
http://www.weracemountainbikes.com
HarshGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 03:47 PM   #13712
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,847
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarshGuy
...hmmmm ...mullet challenge "nats version"?
HE'S NOT RUNNING THE GROWN MAN CLASS
__________________
REMEMBER THE GOOD OLE DAYS..........THEY'RE NEVER COMING BACK SO WE'RE STUCK WITH THE MESS IN FRONT OF US!!!!
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 07:56 PM   #13713
Tech Champion
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,914
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott B
Thats a good goal for the Nats Clint, Mine is to have a faster Quailfing time in 19t then you have in MOD.
Thats pretty common. Its easier to put down 19T HP vs. Mod HP. The question is what is YOUR best time in Mod?
__________________
Adrian Martinez
What I run: Schumacher Mi5/Associated RC10R5.1/Associated RC12R5.2/Futaba/HobbyWing/Team EA Motorsports/BSR Racing
Where I run: Florida Indoor R/C Complex/Thunder Racing/Florida On Road State Series
AdrianM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 01:05 AM   #13714
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: England, lincs
Posts: 317
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MattW
Is that a seperate one way unit?? sounds like it might be the old one way, but with 2 of the same outdrives. The old unit had the bearing in the outdrive, the new one has them in the hub, and no you can't swap the parts.
i have 2 oneway units. one is just sliping and one was locking the wrong way so on power it would just be freespining.


right i have just took the one that was locking the wrong way apart and took the bearings out. they are like in a metal case/race that just slides out so i just swaped it arround and its now fine. on the metal bearing case/race it says on it germany "germany HF 0612" then a arrow.

can u get the bearings and case sepirate from the compleat one way unit so i could replace the one that is sliping??

thanks and sorry if i am confusing this

cheers
bob

Last edited by bob33; 02-28-2006 at 01:35 AM.
bob33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 03:07 AM   #13715
Tech Adept
 
SA_Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: South Africa
Posts: 138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SA_Racer
Guys, Iím just curious, I havenít had me MI2 for long and donít have the cash for an EC right now, but would like to convert the drive train to the one that is used on the EC.

My question is this, will the layshaft pulley system from the EC fit in my std MI2? from what I can tell the rear belt is the same so If the width between the layshaft mounts is the same on the cars and the bearings are the same, the EC layshaft and front belt should work, but the only way I can be sure is if someone here who knows both cars can comment, I am also prepared to do some dremel work if necessary

seems nobody knows the answer please guys help me out
SA_Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 05:04 AM   #13716
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: England
Posts: 1,449
Send a message via ICQ to MattW
Default

Bob, hmm, not totaly sure i know what you mean, but i'll try!!

I only every tried to take th bearings out of the origional one way - and couldn't get them out. No idea about the new ones. However, on either unit, if the actual bearing comes out that easiy then i'm not sure i would want to rely on it not to be slipping during a run.

You can probably buy the one way bearings seperately from an industrial bearing supplier, i haven't ever tried. They are not available seperately from Schumacher - only in the outdrive for the old unit, and in the hub for the new unit.

SA, I'm going to say no. Technically that isn't true, but it's a lot of work to get it to fit (milling machine etc!!) and the front belt won't be quite the correct length - slightly too long.
MattW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 05:10 AM   #13717
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: England, lincs
Posts: 317
Default

thanks matt. well i took it out and spun it round. it was hard to get out tho but i have poped it back in the right way (took abit off efot aswell) also put a smidge of glue on it and i cant make it slip evan holding it in a vice and using a wrench in the outdrive trying to make it slip so my guess is it will be ok in a run now?

thanks for the help tho.

cheers
bob.
bob33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 06:34 AM   #13718
Tech Champion
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SA_Racer
seems nobody knows the answer please guys help me out
Like I said, it can't be done without serious modification and fabrication. Drop seaball a PM. I know he did it and maybe able to tell you what needs to be done.
Jon Kerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 08:46 AM   #13719
Tech Adept
 
SA_Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: South Africa
Posts: 138
Default

Thanks jon, ill give him a shout
SA_Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 09:35 AM   #13720
Tech Champion
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Any time
Jon Kerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 09:57 AM   #13721
Tech Elite
 
seaball's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,303
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to seaball
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon Kerr
Like I said, it can't be done without serious modification and fabrication. Drop seaball a PM. I know he did it and maybe able to tell you what needs to be done.
pm answered.

who is going to stockton in two?
__________________
*** The Gate II - Home of Mike Wise ***
seaball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 10:15 AM   #13722
Tech Elite
 
Jon Williams's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,753
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Got the ride together...
Attached Thumbnails
Schumacher Corner-dsc00905.jpg   Schumacher Corner-dsc00907.jpg   Schumacher Corner-dsc00908.jpg   Schumacher Corner-dsc00906.jpg  
Jon Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 10:18 AM   #13723
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 8,200
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

nice, how did you mount the fan like that? Kind of hard to see in the pics
__________________
Tekno | JConcepts | ProTek RC | RaceReadyProducts | BOOMrc
Bob Barry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 11:21 AM   #13724
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,847
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdrianM
Thats pretty common. Its easier to put down 19T HP vs. Mod HP. The question is what is YOUR best time in Mod?

No matter what class we run I OWN SCOTTY!!!!
__________________
REMEMBER THE GOOD OLE DAYS..........THEY'RE NEVER COMING BACK SO WE'RE STUCK WITH THE MESS IN FRONT OF US!!!!
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 11:42 AM   #13725
Tech Elite
 
Jon Williams's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,753
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Bob, I mounted the fan using a piece of kydex that I cut out myself. It's a small strip which first mounts to the top deck using one of the top deck holes (make sure you tighten it securely so you don't mess with your tweak).

I then screwed the fan into the mount with a 4-40 screw and nut via one of the fan's mounting holes.

After that, I soldered the leads of the fan straight to the motor. Since the fans are only 5V you may burn one up every few weeks getting 7.2+V bursts, but the extra power is worth it and keeps the motor incredibly cool.

Also, so that you don't burn up the tiny leads from soldering and resoldering, I coiled some extra speaker-type wire underneath the fan.

Last edited by Jon Williams; 02-28-2006 at 11:58 AM.
Jon Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corner Dots anyone? RCGaryK Electric On-Road 19 07-03-2006 11:12 PM
On the Corner RC-HPI R/C Photography 0 08-02-2005 10:53 PM
Snowbirds Around the Corner scarecrow Florida Racing 20 01-27-2005 10:43 AM
1/12th Corner GT Racer Singapore R/C Racers 26 03-04-2004 06:59 AM
Shumacher Corner in Aus jamesbaxter_81 Australian Racing 6 01-08-2004 02:36 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:37 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net