R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-26-2005, 10:38 PM   #11956
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Brisbane. Australia
Posts: 1,820
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default belt tension

hey how do u guys set ur belt tension and when the say belt skip what is it??
thanks for any help
__________________
Josh P
to make Keith happy
Corally phi
M11
SP GT
SP 5.5,17.5
aus jd 2703 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 03:10 AM   #11957
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: England
Posts: 1,443
Send a message via ICQ to MattW
Default

Bob, yes i know someone that fitted one and it was fine. You just need to check the belt spacing. Can't remember if the spacing needed changing from std on the spool, just check it.
MattW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 10:29 AM   #11958
Tech Master
 
TVMRocket69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lancaster Pa.
Posts: 1,904
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to TVMRocket69 Send a message via Yahoo to TVMRocket69
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MattW
Bob, yes i know someone that fitted one and it was fine. You just need to check the belt spacing. Can't remember if the spacing needed changing from std on the spool, just check it.
Matt what spacing. Or are U talking about the Belt tension.


Thanks for your help.
__________________
Bob Walker Jr.-Sponsor's-
AnswerUSA-RC Team Driver, G's R/C Raceway Team Driver, RBMods Team Driver, Kosmic R/C Fuel Team Driver, MurfDogg Motorworks Team Driver, Serpent S811B, Serpent S811t, MurfDogg Powered V-Desizn Carpet Ripper 5
TVMRocket69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 04:20 PM   #11959
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: England
Posts: 1,443
Send a message via ICQ to MattW
Default

The diff pullies are wider than the belts, so there are spacers on the pullies to geep the belt running true. As the spool is supplied, the spacers will be in th ecorrect position for the Mi2 transmission, so when putting it in a mission, you would just have to check that the belt still ran correctly, if not adjust the spacing.
MattW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 05:12 PM   #11960
Tech Master
 
TVMRocket69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lancaster Pa.
Posts: 1,904
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to TVMRocket69 Send a message via Yahoo to TVMRocket69
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MattW
The diff pullies are wider than the belts, so there are spacers on the pullies to geep the belt running true. As the spool is supplied, the spacers will be in th ecorrect position for the Mi2 transmission, so when putting it in a mission, you would just have to check that the belt still ran correctly, if not adjust the spacing.
Oh ok TY

Bob
__________________
Bob Walker Jr.-Sponsor's-
AnswerUSA-RC Team Driver, G's R/C Raceway Team Driver, RBMods Team Driver, Kosmic R/C Fuel Team Driver, MurfDogg Motorworks Team Driver, Serpent S811B, Serpent S811t, MurfDogg Powered V-Desizn Carpet Ripper 5
TVMRocket69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 07:56 PM   #11961
Tech Champion
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aus jd 2703
hey how do u guys set ur belt tension and when the say belt skip what is it??
thanks for any help
Usually for belt tension, I just run the top tensioner for the front belt and the bottom tensioner about half way to 3/4 of the way up and that's it. it's rare to ever get a belt skip at that setting and the drive train is very free.
Jon Kerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 04:47 PM   #11962
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Campinas
Posts: 350
Send a message via ICQ to piorc
Default

hey guys...i have 2 questions.
i just bought my trf shock to my Mi2, and need to know which ball cups do u use to fit the shock on the mi2? are the original fits?
and what springs do u recommend to buy?

Thanks a lot.
piorc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 04:52 PM   #11963
Tech Champion
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

You can use the stock ball cups on the bottom mounts. Just cut about 2mm off them so they'll be short enough. For the top mounts, these Upper shock mounts are awesome.


Go to www.pdubracing.com or click the link in my sig and click on products. Lower right corner you'll see them.

Oh and for springs, you can get the Schumacher Pro Spring Kit. Part# U2812. It's got one pair of each weight spring. You may want to pick up an extra set of white springs, U2823. The outdoor setup we're running calls for them front and rear.
Jon Kerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 04:58 PM   #11964
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Campinas
Posts: 350
Send a message via ICQ to piorc
Default

but these Upper shock mounts are from which brand or manufacturer?
tks
piorc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 06:09 PM   #11965
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 8,179
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Hey Bob you don't want to run a spool in that car for carpet anyway. Ask PW to send you a copy of his Snowbirds setup from a few years ago. Thats what you need on the car for Horsham and other carpet. If you are going to Run asphalt then get his other setup...I think it was the 19turn one that was dialed.
__________________
Tekno | JConcepts | RRP | LutzRC | BOOM RC
Bob Barry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 06:26 PM   #11966
Tech Champion
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by piorc
but these Upper shock mounts are from which brand or manufacturer?
tks
BMI makes them and PDub sells them. They're specifically for the Mi2 with TRF shocks.
Jon Kerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 01:21 AM   #11967
Tech Master
 
TVMRocket69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lancaster Pa.
Posts: 1,904
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to TVMRocket69 Send a message via Yahoo to TVMRocket69
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Barry
Hey Bob you don't want to run a spool in that car for carpet anyway. Ask PW to send you a copy of his Snowbirds setup from a few years ago. Thats what you need on the car for Horsham and other carpet. If you are going to Run asphalt then get his other setup...I think it was the 19turn one that was dialed.
It has a 1-way in it now, but the track I'm racing at now is a indoor Asphalt.

The spools for it I'll still have the 1 way.
__________________
Bob Walker Jr.-Sponsor's-
AnswerUSA-RC Team Driver, G's R/C Raceway Team Driver, RBMods Team Driver, Kosmic R/C Fuel Team Driver, MurfDogg Motorworks Team Driver, Serpent S811B, Serpent S811t, MurfDogg Powered V-Desizn Carpet Ripper 5
TVMRocket69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 07:19 AM   #11968
Tech Champion
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TVMRocket69
It has a 1-way in it now, but the track I'm racing at now is a indoor Asphalt.

The spools for it I'll still have the 1 way.
I have a setup with a oneway that we've been running that's a pretty good starting point for SoCal (indoor asphalt) when grip is up if you'd like to try that. Drop me a PM and I'll Email it to you.
Jon Kerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 07:29 AM   #11969
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 8,179
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Bob You are talking about the original Mission not the MI2 correct? Listen to Jon's advise. He will get you sorted out. Thanks for helping him out Jon. I would tell him to run the setup with the bulkheads shimmed up but I think it might be a little hairy for him to drive. I wish I still had all my info on that car cause I was fast with it outside. Carpet on the other hand....
__________________
Tekno | JConcepts | RRP | LutzRC | BOOM RC
Bob Barry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 07:36 AM   #11970
Tech Champion
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I'm sorry. I assumed you were running the Mi2. If it's for the original Mission, that was before I was with Schumacher. But I'll see if I can find you a setup for that car. I'm pretty sure Donny may still have something from when he was running it at SoCal.
Jon Kerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corner Dots anyone? RCGaryK Electric On-Road 19 07-04-2006 12:12 AM
On the Corner RC-HPI R/C Photography 0 08-02-2005 11:53 PM
Snowbirds Around the Corner scarecrow Florida Racing 20 01-27-2005 11:43 AM
1/12th Corner GT Racer Singapore R/C Racers 26 03-04-2004 07:59 AM
Shumacher Corner in Aus jamesbaxter_81 Australian Racing 6 01-08-2004 03:36 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:33 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0