R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-24-2005, 09:47 AM   #10396
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: England, lincs
Posts: 317
Default

thanks Adrian i ran the car 2day but it was realy wet but the car was perfect. i am just finding it hard to get the ride hight down tho, i want 5.5mm ride hight but i cnt get past 6 because i have no more movment on the shock collers.what can i do? and as on the question i ask bout geting shock collers the same left to right, i still find it hard to do that,but i did what u said and it made it a little bit better. thanks bob
bob33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2005, 11:52 AM   #10397
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Holland, Gouda
Posts: 113
Default Dutch nationals round 4

Today was the 4th round of the Dutch nationals.

After changing the setup a litle thanks to Jon kers tip the car was even better.
In the first qualification round i drove my fastest time 20 rounds in 5:13.
and after al qualifications was that the 3rd place in the A-main.
there were only 3 drivers in the 20 laps. all between a second of eachother.

The first final was really bad for me because somebody crashed me twice so i could drive from 9. but after all i became 4th overall in this national.


I saw also that there is an set for the Mi2 wich includes 2 new shocktowers and 2 riserplates wich also raises the diffs and layshaft mount.
Do some of u know if ist available and what the part number is of it?


Arjen Potharst
Arjen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2005, 01:34 PM   #10398
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 226
Default

bob - just install a small spacer (1 or 2 mm) between each spring and the shock collar. The spacers should have come with your car. Make sure your shocks are long enough for your desired ride height and droop.

I'm not too fond of the "turn collars to the limit, then adjust equal amount" method, especially when using Schumacher springs. They are not all equal length, so you may still have tweak in the chassis. The best method is to use tweak board, but if this is not available, then set your droop first (equal on both sides), then put the car on a flat surface (bumper over the edge) and use a knife or a screwdriver to lift the bumper from the centre. Both front wheels should get off the ground at the same time, if they don't adjust rear shock collars until perfect. Repeat it raising the rear end and adjusting front shocks.
olev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2005, 05:48 PM   #10399
Tech Champion
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IslandBwoy
how often do you guys change the blades on your car to keep from eating up the spool?
It kind of depends on if you're running mod, 19t or stock, and the layout. I've run them in 19 turn for 5-6 runs, but in mod, 1-2 runs. I figure changing blades is cheaper and less of a pain than breaking a spool.
Jon Kerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 01:36 AM   #10400
Tech Elite
 
A Ilievski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: A.C.T (Australia)
Posts: 2,622
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

hey guys i blody broke a dog bone 2day and i didnt know have yous ever broken any of them. would you's sudjest me getting the aluminum ones
__________________
Alex Ilievski
*AWESOMATIX * R1 WURKS * PLAIG BEARINGS*
A Ilievski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 01:43 AM   #10401
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: victoria BC
Posts: 810
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Hey I know your pain. I broke a dog bone today also. during my first qualifier. (second to date) unfortunatly I didn't have a spare again. I manage to borrow one from a tc3. it worked. I will be ordering the alum. bones very soon.
cyrrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 01:47 AM   #10402
Tech Elite
 
A Ilievski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: A.C.T (Australia)
Posts: 2,622
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

same here ill also be getting the metal ones but would a dog bone off a hpi pro3 fit on a mi2
__________________
Alex Ilievski
*AWESOMATIX * R1 WURKS * PLAIG BEARINGS*
A Ilievski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 02:09 AM   #10403
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: victoria BC
Posts: 810
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

hold them up to getter. if the pin line up and aren't to much diffence in lenght.. the tc3 one that I used were about 2mm longer. I might make a bit of a diffence. especially the blade don't fit. but I was able to finish my day of racing. All you can do it try right?
cyrrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 02:27 PM   #10404
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,847
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arjen
Today was the 4th round of the Dutch nationals.

After changing the setup a litle thanks to Jon kers tip the car was even better.
In the first qualification round i drove my fastest time 20 rounds in 5:13.
and after al qualifications was that the 3rd place in the A-main.
there were only 3 drivers in the 20 laps. all between a second of eachother.

The first final was really bad for me because somebody crashed me twice so i could drive from 9. but after all i became 4th overall in this national.


I saw also that there is an set for the Mi2 wich includes 2 new shocktowers and 2 riserplates wich also raises the diffs and layshaft mount.
Do some of u know if ist available and what the part number is of it?


Arjen Potharst
that riser modification is something old from over a year ago. It was something that was tested and it turned out that the current set up works best.
__________________
REMEMBER THE GOOD OLE DAYS..........THEY'RE NEVER COMING BACK SO WE'RE STUCK WITH THE MESS IN FRONT OF US!!!!
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 03:33 PM   #10405
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Holland, Gouda
Posts: 113
Default riser plates

Thanks for your reply.

Do you know for what kind of improvements it was used?
And what where de benefits and the negative things about this set?


Thanks for your help.


Arjen
Arjen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 03:52 PM   #10406
Tech Champion
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,914
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Teemu runs the raised diff parts and the accompanying lower towers under low grip conditions. Mainly low grip European carpet racing with rubber tires. This would also work on really low grip asphalt.

In the US our tracks have too much traction to run these parts.
__________________
Adrian Martinez
What I run: Schumacher Mi5/Associated RC10R5.1/Associated RC12R5.2/Futaba/HobbyWing/Team EA Motorsports/BSR Racing
Where I run: Florida Indoor R/C Complex/Thunder Racing/Florida On Road State Series
AdrianM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 11:54 PM   #10407
Tech Adept
 
Iain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 181
Default

I thought the raised transmission was purely to make the transmission more efficient, by allowing the dogbones to sit level instead of being angled down or is that the Teemu Towers?

Are the Teemu tower's (U2787) that have to be used with the Teemu Riser's the same as the low towers (U2714 and U2715) or are they slightly different (Say for low grip?)?? What about the BMI towers? Are they the same as the low towers, but with the body post mounts on them??

Also, with the 3700 Teemu Chassis, is there any problem using 3300's in it, they don't sit too low or anything?? As I still have a few 3300's left to use but imagine in not too long will have all 3700's?

Thanks
Iain
Iain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 12:28 AM   #10408
Tech Master
 
bender's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,504
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

C'mon Iain, one question at a time
__________________
Jason W
FIR#2 - "You can't buy this much talent"
Durango Dex410 - Schumacher Cougar SV - Top Photon
bender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 01:49 AM   #10409
Tech Adept
 
Iain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 181
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bender
C'mon Iain, one question at a time
Yeah you're right, I need to up my post count......
Iain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 05:50 AM   #10410
Tech Elite
 
A Ilievski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: A.C.T (Australia)
Posts: 2,622
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

hi guys i use a 540j motor on my mi2 and the thread in the motor ws all gone is there any special screws i should use
__________________
Alex Ilievski
*AWESOMATIX * R1 WURKS * PLAIG BEARINGS*
A Ilievski is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corner Dots anyone? RCGaryK Electric On-Road 19 07-03-2006 11:12 PM
On the Corner RC-HPI R/C Photography 0 08-02-2005 10:53 PM
Snowbirds Around the Corner scarecrow Florida Racing 20 01-27-2005 10:43 AM
1/12th Corner GT Racer Singapore R/C Racers 26 03-04-2004 06:59 AM
Shumacher Corner in Aus jamesbaxter_81 Australian Racing 6 01-08-2004 02:36 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:28 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net